• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malay Tudung activists garang Yishun Minister and disrupt meet the people session

Islamic fanatic ?

Activist group 'targeting and disrupting' PAP Meet-The-People Sessions​

The group turned up at Home Affairs and Law Minister K Shanmugam’s Chong Pang branch in Nee Soon GRC on Wednesday (Mar 12) evening, the minister said in a social media post.
Activist group 'targeting and disrupting' PAP Meet-The-People Sessions'targeting and disrupting' PAP Meet-The-People Sessions

Malay PAP MP Zhulkarnain Abdul Rahim and Malay Director of Dialogue Centre Mohamed Imran Mohamed Taib both condemned the 2 hijabi muslimahs for rudely disrupting Shanmugam's work with no intention of respectfully engaging him productively.

https://mothership.sg/2025/03/malay-leaders-activists-pofma-mps/

ya, taken by surprise. totally unprepared . he's also nervous wondering if there are explosives hidden inside the ninja garb
I think Lord Shan already assessed the risk level the moment the two ninja women spoke; can hear they were not that smart and guillable

that's why he was nervous. it's always the not so smart and gullible that carry explosives around to make a statement

If you ask me, it felt like more of a staged performance than an actual confrontation.

For starters, these activists have apparently done the same routine at other MPS sessions multiple times, disrupting proceedings to accuse Shanmugam of spreading misinformation. Fair enough, activism in itself isn't the problem. But the fact that they’ve been allowed to repeatedly gatecrash these sessions without facing any serious legal repercussions? That’s interesting.

Here’s where the plot thickens: the entire incident was filmed with crystal-clear audio and perfect framing, despite the fact that it supposedly went down in a public space with a bunch of frustrated people involved. Now, I don’t know about you, but this kind of footage seems... too polished. From the way it was filmed to the sound quality, this was professional-grade stuff, almost like someone was waiting for the moment to capture it. Suspicious much?

Now, let’s talk about Shanmugam’s performance. Was he genuinely shocked by this disruption, or was he simply playing the role of the composed, law-abiding leader who’s "listening to his people" while dismissing the activists as "disruptors"? He definitely handled the situation well on camera, showcasing patience and authority without losing his cool. And I’m sure that image is one that resonates with his supporters, especially when the alternative is the image of unruly protestors causing trouble in a public session.

The bottom line? This looks a lot like political theater. The activists get their exposure, sure, but Shanmugam walks away looking like the calm, capable leader who’s got everything under control. A win-win situation for him, right? It’s almost like they’re creating a narrative that plays perfectly into the hands of both sides, activists get attention for their cause, and Shanmugam gets to show how well he can handle “troublemakers” while still prioritizing his residents. A nice, neat package for the public to consume.

What do you think? real disruption, or just another performance to reinforce a political agenda?

wow ... PAP imported ISIS or HAMAs Foreign Talents ah? Now they want to overthrow PAP and make this island become Islamic State also ah? Jialat liow lor :whistling:

Malay community leaders, MPs speak out against activists who disrupted Meet-The-People Sessions​

The activists’ actions show they were never truly interested in meaningful, constructive dialogue that could genuinely help their cause, said Member of Parliament Sharael Taha.

Minahs more fierce than hokkien bu.
Fierce ? They more like brainwashed kids pushing only one agenda which has no bearing to them. These two must go to Gaza and serve Hamas to understand the evil nature of the entire origanisation and its hold on its people. Something is definitely not right somewhere with this video

This case is very serious and it reminds me of the news below

Johor Religious Dept orders for Ulu Tiram attacker to be buried in isolation

The suspect was said to have entered the Ulu Tiram police station at 2.45am on May 16 armed with a machete. — Bernama pic

KUALA LUMPUR, May 20 — The Johor Religious Department today directed the authorities to bury the Ulu Tiram police station attacker in isolation while preparation for his burial and prayers must only be done at home among his family members.

A Muslim burial is typically a communal affair and prayers for the deceased’s body are usually done at the nearest mosque or surau near the burial ground. The department’s fatwa committee barred all mosques or surau in the state from performing prayers and burial rituals for the attacker, a move that is meant to ostracise the family as a form of punishment.

that's why he was nervous. it's always the not so smart and gullible that carry explosives around to make a statement

In local context, to access to high explosives and plus the fact know how to use it is rare. Given the control is so tight almost impossible. One common sign if a person is a fanatic anot is to stare at his/her eyes when conversing; there is a common look for terrorist or fanatic.

AI Overview
1741949650992.png

+1

In Islam, Muslims are generally not banned from entering a mosque, but there are specific situations where entry might be restricted, such as if a person is in a state of impurity (hadath) or if they are acting in a way that is disrespectful to the mosque or its sanctity.

Here's a more detailed explanation:
  • State of Impurity (Hadath):
    If a Muslim is in a state of ritual impurity (hadath), such as after not performing ablution (wudu) or having a major impurity (like menstruation or having intercourse), they are generally not allowed to enter the mosque for prayer.

• Disrespectful Behavior:
    If a Muslim enters the mosque and engages in behavior that is disrespectful to the mosque or its sanctity, such as eating, drinking, or talking loudly during prayer, they may be asked to leave.

PAP be wise to start turning their backs on that genocidal Nazis, Israel, before the Malays really punish them next GE.

The 3 makciks are garang enough to create scenes at several PAP's meet-the-people sessions. They don't have 2 physical balls below but they dare to move out of their home. They 'press' and 'press' on... Allah is all-knowing, he knows who are those muslims who do nothing except lip services and KPKB at home.

Quran 4:95
Those believers who stay at home—except those with valid excuses—are not equal to those who strive in the cause of Allah with their wealth and their lives. Allah has elevated in rank those who strive with their wealth and their lives above those who stay behind ˹with valid excuses˺. Allah has promised each a fine reward, but those who strive will receive a far better reward than others—

Message from the activists.

First off, we would like to clarify that we went to Minister Shanmugam’s MPS to share our concerns about how POFMA is being used. We made that clear to every single volunteer that screened us (five of them) and we also made it clear that while we would like to see Shanmugam, we were okay with waiting until all the other residents had been seen first. We understood that we were not residents of his constituency, and were okay to wait. We said this to the volunteers. If this was not relayed to Shanmugam, then this is an internal communications issue. When he left the MPS for his gathering, we were disappointed, but we still followed up with two of the volunteers, and we left our email addresses and phone number so that they could reach out to us and we could set an appointment. We even asked if that would be better instead of trying to engage him at MPS.

Secondly, we would like to address the blatant filming and intimidation we faced upon Shanmugam's return. We had already proceeded to leave the venue but when he made his way back, we decided we might as well see if he would meet us. He went around to greet every resident first and ensure they were seen before meeting us, which is good. He had security personnel and volunteers following him around, but they stayed at a respectful distance from the other residents. Then came our turn, and the situation escalated the moment we said we were there to speak about POFMA. The conversation went fine at first, but then we noticed he was pitching his voice down and standing really close. That's when we realised he had a mic on his shirt. When we looked around, his security staff and volunteers had completely encircled us and quite a few of them were filming. We knew they were not residents who had come to see him because they were wearing the PAP lanyard. At this point, we were shocked and unsettled. We came in good faith, and we were perfectly polite, so why were we treated differently from other citizens, as if we were a threat? Anyone would have felt disturbed to be surrounded and filmed by multiple people, but we felt especially vulnerable as women. Why did they crowd around us like that? And what would they do with this video? And as seen with the articles about us and the misrepresentation, what we feared had come to pass. We asked them to stop recording, because we had honestly not come to "start a fight" or "disrupt", but to appeal to him to lighten the prosecution of ordinary citizens with POFMA. We did not set out to antagonise him. But when we requested his people to stop filming us, he came to their defense. He said they were "entitled to record because this is a public space". We were shocked. On one hand, he checked to make sure we were not doing any audio/video recording, but yet his people could film us and create a hostile environment for us?

We felt humiliated, vulnerable and outraged that despite making clear that we did not want to be filmed, and requesting multiple times for his team to stop intimidating us in this way, our wishes were outright denied. Please understand that we were scared, being surrounded like this. So in that moment, as a form of resistance, and to make our unhappiness with the filming felt, we reacted to the cameras that were in our face. We even made heart shapes with our fingers, but of course, everyone is fixating on the middle finger.

Thirdly, we would like to touch upon the initial topic of conversation that happened outside the venue. He asked us where we stayed, which was an indication that someone did inform him we were not residents. He told us that he would not be able to see us if that was the case. We said to him that in our experience, we have seen other PAP and non-PAP Meet-the-People Sessions where MPs do in fact see non-residents. We did not accuse him of lying. He then said it is up to his discretion whether he wants to see us, and we should go to our own MP. The reason we wanted to see him, specifically, is because as the Law and Home Affairs Minister, POFMA is a law drafted and passed under his purview, and implemented by law enforcement, which he oversees. He has also issued many of the POFMA notices we were particularly concerned about, against certain activists. This is why we went to his specific MPS. We could have gone to our own GRC's MPS, but the impending POFMA cases are happening now, with activists being subject to days-long interrogation by police officers, which was why it felt prudent for us to meet him directly. We did understand the need to see the residents first, and we did say we were willing to wait till the end. But also, why is he implying that he only has a responsibility to Nee Soon residents? Is he not the Minister of Law and Home Affairs for the whole of Singapore? Are we not also under his care for that? It was frustrating to hear him attempt to turn us away, when we would have been willing to wait, and to imply we were disrupting, when we had been trying to have a conversation.

At that point, tensions were already high. He was attempting to go back into the indoor MPS venue, and giving us no good reason why he couldn't spare even 15 minutes to sit down with us and talk, all while recording us and refusing to ask his volunteers to stop filming despite our clear distress at being filmed. Yes, we became angry, and when he walked away, some of us yelled that he was a "coward". This is the same man who has been the strongest proponent of the death penalty and insists on continuing the execution of so many people under oppressive drug laws. The same man who is the architect of POFMA, a repressive law that has been used against people who have different views from the government, a man who wouldn't even spare the time to discuss the concerns of two young citizens who used to look up to him. We had nothing to personally gain from this effort, and everything to lose. We knew nothing much would come out of expressing our concerns to him at an MPS, but we still felt it was important to engage our Ministers, who DO have the power to change things. People have been sneering, judging and saying unkind things about us for the way in which we handled things, but at the end of the day, we really are just two regular citizens. Why are we expected to handle such an intimidating situation with the training and poise of a seasoned politician? Why are we stopped from bringing political issues to our political leaders?

Immediately after we shouted “coward”, Shanmugam came back out to scold us. He raised his voice, wagged his finger at us and accused us of disrupting the MPS, claiming that we are taking precious time away from the residents that have "real issues". One of the reasons POFMA was being used against the Transformative Justice Collective was for their posts regarding the execution of so many people. Are their lives, now lost to us, not "real issues"? Shanmugam then stormed back inside, saying to his volunteers, "Do not engage with them, I will deal with them later."

We actually started out as a group of two sisters, but we were joined by two friends, one of whom is a resident who had come down to support us. They are a resident of Nee Soon GRC who had initially wanted to remain silent, but felt moved to speak up to Shanmugam as well after witnessing the debacle. After Shanmugam walked away for the second time, a kind MPS volunteer managed to convince him to see us, and we were later let in.

We wouldn’t call what followed a conversation. Is it a conversation if it was almost completely one-sided? He had us surrounded by 14 other people, a few of whom were actively filming us and recording the meeting. Shanmugam claimed this was the “usual practice”, and we aren’t sure if this means he records all his MPS sessions. But, once again, he instructed us not to record the conversation, so we took down notes instead. He claimed that POFMA is not state censorship and how we should be clear on the facts before attempting to engage him. We could barely get a word in. We were not even given space to bring up our other concerns around stifling expression, like the police raids on student residences, because he bulldozed over our attempts to speak. He lectured us about how POFMA is not stifling anyone's right to free speech because it only targets facts and not opinions, but in our observation, multiple statements which we understood to be opinions have been targeted by POFMA. If we recall correctly, he even said it was affordable to fight POFMA and people would not need to engage a lawyer! I'm not sure in what world a $50,000 fine, which one can be subject to if convicted under some sections of POFMA, is affordable, but maybe it is to him. He also told us to get a lawyer to read through POFMA with us, even though he had previously posited that POFMA is accessible. He said so long as we abided by the Correction Order, no one needed to be fined. But TJC members were subject to criminal investigations despite posting the Correction Orders. He said POFMA actually enables freedom of speech because the original post would not need to be taken down, and that more information is a good thing.

Well, in that case, we would like to invite Shanmugam to release the full, unedited videos and audio recordings of us. We truly have a clear conscience. This was not an easy thing to bring up to one of the most powerful Ministers in Singapore, someone trained in the law, and someone with a LOT more political and socioeconomic power than us. Even though we haven’t been subject to POFMA orders ourselves, we were concerned over the many online posts about how POFMA was being used and wanted to discuss that, because these laws affect all of us who live in Singapore.

That Shanmugam decided to bring up Palestine was yet another confusing aspect for us. He claimed that we were part of a group disrupting MPS sessions, shouting at various MPS sessions and that we took MPs' words out of context. We want to make as clear as possible that we were not at Shanmugam’s MPS on behalf of any group, or to discuss Palestine. We went to see him in our own personal capacity. We wore PRESS t-shirts with the names of brave journalists because POFMA is about freedom of speech. We tried to explain repeatedly that we did not come as part of Monday of Palestine Solidarity, but he insisted that we did. Yes, we are also members of Mondays for Palestine Solidarity. As part of that group, we went to see Sun Xueling last year, as she is our MP, and we have accompanied residents in other constituencies who went to see their MPs (in both PAP and non-PAP constituencies) about Palestine as well, though we did not go in with them and participate in the conversation with the MP, since we are not residents of those constituencies. Everyone is invited to check out the instagram posts on Mondays for Palestine Solidarity and come to your own conclusions about whether we caused commotions at those MPS sessions.

But that is a separate matter altogether. If Shanmugam and other MPs want to accuse Mondays for Palestine Solidarity of rowdiness, in the interest of transparency, we would also like to see proof of such rowdiness. Especially if there are residents who were personally affected by our presence at these MPS sessions, we urge them to come forward with accounts of their MPS being disrupted by Monday of Palestine Solidarity.

The only time we brought up Palestine was at the tail-end of our conversation with him in the office. We asked why POFMA was not used against CNA for using the language of the "Israel-Hamas war" when the genocide has spread to the West Bank, and surrounding countries, like Syria and Lebanon, where Hamas is clearly not involved. He said it was not factually incorrect for CNA to do so. It devolved into a whataboutism conversation, where he implied we didn't actually care for the people in Syria. "Do you know about the 500,000 deaths that occurred there?" No, we didn't, but we would also like to know more.

We also brought up how the Israeli embassy was not POFMA'd when they used our Quranic verses to justify their genocide. And why, even though they were told to take down the post, a POFMA was not issued against them. Shanmugam said that was not a matter of national interest, funnily enough. Shanmugam also said we cannot cut off ties with everyone in the world. Then we asked, what about the sanctions against Russia? He replied that that was a separate discussion. One of us started crying during the conversation because the whole experience was so hostile, frustrating and disempowering. It felt more like an interrogation where Shanmugam was waiting to trip us up - accusing us of not having all our facts together and undermining every point we raised, rather than showing curiosity, respect and concern for our views.

Are we not also Singapore citizens? Why do we get "othered" and harassed by PAP volunteers just because we bring up uncomfortable topics of conversation? Filming us and posting what he did on Facebook, surely the Minister knew it would direct a lot of hate comments and threats our way? Is this what our politicians have come to? We are exhausted. A CNA reporter, Jeremy Long, suddenly appeared after the MPS to take more unsolicited photos with a DSLR camera. When we asked Shanmugam who this man was, he said that Long was "not one of my people". Who called the media to take our pictures? Is this what citizens should expect when we go to see our elected representatives? We asked Long to delete his photos of us, but he refused. Perhaps it's because two angry, Malay-Muslim hijabis make for salacious news.

We hate that our government's politics has devolved into m&d-slinging online fights. A lot of people have asked us if we took our own recordings, as insurance, but does that mean that we should all equip ourselves with body cams or GoPros if we ever plan to talk to an MP? That’s absurd! Our hopes were too high for Shanmugam. What should have been a regular, civil conversation escalated, and we are now facing all sorts of harassment, loss of privacy and smear campaigns by the media. Perhaps we should have known that this could happen when you confront one of the most powerful men in Singapore. But we were naive. Even though there were cameras there, we were not performing for the camera or trying to come off as put together, we were just being our real, messy selves. We had a genuine reaction to being treated the way we were, to being photographed and filmed despite saying ‘no’, to being encircled while we were trying to speak to the Minister, and treated with antagonism and suspicion. If you find that reaction offensive, please consider the pressure we were under in that situation, and how violated you would feel if you were treated that way. How wasteful, that we gave up a proper dinner during Ramadhan, eating only afterwards at almost 10pm, and even doing Maghrib prayers under the block, just for a chance to try and talk with someone who had already decided to vilify us.

We came to talk about POFMA and censorship, and we were met with censorship. We came to talk about the disproportionate response to activism in Singapore, and was met with a hugely disproportionate response to what was essentially two ordinary people going to an MPS session.

We are not perfect, and we are committed to growing and learning. But we stand firm in our truth, and in our faith.

{ يَٰٓأَيُّهَا ٱلَّذِينَ ءَامَنُواْ كُونُواْ قَوَّٰمِينَ لِلَّهِ شُهَدَآءَ بِٱلۡقِسۡطِۖ وَلَا يَجۡرِمَنَّكُمۡ شَنَـَٔانُ قَوۡمٍ عَلَىٰٓ أَلَّا تَعۡدِلُواْۚ ٱعۡدِلُواْ هُوَ أَقۡرَبُ لِلتَّقۡوَىٰۖ وَٱتَّقُواْ ٱللَّهَۚ إِنَّ ٱللَّهَ خَبِيرُۢ بِمَا تَعۡمَلُونَ }

[Surah Al-Māʾidah: 8]

Sahih International:

O you who have believed, be persistently standing firm for Allāh, witnesses in justice, and do not let the hatred of a people prevent you from being just. Be just; that is nearer to righteousness. And fear Allāh; indeed, Allāh is [fully] Aware of what you do.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1zmOIZbDwppNdQPZTazPlJKO6ZVRvZdiiiP1oC0NBNGs/mobilebasic