• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Media Corpse Channel 5 viewership continues to decline. Surprised?

There are two main reasons for Channel 5's plight, according to TV viewers Life! spoke to: the lack of strong original content and the appalling quality of acquired programmes, which largely comprise old seasons of American drama series, movie reruns and cheesy variety shows such as amateur video compilations.

When the current fifth season of The Noose ends on Tuesday, no quality programme with a strong local flavour and identity has been announced to take its place.

If a foreigner who is new to Singapore were to watch MediaCorp's Channel 5 for a taste of the country, he would not get any good idea from its line-up. MediaCorp receives government funding.

Lawyer Adrian Kwong, 37, calls the channel "practically irrelevant" while 21-year-old marketing executive Edward Cheang is turned off by the "very boring" programming.

One common gripe about the English-language channel's line-up is that the shows aired are often old and repeated too often. For example, the movie offering on March 14 at 10pm was the action thriller Die Hard 2, a 1990 flick that had been previously aired. It prompted administrator Goh Ying Wei, 38, to remark: "It seems like they just pick something blindly to play to fill time." Older movies aired this month include Finding Nemo (2003), Anaconda 3 (2008) and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1990).

Marketing executive Mr Cheang says that the constant shaking of the camera on Point Of Entry "gives me trauma and nausea".

Mr Wang says of the show, which is about a special operations team with the Immigrations & Checkpoints Authority: "It's so bad that it's funny, like VR Man." VR Man was a 1998 superhero drama produced by the then-Television Corporation of Singapore that was unanimously panned.

The challenge, obviously, is for Channel 5 to step up its production of original shows.

As assistant professor Liew puts it: "If the media industry and government are keen to nurture local content, they should perhaps consider revamping this station as a platform for predominantly home-grown productions in the English language."​

i tot they always say they have won many awards etc?:eek:
no worries, they will counter this by winning another award.:eek:

Not suirprising. The next one will me channel 8. I cannot remember a successful LOCAL show after Little Nonya.

Marketing executive Mr Cheang says that the constant shaking of the camera on Point Of Entry "gives me trauma and nausea".

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/NKGYeFEf_c8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/0XztamygSlo" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The bad acting made me nauseous.

Why watch Media Corpse when every 10 minutes have to watch 10 minutes of TV ads? Might as well watch free movies on the internet connected to the LED TV screen. The featured re-runs like LOTR and Vomit Singh is enough to make us sick.

to boast viewership, remake channel 5 classics like master of the sea and vr man.

nonya kueh a successful show?:confused:

Not that bad brother considering how lousy the rest were. You should have watched, "Love Thy Neighbour" 四个门牌,一个梦“。 That is truly rubbish.
I still prefer HK TVB shows.

I've never watched Ch5 for a long time. My home TV is set to one channel only, CNA for casual news updates and some background noise when it's too quiet for atmosphere. Ch5 import movies and series have long since been all B and C classes. Local series are even worse. As English series, why must dad be addressed as paa, mom be addressed as maa, brother be addressed as kor, sister be addressed as che? Really crazy neither here nor here. Really puking!

VR man almost quarter of a century ago now still no progress.....

shaking camera....are they trying to follow NYPD blues?

Showing 20 year old movies.......channel 5 turning into history channel.

This is what you get after they cancel the TV fees and its also a conspiracy to get you to subcribe to cable TV

What next? Show re-runs of Phua Chu Kang

There are two main reasons for Channel 5's plight, according to TV viewers Life! spoke to: the lack of strong original content and the appalling quality of acquired programmes, which largely comprise old seasons of American drama series, movie reruns and cheesy variety shows such as amateur video compilations.

When the current fifth season of The Noose ends on Tuesday, no quality programme with a strong local flavour and identity has been announced to take its place.

If a foreigner who is new to Singapore were to watch MediaCorp's Channel 5 for a taste of the country, he would not get any good idea from its line-up. MediaCorp receives government funding.

Lawyer Adrian Kwong, 37, calls the channel "practically irrelevant" while 21-year-old marketing executive Edward Cheang is turned off by the "very boring" programming.

One common gripe about the English-language channel's line-up is that the shows aired are often old and repeated too often. For example, the movie offering on March 14 at 10pm was the action thriller Die Hard 2, a 1990 flick that had been previously aired. It prompted administrator Goh Ying Wei, 38, to remark: "It seems like they just pick something blindly to play to fill time." Older movies aired this month include Finding Nemo (2003), Anaconda 3 (2008) and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1990).

Mr Wang says of the show, which is about a special operations team with the Immigrations & Checkpoints Authority: "It's so bad that it's funny, like VR Man." VR Man was a 1998 superhero drama produced by the then-Television Corporation of Singapore that was unanimously panned.

The challenge, obviously, is for Channel 5 to step up its production of original shows.

As assistant professor Liew puts it: "If the media industry and government are keen to nurture local content, they should perhaps consider revamping this station as a platform for predominantly home-grown productions in the English language."​

i dont know the setup but i think Mediacorpse has some guy who is given a budget and he sources for programmes. Likely his budget is

real small so he cant get the good stuff for us viewers. In the end you get what you pay for and Mediacorpse pays very little...so no

surprise that the programmes are shitty. The only surprise is that they still have viewership.

I've never watched Ch5 for a long time. My home TV is set to one channel only, CNA for casual news updates and some background noise when it's too quiet for atmosphere. Ch5 import movies and series have long since been all B and C classes. Local series are even worse. As English series, why must dad be addressed as paa, mom be addressed as maa, brother be addressed as kor, sister be addressed as che? Really crazy neither here nor here. Really puking!

got any recommendation?:D
the last i watched was laughing kor.:D

Unfortunately, after laughing kor, there are no other show worth watching. My Funshion Download has not download another other show since laughing kor and bu bu jing xin.

Have you watched 新兵日记?Taiwanese show about army life. Its quite nice. The first season was good. 2nd season is crap.

taiwan show is lidat de lah. once viewership increases, they will try to extend the story and keep dragging.
dunno when to end at a high note.:D

actually 犀利人妻 is not bad but it is a triangle u love me i hate you story plot.
it ended in taiwan and now then sinkapore is airing it. i watched few episodes only cos dun like such plot.
u can try watching if u like such plot.