• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Manufacturing in Sg Has All But COLLAPSED!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=452 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>That's why the 154th donch even dare to mention it in the table!

Published January 31, 2009
c.gif

</TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=452 colSpan=2>Business braces for 6 months of deepening gloom

By CHEW XIANG
<TABLE class=storyLinks cellSpacing=4 cellPadding=1 width=136 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Email this article</TD></TR><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Print article </TD></TR><TR class=font10><TD align=right width=20> </TD><TD>Feedback</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
(Singapore)

BUSINESS expectations for the next half year fell dramatically across all sectors of the economy, the Department of Statistics and the Economic Development Board said yesterday.
<TABLE class=picBoxL cellSpacing=2 width=100 align=left><TBODY><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR class=caption><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>In the services sector, which had been expected to compensate for a manufacturing slump, a net weighted balance of 53 per cent of firms surveyed expected conditions to go downhill in the next six months, compared with 15 per cent in the last quarterly survey. The 1,400 enterprises were polled between December and mid-January.
For the manufacturing sector, a net weighted balance of 57 per cent of over 400 firms polled expected conditions to worsen, compared with 28 per cent three months ago. The net weighted balance is the difference between the proportions of positive and negative responses, weighted by the firms' contributions to employment and output.
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=120 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=4 width=200 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR bgColor=#4e6e78><TD colSpan=2 height=8>[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Related articles:
</TD></TR><TR bgColor=#d5e9f1><TD>
icon_report.gif
</TD><TD>[FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][SIZE=-2]Click here for Singstat's news release[/SIZE][/FONT]</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Singapore Manufacturers' Federation secretary-general Gwee Seng Kwong said that the survey results 'came as no surprise'.
'No doubt the US has rolled out some economic stimulus that would help drive the global economy back to its proper order, but we do not expect the economy to recover by the end of 2009. This is because the implemented changes need time to take affect,' Mr Gwee said.
Particularly gloomy within the services sector were hotels - all polled said that they expected the outlook to get worse. The financial services, transport and storage, and retail trade industries were also dismal, with net weighted balances of at least 60 per cent.
As expected, the exports-dependent electronics industry was the most bearish in the manufacturing sector, with 86 per cent thinking that the worst is yet to come. The precision engineering and chemicals industries were also expected to fall further, with 73 per cent and 68 per cent of firms in the respective industries turning negative for the next six months.
Output levels and employment across all sectors were also likely to fall, the surveys revealed, even as employment data released yesterday showed better jobs creation than expected in the fourth quarter of last year.
Bracing for gloom THE Economic Development Board said that a weighted 29 per cent of manufacturers expect a reduction in headcount in the current quarter, with the precision engineering and electronics clusters particularly bearish. About 70 per cent expect factory employment to remain stable. In services, catering and hotels are expected to see the heaviest job cuts, with a net weighted balance of over 30 per cent anticipating lower employment levels. However, financial and business services, and real estate firms remain relatively sanguine, with a net weighted balance of less than 20 per cent expecting lower employment.
Citi economist Kit Wei Zheng said: 'We expect net jobs creation will turn negative within the next one to two quarters, likely peaking somewhere in H2 2009. Manufacturing will likely bear the brunt of the job losses, with financial services, real estate and other services sectors also expected to lose jobs.'
Singapore Business Federation chief executive Teng Theng Dar said that pump priming by the government would help certain sectors, while falling commodity prices and government aid should relieve cost pressures. And expanding into new markets should help buffer companies from the slowdown in the G3 countries. 'Economies like China, the (Gulf Cooperation Council countries), Vietnam and Latin America hold prospects for trade and investment opportunities for Singapore companies in sectors such as infrastructure development and upgrading, education and training, ICT and clean energy,' he said.
[/FONT]</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

High Command

Actually when it comes to manufacturing we are not on the cutting edge as we are lead to believe. In fact, we actually lose out to China in many areas. Just watch some of the CCTV documentaries and you will be shocked!

eeoror88

Not to worry.

There are still many available jobs at the shipyards. In fact, they will be getting 6 to 8 months of bonus in March and April. I am not joking.

Not to worry.

There are still many available jobs at the shipyards. In fact, they will be getting 6 to 8 months of bonus in March and April. I am not joking.

The shipyardes got work?

Alot of idle ships around with no cargo to ship. Who wants to build ships in this market?

With the fall in oil demand plenty of cancellation to build new oil rigs.

Whole of Spore can join the PAP gov't & go on holiday. They are getting paid while Sporeans are not :rolleyes:

DerekLeung

Actually when it comes to manufacturing we are not on the cutting edge as we are lead to believe. In fact, we actually lose out to China in many areas. Just watch some of the CCTV documentaries and you will be shocked!

Look at those stupid under-graduates grapping a radio controlled toy with a improvised device attached and say it's the cutting edge project !

And the media bask them with publicity !

eeoror88

The shipyardes got work?

Alot of idle ships around with no cargo to ship. Who wants to build ships in this market?

With the fall in oil demand plenty of cancellation to build new oil rigs.

Whole of Spore can join the PAP gov't & go on holiday. They are getting paid while Sporeans are not :rolleyes:

Did you try to apply ??

Or are you too pampered to do such jobs ??

I say again, there are plenty of jobs at the shipyards. They are getting 6 to 8 months bonus in March and April.

Do a check, if you do not believe such bonuses are paid in times like this.

Did you try to apply ??

I say again, there are plenty of jobs at the shipyards. They are getting 6 to 8 months bonus in March and April.

Sorry lah, shipping is not my field. How do you expect someone to switch fields just like that? I for one think you must need specific skills. If anyone can jump into a ship yard job without skills then it is an unskilled job & pay must be low :rolleyes:

If you think there are jobs in the ship yards. then why are the share prices down? If they received bonuses last year, it was for work prior to March/April.

Oil prices was over $100 back then & shipping rates were up. The recession is now here in Spore. Even the PAP gov't cannot ignore it. :rolleyes:

xebay11

Did you try to apply ??

Have YOU applied yourself? Do you know what kind of hellish conditions exist in the shipyards? Climbing through 50 deg ship hulls and working in smelly cramped and steamy hot compartments, every minute risking explosions or being overcome by fumes.

I have worked in shipyards before and it is hell on earth.

kchunjeng

IF THE GOAL POLL ALWAYS SHIFTING,

HOW TO SCORE GOAL ??

FROM DAY 1 TILL TODAY...

Manufacturing>Trading>financial hub>IT> COnstruction>BIOchemical>Oil refinery>Phama>STEM CELL research> today CAsino !!

Sorry lah, shipping is not my field. How do you expect someone to switch fields just like that? I for one think you must need specific skills. If anyone can jump into a ship yard job without skills then it is an unskilled job & pay must be low :rolleyes:

If you think there are jobs in the ship yards. then why are the share prices down? If they received bonuses last year, it was for work prior to March/April.

Oil prices was over $100 back then & shipping rates were up. The recession is now here in Spore. Even the PAP gov't cannot ignore it. :rolleyes:

Your shoes must have SPUR's to kick a 'dead horse' to life!, upturn the downturn, that is, overturn the dustbin for food & finally, you did not heed the 'piper's' call...and sweet whispering..."change your mindset"..."change your mindset"...

Go take over from the Chinamen, the Thai's, the Mynamese, the Bangladeshi's, the Indian's.....the whatever out there....how low can you get or will go?...heed the call..."change your mindset"...kick in your "SPURS" and gallop into.....unkwown.....GO! or is it old is gold? :biggrin:

Easier for Sporeans to vote for change. May happen soon with more unemployed & hungry Sporeans, if not this year, the next.,...

PAP better wake up, this recession is going to be protracted & there are limits that even Sporeans can tahan :rolleyes:

oli9

StatsChippac already make announcement to "trim" staff(not reported in papers). CSM is cutting 500 jobs & more to come (already announced) I question the wisdom of keeping CSM listed & they provide no monetary benefits to its shareholders, yet they keep keep losing money every quarter. Might as well dumped the entire set up, bite the bullet & move on lor....

funglung

IF THE GOAL POLL ALWAYS SHIFTING,

HOW TO SCORE GOAL ??

FROM DAY 1 TILL TODAY...

Manufacturing>Trading>financial hub>IT> COnstruction>BIOchemical>Oil refinery>Phama>STEM CELL research> today CAsino !!

It is the stupid ball-less Sinkies that voted for LKY so he and his thugs remain in power, to shift that goal posts, to change the rules in middle of game, so that they will continue to get more rich while Sinkies continue to bleed.

Singkies got what they fucking deserved for voting for LKY and stinking PAP