• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mah Bow Tan, please answer Leong Sze Hiang's questions.....

FuckSamLeong

HDB flats – a precious resource for foreign workers?
Friday, 1 January 2010, 12:56 pm | 225 views
The following is a letter from Mr Leong Sze Hian to the Today newspaper. It was published on Today Online on 31 Dec 2009.

I REFER to “Asset that keeps growing” (Dec 30) and reports that two Housing and Development Board (HDB) blocks in Toa Payoh will be rented out to foreign workers from the Integrated Resorts (IR).

The report states that, “Looking to next year, Mr Mah said the opening of the two Integrated Resorts will lead to higher demand for housing.”

It also quoted Mr Mah Bow Tan as saying: “But we’ll increase the supply as well.”

My friend, who is unemployed, asked me what is the cheapest rental that he, as a single person, can get in Singapore, as he can no longer afford the single-room rental in an HDB flat.

I understand that the cheapest single- room rental in an HDB flat is about $350. As far as I know, the cheapest rental is $140 in a shared HDB flat, from EM Services. However, this option is only for foreigners and is not open to Singaporeans.

Why is it that a Singaporean has to pay at least $350 for a place to live, when an IR foreign worker can rent for as little as $140?

While thousands of Singaporeans have to wait for months to get a rental flat, why is it that foreign workers can rent and stay in HDB flats immediately?

So why are these blocks now being used to house foreign workers for rental profit?

This is not the first time that HDB flats are being rented out to foreigners, as I understand that there are flats in Woodlands used for this purpose.

HDB flats, being public housing – a precious, limited resource, and much in demand – should only be reserved for Singaporeans.

Bow Tan will say:" Why would i rent to 1 Singaporean who pays only $350, while i can rent to 6 foreign workers for $140 each in 1 single flat?" LOL

Money matters.... sad :(:(:(:(:(

popdod

Malboro hard to vote out leh......coz he gotch dragon pearl.
A pearl protects from all attacks.

:o :( :o

Perspective

Friday, 1 January 2010, 12:56 pm | 225 views
The following is a letter from Mr Leong Sze Hian to the Today newspaper. It was published on Today Online on 31 Dec 2009.

I REFER to “Asset that keeps growing” (Dec 30) and reports that two Housing and Development Board (HDB) blocks in Toa Payoh will be rented out to foreign workers from the Integrated Resorts (IR).

The report states that, “Looking to next year, Mr Mah said the opening of the two Integrated Resorts will lead to higher demand for housing.”

It also quoted Mr Mah Bow Tan as saying: “But we’ll increase the supply as well.”

My friend, who is unemployed, asked me what is the cheapest rental that he, as a single person, can get in Singapore, as he can no longer afford the single-room rental in an HDB flat.

I understand that the cheapest single- room rental in an HDB flat is about $350. As far as I know, the cheapest rental is $140 in a shared HDB flat, from EM Services. However, this option is only for foreigners and is not open to Singaporeans.

Why is it that a Singaporean has to pay at least $350 for a place to live, when an IR foreign worker can rent for as little as $140?

While thousands of Singaporeans have to wait for months to get a rental flat, why is it that foreign workers can rent and stay in HDB flats immediately?

So why are these blocks now being used to house foreign workers for rental profit?

This is not the first time that HDB flats are being rented out to foreigners, as I understand that there are flats in Woodlands used for this purpose.

HDB flats, being public housing – a precious, limited resource, and much in demand – should only be reserved for Singaporeans.

I'm not sure if Leong's facts are correct. As far as I know, rented flats work the other way round -- they have always been for citizens only and not for WP holders, not even PRs.

This is why MBT had to announce the rental flats for foreign workers. It breaks tradition.

darthboy

Woodlands. Can't remember the exact block. There's a basketball court downstairs. Whole block rented out to foreigners, including PR.

Unlike sinkies who collect leftover food in plastic bags before throwing, these scum dump everything straight into the chute, curry and all.

You can see some of them providing barber services to other tenants right at the corridors...

iceage

The FT are for here for the IR and it is too important to fail as it will bring them lots of revenue and tax dollars. If the Singaporean needs to rent a HDB, it is most likely that they would not paying income tax at all as their income would likely to be below the threshold.

So must take care of the FT first to create jobs for Singapore (justifications from our highly paid ministers on why FT are needed).

ahbengsong

the pap dont even bother what sinkees say... so stop asking them to listen.. despotic regime dont listen.. they just want power and more power...

Wrong. Subsidized rental flats have been available for PRs for decades. It is never publicised. Every Malaysian who graduates from NUS/NTU since the late 70s have been offered such flats upon graduation. The scheme is called PIPs. Other categories also qualifiy including certain work categories. They were not dumb enough to use an entire block but flats reserved in a number of blocks in each state.

JTC handled the scheme in the 90s and now EM Services. It all well organised including nice chairs for those waiting with queue numbers (yes there is volume). You also have the luxury of checking out the flat before accepting. $10 deposit for the key. Pay $50 and you can take out keys for 5 flats and spend a saturday, checking out wind direction, sunlight, low and high floor, neat bus stop. But the keys are to be returned the same day.

The reason I am giving the trivial details are to tell you that its is firmly entrenched. And yes the rental rates are ridiculous. Imagine $200 plus per month for E flat or maisonette for 2 years for new PR from HK in the 90s.

In recent times, they started to take over whole block because, can't meet demand.

I'm not sure if Leong's facts are correct. As far as I know, rented flats work the other way round -- they have always been for citizens only and not for WP holders, not even PRs.

This is why MBT had to announce the rental flats for foreign workers. It breaks tradition.

FuckSamLeong

Woodlands. Can't remember the exact block. There's a basketball court downstairs. Whole block rented out to foreigners, including PR.

Unlike sinkies who collect leftover food in plastic bags before throwing, these scum dump everything straight into the chute, curry and all.

You can see some of them providing barber services to other tenants right at the corridors...

They called it the Marsiling Apartments. More than thirty years ago fom Hill 265 we could look across the Marsiling Village Plain all the way to Mei Lan Hill (Hill 180) and the apartments were to the left of it.

Today you can see it to right of the Shell Station on Marsiling Road.

Bow Tan will say:" Why would i rent to 1 Singaporean who pays only $350, while i can rent to 6 foreign workers for $140 each in 1 single flat?" LOL

Money matters.... sad :(:(:(:(:(

Mah reply. Demand and supply will be according to market rate( meaning who ever pay higher price will get the place)

Perspective

Wrong. Subsidized rental flats have been available for PRs for decades. It is never publicised. Every Malaysian who graduates from NUS/NTU since the late 70s have been offered such flats upon graduation. The scheme is called PIPs. Other categories also qualifiy including certain work categories. They were not dumb enough to use an entire block but flats reserved in a number of blocks in each state.

JTC handled the scheme in the 90s and now EM Services. It all well organised including nice chairs for those waiting with queue numbers (yes there is volume). You also have the luxury of checking out the flat before accepting. $10 deposit for the key. Pay $50 and you can take out keys for 5 flats and spend a saturday, checking out wind direction, sunlight, low and high floor, neat bus stop. But the keys are to be returned the same day.

The reason I am giving the trivial details are to tell you that its is firmly entrenched. And yes the rental rates are ridiculous. Imagine $200 plus per month for E flat or maisonette for 2 years for new PR from HK in the 90s.

In recent times, they started to take over whole block because, can't meet demand.

I see. Thanks. Then it is probably Citizens+PRs. I know citizens are involved. Having done some charity work, I know that several recipients of our help were clearly pink IC holders staying in rented flats. But these are 1 or 2 room flats.

Could it be that the rented flats for these PR executives were rented by their companies, then in return rented to these PRs for a lower rate. I don't think the govt would be willing to rent E flats or maisonettes at a 'loss' for $200 whether foreigners or not, just going by their profit oriented mindsets alone.

ahleebabasingaporethief

He has already lost to CST in on erections.

Now he will cause THE SCUMS to lose many votes; maybe erections even.

MAH BO CHEE / MA BO TAY no balls to give answer lah.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
My understanding is EPs were eligible under the JTC's Foreign Trash Scheme.

Hi Jixiaolan,

Well, this time round, it is no longer JTC that is renting out, it is HDB that is renting out directly to these Casino Resort workers!

Goh Meng Seng

ahleebabasingaporethief

Hi Jixiaolan,

Well, this time round, it is no longer JTC that is renting out, it is HDB that is renting out directly to these Casino Resort workers!

Goh Meng Seng

As an OPPOSITION you should capitalise on this issue and go further by saying..."Casino resort workers are FTs. Why dont they hire S'poreans when UNEMPLOYMENT rate is at an ALL TIME HIGH".

You must really be sent on a SAMMYBOY SCHOLARSHIP to Halfbird U to do a MASTERBATE Course In PUBIC Relations.:biggrin:

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
As an OPPOSITION you should capitalise on this issue and go further by saying..."Casino resort workers are FTs. Why dont they hire S'poreans when UNEMPLOYMENT rate is at an ALL TIME HIGH".

You must really be sent on a SAMMYBOY SCHOLARSHIP to Halfbird U to do a MASTERBATE Course In PUBIC Relations.:biggrin:

Haha,

You will see how I pull punches in the next GE. As a well trained soldier, don't pull your trigger while your enemy is still far away. Give them full blast when they are nearer. :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

ahleebabasingaporethief

Haha,

You will see how I pull punches in the next GE. As a well trained soldier, don't pull your trigger while your enemy is still far away. Give them full blast when they are nearer. :wink:

Goh Meng Seng

i wait with baited breath.

Why wait?
You guys should be printing and copying 50 reasons not to vote for THE SCUMS IN WHITE penned by some brother here and already translated into more than 20 languages; AND distributing to all HDB households.

Why wait till erections are called? You think THE SCUMS will give you plenty of time issit?