• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MediaCorp TV to co-produce Asian version of "Just For Laughs" programme

Please! No more reruns!

I didn't watch the old classics like Masters of the sea, VR Man the 1st time around.

Curious to see if it is that bad :)

Bad movies like Attack of the killer tomatoes, Plan Nine from Outer Space have gone on to become cult classics. :D:D I've watched both!

Maybe Mediacorpse should tap into the cult market :rolleyes:

How many remember "Gotcha you" :confused:

Why then bother with "Just for Laughs :rolleyes:

They should just stick to food shows or just axe mediacorpse & let Sporeans watch Malaysian TV.

I still have nightmares thinking about it. It was terrible.

Whats terrible is that Sporeans are paying for these programs :D

If they make those programs into DVD & distribute in the US I think it'll do well in the cult circles. :D:D

Whats terrible is that Sporeans are paying for these programs :D

If they make those programs into DVD & distribute in the US I think it'll do well in the cult circles. :D:D

The HORROR! :D

Well they should they use the same format. With luck the cults will use them to induce mass sucide. :P

no need to produce anything or whatever Just for laughs program.

everything here is also good to laugh at.

the ineptness, incompetence, corruption of the PAP ministers, their salaries, the bullshit they say, the SAF, the SPGs, the civil servants, the prices increases, GST, ERPs, cost of living all already good to laugh at.

example.

Pirates kidnap 2 sailors in Malacca Straits and the Navy is still firing blanks and back-patting themselves in the South China Sea.

i think mediacork has found the formula to fail. firstly kudos to them for coming up with such un-original idea - to copy something and not bothering to think of something original and applicable to the culture of Asia.

Asians are typically conservative and do not like to "lose face" especially in public. And there will be dispute regarding whether certain gags are deemed crossing the line or simply invasion of privacy. It works in ang moh countries because they are more open and dun mind making a laugh - just ask anyone on the street to sing a song impromptu - Asians will not claiming pai seh....but ask an ang moh, he will most readily sing. Its the cultural difference.

So, I can forsee, the Asian version will feature almost predominantly - an ang moh host with a SPG. Participants of the gag will be: ang mohs or SPGs with ang moh boyfriends or gags are so lame that you dun noe whether to yawn or swear.

I will suggest, if mediacork really like to copy -bring in their version of the late night talk shows (like David Letterman or John Leno or Larry King). Or those Jap or Korean late night adult show - for sure that will boost the birth rate of Singapore and viewership of mediacork.

They did it in the past with Gurmit's world hosted by puke extraordinarie Vomit singh.

...and who's the host? Jack Neo???

What a copycat!!

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/410125/1/.html

MediaCorp TV to co-produce Asian version of "Just For Laughs" programme
By Satish Cheney, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 19 February 2009 1929 hrs

phpeE8CdO.jpg

Photos 1 of 1

SINGAPORE: The "Just For Laughs" festival has become world-renowned for its brand of comedy extravaganza and is big business.

And thanks to MediaCorp, it will now be getting an Asian flavour.

Asia's leading broadcaster has entered into an exclusive agreement to distribute "Just For Laughs" for the Asian market.

"Just For Laughs" will be heavily involved in MediaCorp TV's first season.

After that, the station will continue production independently in Singapore and other Asian countries.

It takes 25 takes for just one gag and that equates to some six hours of filming. Altogether, there are about 220 gags for a season's 13-episodes. - CNA/vm

THe first episode will be this

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ka6bxFw4pSY&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ka6bxFw4pSY&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>