• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Michael Palmer - Damage Control or Personal Crisis?

WP did no such thing. YSL habit was well known. LTK knew of his nonsense well before he named him to contest Hougang.
hahaha...this very malicious and insinuates ltk as a dishonest person....
ltk should consider suing this scroobal for spouting baseless allegations again.

Dreamer / TFBH

I tend to disagree. MSM did not want to touch YSL's adultery story when they were first approached. It has been a no-go zone for decades unless the news came from elsewhere . Except for the US Presidency where votes from the bible belt is significant, no political party bothers about illicit affairs as these tend to happen quite regularly. When it involves conflict of interest or subordinates, the practice is to give a stern ticking off, a transfer to a less important position and eventually an exit. The message then gets thru to the rest for a while before the next one surfaces.

I got the distinct impression that Palmer wanted out at all costs. People who steal eat generally do not behave in this manner including those who are remorseful. There has to be something else that prompted this quick turn of events such as an incident in either of the 2 families or both. Anyway ethics and morality where the PA is concerned is a joke for the simple fact that they do not support the elected MP but the PAP adviser. I know of senior civil servants and scholars who refused postings to PA on ethical grounds. They are basically prostitutes anyway so where is the beef?

If the PM and the PAP are really concerned about morality, he would have terminated his wife from heading a state sovereign fund. She has a terrible track record before heading Temasek, that track record is getting worse and I have absolutely no clue why there are no other capable person in Singapore or in this World who can do this job.

I also don't buy this new morality to regain ground or hold on the ground that they have. It simple matter of consensual sex outside of marriage and unlike Yaw who was a serial nutcase where the Mandarin translator suggested that she had to given in this is nothing.

I think the news was going to be leaked already. So Palmer faster plead guilty to TCH so that they can be first to say. If the papers report first like YSL, they will look bloody stupid.

Saturday - Palmer approaches TCH and seeks resignation and the the latter agrees.
Sunday - PM meets Palmer and agrees as well.
Monday - Laura Ong tenders resignation citing family commitments.
Tuesday - the Press is notified to attend Press Conference on Wed
Wed - Letter of resignation tendered by Palmer and accepted by PM. Press conference is held.

Firstly, adultery is not a rare event in society and PAP is no different. There have many such instances over the 5 decades of its rule and the most infamous is that of a founding DPM. So why the new morality?

Secondly, it is an unusual pres conference where too much unnecessary details were given. Only missing were the name of the female and her NRIC number. So why go into the details?
hahaha....again talking cock but disguised some profound anal-ysis.....
during the press conference......many personal questions were not answered because tch claimed that there is not need to go into such details so what unnecessary details were given?????

Saturday - Palmer approaches TCH and seeks resignation and the the latter agrees.
Wed - Letter of resignation tendered by Palmer and accepted by PM. Press conference is held.

Firstly, adultery is not a rare event in society and PAP is no different. There have many such instances over the 5 decades of its rule and the most infamous is that of a founding DPM. So why the new morality?

Secondly, it is an unusual pres conference where too much unnecessary details were given. Only missing were the name of the female and her NRIC number. So why go into the details?
i also think it quite unnecessary to go so public. could easily sweep under carpet. everything is under pap's control. unless the woman is threatening to go public, which i seriously doubt.

its just a very bad handling of the situation. just shows how jialat both pap and wp handle a crisis. kalang kabo lah.

What is on your very active fertile mind, I am extremely tickled to know.
I love conspiracy theories.

Maybe Michael simply wants a divorce to marry Laura, and vice versa. Adulterers are seen with one eye closed; divorce with eyes shut wide?

I got the distinct impression that Palmer wanted out at all costs. People who steal eat generally do not behave in this manner including those who are remorseful. There has to be something else that prompted this quick turn of events such as an incident in either of the 2 families or both.

To me this whole thing is an internal issue and decision by Palmer and PAP had no control over it. I am not surprised that when the leaders found out about it, they wanted to work things around but Palmer insisted on resigning.

For an office holder and single ward MP, merely citing personal reasons for resigning would not be believable. Palmer wanted to come clean whether PAP supports it or not.

What PAP can only calculate is how to respond and react to this situation to their best without too much damage. They (PAP) have done their calculations and believe that they can resist any damage.

To me this whole thing is an internal issue and decision by Palmer and PAP had no control over it. I am not surprised that when the leaders found out about it, they wanted to work things around but Palmer insisted on resigning.

For an office holder and single ward MP, merely citing personal reasons for resigning would not be believable. Palmer wanted to come clean whether PAP supports it or not.

What PAP can only calculate is how to respond and react to this situation to their best without too much damage. They (PAP) have done their calculations and believe that they can resist any damage.

Hello you got see TNP or not? Palmer did not choose to come clean.

K Shanmugam?
Yes,VIP minister K Shanmugam is now shaking under his bed,those brothers and sisters working in his ministries,the mass media or anyone coming into contact with him can enjoy watching his face expession,the face does not tell lie,it will tell the truth,covered up by those greedy PAP leaders,thanks brother Scroobal for revealing the truth.

There has been a whole string of scandals involving top civil servants this year... with lots of unnecessary details.

I can only deduce the events are deliberately managed in the manner it unfolded with the purpose to:

1) Distract daft Sinkies from more important issues confronting them, eg escalating costs of living, flooding of FTs
2) To demonstrate PAP is clean and just (it would appear that way to the ignorant international MSM at least)

In layman terms: How do you deal with disgruntled Sinkies? Feed them with scandals and gossips, distract them

TNP got hold of some whatsapp messages from LO's phone. The last line reads

And i nv never doubted what u hv done for me

What does this mean?

17E2A671-E280-4C73-9126-F74DBC3FDFB5-10162-000007A9E8355593.jpg

YSL was also silly. He should have just resigned and did a Palmer.

I beg to differ. It depends on the timing. If palmgate took place before yawgate, yaw would probably did a palmer press (without fearing Khaw Boon Wan making so much noise about it) . Unfortunately, the yawgate water was not tested than and hard to find a solution to face the PAP media, especially with them (big and small) hounding WP like hungry wolves, it is best to stay on guard to prevent more people falling victim into the press. Looking back, mystery remain intact and no one knows who the mystery women were. Unlike palmgate, Yawgate has no support from PM to blackout the media and urged public to give him peace and privacy. I am sure palmgate has taken into consideration all the happenings in Yawgate before coming out "confidently" into the open (with heavyweight & msm support) and other invisible hands that hijacked social media server. Thus talking about morality, PAP is more high-handed than anyone on this planet. When a country is run in double-standard, you cannot be too gentlemen and trusting with the ruling party and the state media. What I am saying is, Yawgate has done the right thing to keep silent from feeding the national state media which they are now too happy to do so on palmgate.

Wait a minute, something is not right.

(a) Cindy Ong resigned one month ago. That means something was brewing one month ago.

(b) Is it like Pinky Loong and TCH to make such fast calls? I don't believe so. I have never seen such decisiveness from either man.

(c) TOC, TRE, TRS kenna DDOS attacks simultaneously the day before

(d) TOC asked very penetrating question: is the extra-marital affair all there is to it? It is not like TOC to ask such penetrating (no pun) question on such a sensitive topic, just one day after breaking news. Or at least, they won't ask so explicitly.

(e) Scroobal's post that this deviates from standard operating procedure in governments and big corporates.

(f) Auruvandil's post about chirping birds.

(g) whatsApp message about Laura always remembering what Michael has "done for her".

(h) Whistle Blower (WB) had access to laura's whatsapp screenshot.

Putting these all together, I smell something not right.

TNP got hold of some whatsapp messages from LO's phone. The last line reads

And i nv never doubted what u hv done for me

What does this mean?

I am beginning to get it.

I think I have been fooled by PAP again. Actually thought they were hellavu transparent and bold. Damn.

I am new but a secret squirrel told me.

SPF,yup --it's all got to do with SPF.PAP dragged 2 big time policemen lately into this sex m&d Now,it's pay back time .

Obviously PAP had stepped onto some big toes.The others who screwed the underage girl also are waiting for PAP to cross their line.

This time,the opposition parties are not the only ones who has daggers for PAP.

Dreamer / TFBH

I tend to disagree. MSM did not want to touch YSL's adultery story when they were first approached. .
hahaha....for somone who claimed to be highly intellect, i really can't help wondering whether i am worshipping the wrong idol.
how can one go to any msm and made some allegations without any proof and expects the story to be published straightaway????
it really made me rofl.

There has been a whole string of scandals involving top civil servants this year... with lots of unnecessary details.

I can only deduce the events are deliberately managed in the manner it unfolded with the purpose to:

1) Distract daft Sinkies from more important issues confronting them, eg escalating costs of living, flooding of FTs
2) To demonstrate PAP is clean and just (it would appear that way to the ignorant international MSM at least)

In layman terms: How do you deal with disgruntled Sinkies? Feed them with scandals and gossips, distract them

There is another big advantage to this approach, from the cabinet's point of view. This will scare the senior civil servants into being more compliant. All those people who want to join in the fun and "change things for the better" will think twice. On the upside, we have too many superscale people anyway.

Dear Scroo

The context through which this whole sordid affair is to be viewed is the " Secret Squirrel " SMSes. from a disgruntled lover. My bet would be on the estranged husband, of Laura. TNP was sitting on the news but in this day and age if TNP does not break it, then the same details delivered to a Malaysian Tabloid would suffice . The exercise by the PAP was damage control.

Locke

Thirdly, the speed of events, the quick decisions by both Michael, DPM and PM. This is not the type of event that calls for quick decisions and frankly it ranks as personal indiscretion.

Fourthly, Palmer's demeanour at the press conference. The guy obviously did not have much sleep and teary. This is a lawyer with a major firm.

There was not need to even hold a press conference. A press release would have been fine along the following lines;

"The Prime Minister has accepted the resignation of the Member of Parliament for Punggol East and Speaker of Parliament Michael Palmer over a matter of personal indiscretion in relation to an improper relationship. He has expressed regret and apologises for his conduct."

So why the song and dance?