• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Miss Vivian expect you to run hooker center FOC for her wor

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...l-enterprise-manage-new-hawker-centre-hougang

NEA calls for proposals to run new hawker centre on non-profit basis

Published: 4:44 PM, October 3, 2014
(Page 1 of 2) - NEXT PAGE | SINGLE PAGE

SINGAPORE — The National Environment Agency (NEA) will call for proposals from social enterprises to manage a new hawker centre at Ci Yuan Community Club in Hougang on a not-for-profit basis, following recommendations made by a panel two years ago to have more non-profit entities run hawker centres.

It has also appointed NTUC Foodfare to manage a hawker centre at Block 208B New Upper Changi Road on a not-for-profit basis, following a Request for Information (RFI) exercise in January inviting social enterprises to submit proposals for managing four hawker centres.

The leases of the four centres had expired on May 31. However, the NEA had found through the RFI exercise that most of the proposers needed time to set up their social enterprises, and do not have prior experience in managing large-scale food establishments.

“Therefore, we would like to welcome proposals from interested parties that meet the requirements in this (Request for Proposal) exercise to manage the new hawker centre at Ci Yuan Community Club from the middle of next year on a not-for-profit basis,” said an NEA spokesperson.

The hawker centre at Block 208B New Upper Changi Road replaces an existing one at Block 207 Upper Changi Road, which was part of the RFI called in January. Stallholders from Block 207 Upper Changi Road will move to the new centre.

Foodfare, which was also appointed in 2012 to run a new hawker centre in Bukit Panjang opening next year, will begin operations at the New Upper Changi Road centre on Nov 15. The NEA said it would work closely with Foodfare in the implementation of the new management model, with Foodfare expected to fully manage the centre from March 1 next year.

As managing agent, it would have to provide an all-day dining experience, maintain high standards for cleanliness in the centre, moderate food prices to ensure affordable meals for the residents and attend to feedback and complaints quickly.

“NEA is confident that Foodfare’s expertise and experience in managing large-scale food establishments and operations can be tapped to deliver affordable food and an all-day dining experience to the community, and enhance the vibrancy of the hawker centre,” the agency said.

In 2012, the Hawker Centre Public Consultation Panel proposed having social enterprises manage new hawker centres, and having the operator setting aside stalls for the lower income and special needs persons to set up low cost businesses. Hawker centres are currently managed and run by the NEA.

That same year, Foodfare, which is a co-operative, was selected to run a new hawker centre in Bukit Panjang scheduled for opening next year.

--

Not for profit is a farce....
They will just pay their cronies big fat salaries to offset the non profit factor.
Then even better can justify to get sites from govt at subsidized rates and no need adhere to commercial business guidelines

i will vote for any garmen that can promise us $2.50 nasi padang and 50 cents bundung and $1.50 chicken rice.

you forgot to mention ... plus free tissue to chope table.

i will vote for any garmen that can promise us $2.50 nasi padang and 50 cents bundung and $1.50 chicken rice.
You don't play play, later Ah Bay and Ah Teo say okay, then you lan lan have to keep chiu.

When the PAP talks about things that are subsidised, free, ...etc You know that the GE is near:eek:

Get your NTUC cronies to run it lah, what for need to pretend to listen to public feedback? :rolleyes:

I will rather pay slightly more for a stall owner, a sole proprietor, who makes decent food, than to give my money to some NTUC cronies, albeit at a 'subsidised rate'.

Evidently, NTUC Foodfare and the lot of them are looking for income opportunities in running/managing hawker centres as lower class food courts. They add an additional layer of middlemen to siphon off the earnings, call it a 'social enterprise' so as to convince you that they're doing a good deed. The cheek of them! :rolleyes:

They are the ones who jacked up rent after upgrading a hawker centre, Ask your neighbourhood hawkers.

How come we pay millions to this kind of fucktard minister?

ah loonz gahmen can oso craim dat dey r making a loss ...

Get your NTUC cronies to run it lah, what for need to pretend to listen to public feedback? :rolleyes:

Everyone in the industry knows that foodfare is rubbish. they are just protecting their own abangs