• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

maid

In some cases for 2+ generations. Plenty of hands to share the workload. Not like in Spore where "a" maid is expected to be one-horse-kick. They take care of the kids, parents, walk the dog, wash the car,....:eek: It's really not surprising that some maids crack under the workload.

yeah throw in poor treatment and diet too.

over in japan even the richest japanese dont have a maid ...we dont trust a stranger to live in your private life .

yes bro.. in fact thats the best thing to do. I had a very good maid for a few years but after she left we did realise that although we missed her, we did regain privacy.

over in japan even the richest japanese dont have a maid ...we dont trust a stranger to live in your private life .

It is one thing to be brought up in that kind of environment and culture and another thing in the Singapore context. Most Singaporeans have the mindset that these maids are employed by them and they want to extract their pound of flesh in return. In countries like US and Oz, there is no such luxury and everyone is expected to do everything themselves.

Actually you can get a live in maid in California ...i dun know about the other states. But this maid will cost you a lot of money and she has very ' family like ' priviliges.

Having said that, many of the better off Hispanics employ illegal domestic help that slip in from Mexico.

It is one thing to be brought up in that kind of environment and culture and another thing in the Singapore context. Most Singaporeans have the mindset that these maids are employed by them and they want to extract their pound of flesh in return. In countries like US and Oz, there is no such luxury and everyone is expected to do everything themselves.

yes bro.. in fact thats the best thing to do. I had a very good maid for a few years but after she left we did realise that although we missed her, we did regain privacy.

yes bro...good maid are hard to find ...come brothers here are really very lucky . i guess ..thats life , you have to give up something to gain something ...sometimes you cant have the best of both world .

Actually you can get a live in maid in California ...i dun know about the other states. But this maid will cost you a lot of money and she has very ' family like ' priviliges.

Having said that, many of the better off Hispanics employ illegal domestic help that slip in from Mexico.

I am sure the wife will object if you want to have one.:D Maids are so expensive, many only have them come once a week. Same for all chores like a gardener to mow the lawn and trim the hedges or maintain the swimming pool. Many try to do without to save some money. Singaporeans can count themselves lucky to have maids that they can still afford yet they treat them badly.

we cant really afford a maid. We had one last time cos i was working 2 jobs. These days I help out at home so we make do without a maid.

As long as the kids dont mess up the place then its ok.

Sometimes i go into my kid's room....it looked like the darn cupboard just threw up. :mad:

I am sure the wife will object if you want to have one.:D Maids are so expensive, many only have them come once a week. Same for all chores like a gardener to mow the lawn and trim the hedges or maintain the swimming pool. Many try to do without to save some money. Singaporeans can count themselves lucky to have maids that they can still afford yet they treat them badly.

If your maid looking for opportunities in Pattaya, PM me. She's got an instant offer on the spot. :D No stay in or cooking. Office hours 9am -8 pm. Sunday/PH and alternate saturday off.

Think it work both ways. If employee 'automatic', employer also 'automatic'. Win-win situation. If one side not automatic, then this will not work.

knn spoil market now I got competition liao.

I thought you've reserved her for me? How come now so much competition? I thought only her Glock is automatic, the rest of her is romantic?

I have friends in Indonesia & they don't have problems with maids. It may be because the maids they have are recommended by someone from the same kampong. The kampong grapevine :)

In Thailand there are two types of maids, Thai and non-Thai (Burmese or Cambodians). Pai-say to say this but the rate is very low here for Thais usually 5k-7k and others 4k-5k. I paid her 6k for a start, 4 months later after getting her driving license I gave her 2k more although it will be another 2-3 months more before getting the car. She actually cried to be told she'll be getting. I just renewed her 2 years contract in May and paid her another 2k. So total its 10k per month. Other benefits like bonuses were increased too. Just to put it into proper perspective production workers or even junior office workers are paid between 6k-8k per month and does not include makan and lodging which will take up to 60% of their basic salary.

Oh I forgot to mention that my gardener who comes everyday to water my garden and trim the plants and is required to do anything I ask him to do for my garden is paid 1.5k per month. I mean Thai baht la. He asked for 1k but he is good and I gave him 1.5k. If nothing major he comes in for like only 30mins to water and trim a little. I don't have to tell him what to do he automatically do everything to make the garden pretty. Again I and very lucky to have a good gardener. I am just afraid my new place which is 9km from where I am he may not want to go there.

brother ...dont spoil market leh ...whahahahaha . maybe in the future i want to stay in thai leh ..

No spoil market la pii drifter. I like to keep good people around me especially people who have a passion to improve themselves and loyal. But in Thailand sad to say loyalty is hard to find.

Money will artificially enhance loyalty depending on how much there is. PAP ministers are a good example.

I just renewed her 2 years contract in May and paid her another 2k. So total its 10k per month. Other benefits like bonuses were increased too. Just to put it into proper perspective production workers or even junior office workers are paid between 6k-8k per month and does not include makan and lodging which will take up to 60% of their basic salary.

I often wonder at the excessive cost of living in Spore. In Spore I pay more in 1 month for utilities than what a thai worker earns in a whole month:eek:

Is it common to have contracts when hiring a maid:confused:

This is true that as a foreigner, we tend to pay more to locals for good service. Not all the time will we find all being grateful as some take advantage of our generousity. We have to be guided and not be tempted to behave like Santa Claus otherwise the whole village will be standing outside our gate hoping to get some.

I do agree that we have to be circumspect in not overdoing it. Our Indonesian housekeeper takes care of all payments so it does not appear that we are the ones paying. She knows the culture and who deserves additional and also give us any advice on money matters. Sometimes on occasions, our house may have too much food and she will give them to the security guards guarding the estate. These guards are very grateful and recognise all of us because of her skill in managing the homes and people management.

Thailand Welcome You
slide2.jpg

You need not have a contract. But I am doing this because its only right for both sides. I drafted it in English and get my staff to translate to become something like this:

1. SALARY (เงินเดือน)

Your salary is made of 2 parts (a) Basic Salary and (b) Year-End Bonus
เงินเดือน ประกอบด้วย 2 ส่วน (a) เงินเดือนพื้นฐาน (b) โบนัสปลายปี

I often wonder at the excessive cost of living in Spore. In Spore I pay more in 1 month for utilities than what a thai worker earns in a whole month:eek:

Is it common to have contracts when hiring a maid:confused:

If your maid look like Noo Hin also can be quite cute...

spd_20060601100748_b.jpg

Thailand Welcome You
View attachment 3492

You need not have a contract. But I am doing this because its only right for both sides. I drafted it in English and get my staff to translate to become something like this:

1. SALARY (เงินเดือน)

Your salary is made of 2 parts (a) Basic Salary and (b) Year-End Bonus
เงินเดือน ประกอบด้วย 2 ส่วน (a) เงินเดือนพื้นฐาน (b) โบนัสปลายปี

pii ....i just joking lah .