• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mark Lee admits that most of his workers at Old Town White Coffee are from mainland C

Re: Mark Lee admits that most of his workers at Old Town White Coffee are from mainla

can u imagine all those local foods sold at those coffeeshops are cooked by employees that earn the cheapest wages and have absolutely no clue on how LOCAL FOOD TASTE LIKE??!

sure go belly up.

Re: Mark Lee admits that most of his workers at Old Town White Coffee are from mainla

It's just quite ironic that a person who filmed "Money No Enough" to explain the Plight of Singaporeans, could how lian that he needs to buy a cash register as he is distributing bonuses and hiring all Foreigners and not Singaporeans. He also how lian that he have 5 stalls and looking to expand to 10-20 stalls (can't remember the exact figure), 3-4 new stall a year.

He is making MAXIMUM PROFIT otherwise he can't have this ambitious expansion plan. So the question now is, why he is not able to employ Singaporeans as a service to his nation? It is not as if he is not making money.

Mark Lee's situation though people may think is a small thing, it actually reflects the situations facing Singaporeans now. Employers are too greedy.

That is because he understand what sinkie is made of and smart as he is, PRC workers all the way.

Jack Neo is the co partner with Mark Lee in Old Town. Last time local movie box office was very poor, Jack Neo kept appealing to the audience to support local movie industry give them chance. Now, they rather hire PRCs than local. :mad:

http://blog.omy.sg/jackneo/archives/223/comment-page-1

Jackass Neo movies only good for 1 group of people - INSOMNIACS!

His movies are still OK. But his comedy night series, that must be the dullest moment in Singapore TV History.

For a long period...:(:(

My friend bought their movie CDs without fail, and I ask him why. He said he wanted to support home grown movie business and these guys speak out for heartlanders. But now... money still speaks louder... life lessons.:)

brothers boycott his movies! We thought he understood the plight of singaporeans but we were wrong!

My friend bought their movie CDs without fail, and I ask him why. He said he wanted to support home grown movie business and these guys speak out for heartlanders. But now... money still speaks louder... life lessons.:)

Does your frd also know that GST IS TO HELP THE POOR too?

Ya la. I was conned too. My bro said his movie bo-liao but I still watch coz want to support home grown movie and also thought that these guys are bold enough to speak out for heartlanders (their movie themes)...

So brothers pls boycott their movies. Especially during CNY, think their new movie coming up. PLS PLS PLS don't go watch their movie during CNY!!!

Ya la. I was conned too. My bro said his movie bo-liao but I still watch coz want to support home grown movie and also thought that these guys are bold enough to speak out for heartlanders (their movie themes)...

So brothers pls boycott their movies. Especially during CNY, think their new movie coming up. PLS PLS PLS don't go watch their movie during CNY!!!

Wait a minute. If you feel that you are shortchanged by the govt. It is you, yourself should go out and fight for your rights but you expect others to fight for you?

Then when this innocent guy like Mark Lee, trying to do a business and earn profit by employing some cheaper labour like the PRC, you tells others not to give him business.

If you are a coward sinkie loser who have no fucking balls to fight for your own rights and then you get screwed, then it is your own fucking self deserve the screw by your PAP govt.

It has nothing to do with Mark Lee who is just trying to earn a living. He has no obligation to give a shit to any sinkie cowards who are balless to speak up for their own rights.

Mark Lee is just another guy who have the balls to work hard to take care of himself and his family rather than coming to this forum to complain how the govt screw him.

Wait a minute. If you feel that you are shortchanged by the govt. It is you, yourself should go out and fight for your rights but you expect others to fight for you?

Then when this innocent guy like Mark Lee, trying to do a business and earn profit by employing some cheaper labour like the PRC, you tells others not to give him business.

If you are a coward sinkie loser who have no fucking balls to fight for your own rights and then you get screwed, then it is your own fucking self deserve the screw by your PAP govt.

It has nothing to do with Mark Lee who is just trying to earn a living. He has no obligation to give a shit to any sinkie cowards who are balless to speak up for their own rights.

Mark Lee is just another guy who have the balls to work hard to take care of himself and his family rather than coming to this forum to complain how the govt screw him.

I have greater things to achieve (such as posting more relevant news for the benefit of fellow Singaporeans) then to continue on with replying to your senseless & nonsense postings.

Afterall, Scroobal, the moderator with an awesome reputation here in Sammyboy, have called me the forum’s latest and most prolific participant.

You are a Casualty of the System. e.g. a school drop out, so for this reason, I a Singaporean will forgive you for whatever nonsense you posted.

3 Cheers for Singaporeans!!! Hip Hip Hooray!!!

Sam, give the poor chap his points. He has been the forum's latest and most prolific participant. And clearly a true Singaporean at heart. Not many can grasp your wit.

Angry netizens call for boycott of Old Town White Coffee for employing “too many” PRC workers

February 5, 2010 by Our Correspondent
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment

Written by Our Correspondent

Angry netizens have called for a boycott of Old Town White Coffee after its owner famous comedian Mark Lee admitted in a recent interview with Chinese news portal xin.sg that most of its workers are from mainland China.

Mark Lee is even contemplating buying a cash counting machine to pay his China workers in cash:

“That is why we are going to buy a cash counting machine this year. I’m not being proud by saying this – otherwise, we really can’t count the cash!”

[Xin.sg, 27 January 2010]

Two days after Temasek Review published an article about it, we received a deluge of letters from angry readers saying that they will boycott Old Town White Coffee now. (read article here)

The Temasek Review has been publishing the names of companies which employ mostly foreigners or put up discriminatory job advertisements seeking PRs and foreigners of selected nationalities.

Three days after we published a job advertisement put up by Courts in Malaysia to recruit Malaysians for various positions in Singapore, we received a letter of “clarification” from its CEO Terry O’ Connor to explain why it had to recruit Malaysians instead of Singaporeans.

While we did not call for an open boycott of Old Town White Coffee, netizens continue to lambast Mark Lee for employing mainland Chinese at the expense of Singapore citizens.

The Patriot was obviously peeved off by Mark Lee:

“Boycott Old Town White Coffee! We Singaporeans serve NS to provide security for companies and businesses to prosper here but in return they betray us by employing foreigners. In the end, the offsprings of the native Singaporeans will fall behind because their parents just could not find jobs and earn enough to bring them up properly. When Singapore finally collapses, the people who have enrich themselves by exploiting and betraying the native Singaporeans will be able to emigrate, thereby leaving all the poor native Singaporeans to fend for themselves.”

NTU graduate concurred:

“Boycott Old Town White Coffee! Greedy entrepreneur that hire PRC over Singaporean. If most of the employers is like that, Singaporean how to survive? If those great minds think alike, those lower end Singaporean worker will suffer. That why the rich is getting richer and forgotten that they enjoy their live at the expense of the suffering of others.”

PAPUpLorry, an old customer of Old Town, is joining in the boycott too:

“Used to buy Old Town 3in1 coffee now that I know I shall change to other brand. There are other cheaper brand that taste as good if not better. Its matter of getting use to it that’s all. In fact I like to brew my own coffee but just too lazy. Count me in guys. I SHALL BOYCOTT WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT.”

Some netizens sympathize with Mark Lee and felt that he should not bear the blame entirely.

SG wrote:

“Anyone who wants to do business in sg has to employ the cheapest labour in order to remain competitive. Don’t blame the businessman. Blame the govt who imports the cheap FWs indiscriminately.”

His views were shared by CheaperFasterBetter:

“Cannot blame him also lah. They also have to compete with others, in terms of overheads etc. Either we blame the Government & cast our vote of change
or We listen to our government – Be CHEAPER, FASTER & BETTER!”

Due to rising resentment, frustration and anger among Singaporeans at the ruling party’s liberal immigration policies, it is now “shifting” its policies to make them more “palatable” to them.

PAP leaders have been singing a different tune in the last few weeks to appease Singaporeans by promising to reduce the “inflow” of foreigners.

Even its strongest advocate for importing more foreigners into Singapore Lee Kuan Yew has done an abrupt U-turn:

“We’ve grown in the last five years by just importing labour. Now, the people feel uncomfortable, there are too many foreigners. Trains are overcrowded with foreigners, buses too, property prices have gone up because foreigners with permanent residence are buying into the market. The answer is simple: We check the flow of foreigners, raise your productivity, do the job better, so that instead of two workers, eventually you’ll do it with one worker, like the Japanese do,” he was quoted saying in the Straits Times on 28 January 2010.

Despite the massive propaganda being churned out by the state media to signal the PAP’s “big shift”, few netizens believe that it is sincere in reversing its disastrous pro-foreigner policies.

In an online poll conducted on the Temasek Review, 96 per cent of some 600 respondents believe that the recent change in the PAP’s stance is no more but a pre-election ploy to placate angry voters on the ground.

Nothing is wrong in supporting local or home grown business...I SUPPORT!, but they screw their own people, how to support? especially this pockMARKed LEE...;) is he another, hakka yen?

TS did not giving you the full details....... although he naming a few partners Old Town Kopitiam..... he left out one very important partner....... Hu Jinx's Tarma-Sick ! :(

Nothing is wrong in supporting local or home grown business...I SUPPORT!, but they screw their own people, how to support? especially this pockMARKed LEE...;) is he another, hakka yen?

PockMark Lee shud replace his Sinkie wife with a Pinoy wife. Cheaper to maintain...just like his PRC workers.

Mark Lee admits that most of his workers at Old Town White Coffee are from mainland China

February 3, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment

Written by Our Correspondent

Singapore’s famous comedian Mark Lee who has opened five Old Town White Coffee outlets in Singapore has admitted to a Chinese news portal xin.sg that most of the company’s staff are mainland Chinese.

It was reported by xin.sg that as most of their workers are from China, the company decided that it would be most convenient for them to receive their bonuses in cash.

Mark Lee is contemplating buying a cash counting machine to pay his China workers in cash:

“That is why we are going to buy a cash counting machine this year. I’m not being proud by saying this – otherwise, we really can’t count the cash!”

CruEL on Sat, 6th Feb 2010 12:15 am

the 313 foodcourt, ALL PRC workers. Even had an article about the ‘pretty’ ones taking the motorized bike around offering drinks.

When I saw it was fully PRC workers, i left the place and went to eat at orchard point.. some wanton mee franchise which had 3 local aunties and 1 prc aunty.

No matter how small our actions are if we do it altogether, it’ll drive these businesses out.

So many old aunties and uncles who wanted those jobs are now overtaken by PRCs. Due to the PAPs evil and authoritarian rule, our old fathers and mothers can’t retire in peace but still have to slog it out like the rest of us just to survive! Just so that PAP can insult us, so that GDP growth can increase, so PAP can pay themselves even more.

The Patriot was obviously peeved off by Mark Lee:

“Boycott Old Town White Coffee! We Singaporeans serve NS to provide security for companies and businesses to prosper here but in return they betray us by employing foreigners. In the end, the offsprings of the native Singaporeans will fall behind because their parents just could not find jobs and earn enough to bring them up properly. When Singapore finally collapses, the people who have enrich themselves by exploiting and betraying the native Singaporeans will be able to emigrate, thereby leaving all the poor native Singaporeans to fend for themselves.”

NTU graduate concurred:

“Boycott Old Town White Coffee! Greedy entrepreneur that hire PRC over Singaporean. If most of the employers is like that, Singaporean how to survive? If those great minds think alike, those lower end Singaporean worker will suffer. That why the rich is getting richer and forgotten that they enjoy their live at the expense of the suffering of others.”

PAPUpLorry, an old customer of Old Town, is joining in the boycott too:

“Used to buy Old Town 3in1 coffee now that I know I shall change to other brand. There are other cheaper brand that taste as good if not better. Its matter of getting use to it that’s all. In fact I like to brew my own coffee but just too lazy. Count me in guys. I SHALL BOYCOTT WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT.”

As I have told you previously and now let me repeat to you again, I am not sure why you a Singaporean (or ex Singaporean who escape to Thailand), keeps talking bad about Singaporean.

My guess is you are a Casualty of the System. e.g. a school drop out, so for this reason, I a Singaporean will forgive you for whatever nonsense you posted.

3 Cheers for Singaporeans!!! Hip Hip Hooray!!!

WHy TonyChat like Contradiction Perfume huh ?

<object width="456" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/Xj0VZ3OqTIo&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/Xj0VZ3OqTIo&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="456" height="344"></embed></object>

I will watch.. go jb buy and watch.. why deprive yourself of these simple pleasures :D