• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LTA turns a blind eye to illegal parkings at grassroots event

[h=2]LTA turns a blind eye to illegal parkings at grassroots event
attended by MP Seah
[/h]

PostDateIcon.png
October 31st, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

SeahKianPeng.jpg

Seah Kian Peng, MP Marine Parade GRC

I am concerned about the inconsistencies in enforcing traffic laws in
Braddell Heights, where a string of restaurants were granted permits a few years
ago to operate, along Jalan Riang, despite the absence of public car parks in
the neighbourhood.

Diners and residents have since been competing for scarce parking, leading to
congestions and scuffles. As a result, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) has
been regularly monitoring the neighbourhood to enforce traffic rules in the
interest of safety.

I had brought the worsening traffic and parking situation to the attention of
Member of Parliament Seah Kian Peng in the past.

He said that it was not within his jurisdiction to solve the problem, as it
was legal for the restaurants to operate and for the LTA to enforce traffic
rules. I was advised to park at less congested roads and walk, should no parking
be available near my home.

I agree that it is not within his jurisdiction to instruct LTA officers how
to do their job.

Then, on Oct 20, the grassroots organisation threw a party, attended by Mr
Seah, at the park along Jalan Riang. As usual, many cars were parked illegally,
and an LTA officer arrived that afternoon to enforce the law. But he left
without booking any drivers.

I wish to clarify if the officer knew the implications of his dereliction of
duties on public safety, and if so, why he still chose to leave.

I reported the incident to the LTA and was assured that I would hear from an
officer who would be assigned to investigate. I have yet to hear from the LTA
since.

Yolanda Chin Tsu-Li

[Source]: The letter first appeared in TodayOnline on 31
Oct.

lianbeng says today is friday u know? go to nee soon camp there n see many illegal parkings around lunch time. :D

Who did Yolanda Chin Tsu-Li vote for? :D

are you playing by their rules?

Give and take, not 'principled' approach
From Seah Kian Peng Member of Parliament, Marine Parade GRC
04:45 AM Nov 02, 2012
Parking issues in private estates are common. I have helped mediate these and have conducted various dialogues with my residents in private estates for various streets. They are time consuming and require effort and cooperation by all parties.

Ms Yolanda Chin, who lives near the eateries and wrote "Inconsistent parking enforcement" (Oct 31), had approached me previously about noise and traffic issues. I asked the eateries to cooperate and ensure their patrons observe the rules.

I also asked for enforcement to be stepped up during busy periods, when there was indiscriminate parking in the area. Residents have told me that things have since improved.

The garden party on the day in question, from 4pm to 6pm on a Saturday, was to celebrate the completion of an estate upgrading project in Ms Chin's estate. All its residents were invited.

As I was driving there, I saw an enforcement officer about to book some cars; I stopped and told him that many residents would be at the party and, unless their cars were obstructing traffic, to apply a light touch and not issue any summons.

This was not the peak period, the cars were parked in an orderly manner and I do not think there were any public safety issues as Ms Chin stated.

I am an advocate that everyone, resident or not, should be reasonable and considerate, with a give and take approach.

All are neighbours there, and when one starts to adopt an uncompromising or unneighbourly approach, such behaviour normally spreads.

It then becomes a lose-lose situation. Most importantly, it destroys the neighbourly spirit in any community.

There will always be some residents who insist that there be constant enforcement, regardless of circumstances. I am against such a "principled" approach for such matters.

I take heart that in two streets in my estate where such disputes used to occur, things have improved following a series of mediation and consensus building among residents.

They have adopted their own ground rules and determination to solve matters internally and to call the enforcement agency only as a last resort.

It has worked well, and the neighbourhood is more peaceful and cordial now.

Back to the garden party: As it was raining heavily from 5.30pm, most residents and cars had already left by then. I hope this letter puts things in the right perspective.

Cisco will be call into action to wayang with blank summons again

are you playing by their rules?

Parking issues in private estates are common. I have helped mediate these and have conducted various dialogues with my residents in private estates for various streets. They are time consuming and require effort and cooperation by all parties.

Ms Yolanda Chin, who lives near the eateries and wrote "Inconsistent parking enforcement" (Oct 31), had approached me previously about noise and traffic issues. I asked the eateries to cooperate and ensure their patrons observe the rules.

I also asked for enforcement to be stepped up during busy periods, when there was indiscriminate parking in the area. Residents have told me that things have since improved.

The garden party on the day in question, from 4pm to 6pm on a Saturday, was to celebrate the completion of an estate upgrading project in Ms Chin's estate. All its residents were invited.

As I was driving there, I saw an enforcement officer about to book some cars; I stopped and told him that many residents would be at the party and, unless their cars were obstructing traffic, to apply a light touch and not issue any summons.

This was not the peak period, the cars were parked in an orderly manner and I do not think there were any public safety issues as Ms Chin stated.

I am an advocate that everyone, resident or not, should be reasonable and considerate, with a give and take approach.

All are neighbours there, and when one starts to adopt an uncompromising or unneighbourly approach, such behaviour normally spreads.

It then becomes a lose-lose situation. Most importantly, it destroys the neighbourly spirit in any community.

There will always be some residents who insist that there be constant enforcement, regardless of circumstances. I am against such a "principled" approach for such matters.

I take heart that in two streets in my estate where such disputes used to occur, things have improved following a series of mediation and consensus building among residents.

They have adopted their own ground rules and determination to solve matters internally and to call the enforcement agency only as a last resort.

It has worked well, and the neighbourhood is more peaceful and cordial now.

Back to the garden party: As it was raining heavily from 5.30pm, most residents and cars had already left by then. I hope this letter puts things in the right perspective.

Woh, a shortie MP riding the horse of moral and ethics high ground. Just why are our self-proclaimed servants lecturing us?

Yolanda Chin Tsu-Li, sounds like another pesky foreigner.

Everything that inconvenience her a little she must exact full extend of the law. What if during Christmas or CNY, the landed property estates will see many visitors who will be forced to park on the road. How? Call in CISCO and fine everyone? What if she holds a party at her own home, and her visitors need to park on road side illegally? Should CISCO come over and tow all her friends' cars away?

Foreigners should learn to live with sporadic inconveniences, instead of complaining about everything.

Not happy? Pack up and fuck off.

Friday afternoon jam at all the mosque? Sunday morning jam at all the churches & twice a month jam at all the chinese temples? Only Chinese temples kena left right!

lianbeng says today is friday u know? go to nee soon camp there n see many illegal parkings around lunch time. :D

Bro lianbeng, friday afternoon, need to go prayer lah. Forgiven... forgiven. :p

They talking to their God you want to kar cheow? Better not. Peace. May all be blessed. :) ;)

Yolanda Chin Tsu-Li, sounds like another pesky foreigner.

Everything that inconvenience her a little she must exact full extend of the law. What if during Christmas or CNY, the landed property estates will see many visitors who will be forced to park on the road. How? Call in CISCO and fine everyone? What if she holds a party at her own home, and her visitors need to park on road side illegally? Should CISCO come over and tow all her friends' cars away?

Foreigners should learn to live with sporadic inconveniences, instead of complaining about everything.

Not happy? Pack up and fuck off.

Bro watchman8, I not sure if this is the same person. :eek:

You may want to call her and ask her. :p

http://www.rsis.edu.sg/about_rsis/research.html

Ms Yolanda Chin Tsu-Li
Research Fellow
Education: B.A. (NUS), M.Sc. (RSIS, NTU)
Email: [email protected]
Tel: 6513 7656
Research Interests: Role of education, history and politics in the construction of knowledge, identity and threat perceptions in multicultural societies.

Friday afternoon jam at all the mosque? Sunday morning jam at all the churches & twice a month jam at all the chinese temples? Only Chinese temples kena left right!

Bro Capano2121, chin chye lah. Racial harmony most important. Singaporeans take care of Singaporeans and have a cohesive Singapore most important. :)

Woh, a shortie MP riding the horse of moral and ethics high ground. Just why are our self-proclaimed servants lecturing us?

Bro Confuseous, what to do? 60% agree with them. Now the 40% kana lecturing. :o :(

Bro Jlokta, you very fast. Guess not need to ask what race. Ha Ha :p

I believe NUS lecturer are not tenured..so likely she will have to pack at the end of the contract...if she is only a reseacher, then it is not much of a problem...

It is the way the govt gets rid of pest...George Yeo is not a pest ..but a threat and similarily he is removed...( George..don"t be nice.. U are one most repected Foreign Minister... u are not voted out...u are engineered out..)

Wah Pengzz Sia,
Our Beloved MP Seah set alarm clock to wake up to reply at 4 45 AM

to show that he hard working leh, dunt pray pray

Gov talk cock. Always have have 2 different system. If wan to to black and white just fine all illegal parking in regardless>>temple/mosque/church/.............................

I believe NUS lecturer are not tenured..so likely she will have to pack at the end of the contract...if she is only a reseacher, then it is not much of a problem...

It is the way the govt gets rid of pest...George Yeo is not a pest ..but a threat and similarily he is removed...( George..don"t be nice.. U are one most repected Foreign Minister... u are not voted out...u are engineered out..)

Bro blissquek, alamak, how come you started talking about GY here? :confused: :*:

Most repected FM in whose eye? If he has a hand in selling Singaporeans out, then no respect from me. That is my underlying principle. He must serve in the best interest of the people he represented. Have you read about his India agreement in relation to the amount of Indian folks coming over to work in Singapore? Please do. Let me know if you can't find it. After reading, please think about how events have played out over time. Such agreement are very damaging to working Singaporeans who need to put dinner on the table for the family. No wonder the MSM needs to put a two pages "advertisement" that driving taxi could give you an income of $6,000 to $7,000. :o :(

Gov talk cock. Always have have 2 different system. If wan to to black and white just fine all illegal parking in regardless>>temple/mosque/church/.............................

Bro Cestbon, already there are 2 ways of interpreting and implementing the same set of law - i.e. for Singaporeans and those of foreigners. What else do we need? :o :( :mad:

Wah Pengzz Sia,
Our Beloved MP Seah set alarm clock to wake up to reply at 4 45 AM

to show that he hard working leh, dunt pray pray

He was so pissed off he could not sleep. Work so hard for community activity over the weekend, still kena scolded, damn buay song. His MP salary does not cover overtime ok!