• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Loyal Sinkie Doc Worries That PAP Leaders Overwork And Get Burnt Out! WP Jiak Liao Bee!

The recent changes in the Cabinet saw fourth-generation (4G) leaders promoted and given extra portfolios and responsibilities to prepare them for future roles in leadership (4G leaders to helm 10 of 16 ministries in major reshuffle; April 25).

These changes are welcomed by many, but as a doctor, I am concerned about the health risks that can arise if these ministers are not careful.

The memory of Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat's collapse during a Cabinet meeting, and Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's brief fainting spell during a National Day Rally is still vivid in the minds of many (Heng Swee Keat undergoes surgery after stroke, May 13, 2016; and PM Lee gets all-clear from docs, on one week's medical leave, Aug 23, 2016).

We know that leadership roles require the ability to work diligently for long hours and the resilience to handle pressure from various fronts.

Do we need to add to all these by topping up our leaders' responsibilities?

A recent study in the Singapore Medical Journal revealed that residents in Singapore had lower empathy and higher rates of burn-out compared with their American counterparts.

The factors behind this are thought to be long hours in a high-pressure environment, a high-expectation culture, determination and dedication to meet the demands.

These can lead individuals into an unhealthy relationship with work that spills over into family life and their personal health.

Long-term drowning in high levels of adrenaline and cortisol eventually makes you ill.

This also describes situation of our young lawyers as well as accountants, bankers and other professionals in high-pressure jobs.

Let us not forget the trickle-down effects too.

Those working under these ministers, permanent secretaries and those in supporting roles will invariably be inundated with similar stress and pressure.

The "no new recruitment" policy in many ministries and private companies means those who remain take on the responsibilities of those who leave, without extra manpower or even remuneration.

Surely, we do not want numerous burn-out scenarios all in the name of pursuing excellence and resilience.

Quek Koh Choon (Dr)

https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/4g-leaders-must-take-care-of-health

But they are remunerated handsomely for work (which I am certain they are aided by Perm Secs and high-ranking civil servants).

High salaries don't prevent burnout. If anything they can make matters worse.

KNN what this doctor talking. If the 2 clown is not ministers they might not have survived KNN. How he know they overworked and collapse and not due to tam chia ter nao KNN

High salaries don't prevent burnout. If anything they can make matters worse.

Low salaries encourage corruption. The amount of money embezzled by the average ASEAN bureaucrat and politician makes a PAP politician's salary look dirt cheap by comparison.

But Malaysia for instance have excellent health care for citizens and affordable housing prices in the suburbs a sinkie can only dream! Maybe low pay and a bit of the corruption thing is not so bad after all? :confused:

If mudland healthcare so good, then explain why so many jiuhukias are abandoning all that to live, work and raise families in Singapore?

If sinkland healthcare good, they still go back for generics medicine screening dental for what?

Work and school here is unnecessary to stay here. Quite common to rent out hdb unit and commute in from jb. Future easier with high speed rail too! No need to abandon a good thing for a bad one. That would be silly. :cool:

In private sectors if you are medically unfit you are asked to go. Both our leaders are medically unfit - why should they be staying ?

Since birth everything taken care off, go every where got driver. No idea what is traffic jam or Money Not Enough. Say yes no one dare say no. Say stand no one dare to sit. Say jump everyone ask how high. Shit also got people help wipe backside.
Does this type of cheebye look over work and burnt out to you? You think they are the ones doing the real work?

IMG_8285.JPG

Lol! What is this guy saying? Its Singapore lah

Land of the burned out and still burning!

The recent changes in the Cabinet saw fourth-generation (4G) leaders promoted and given extra portfolios and responsibilities to prepare them for future roles in leadership (4G leaders to helm 10 of 16 ministries in major reshuffle; April 25).

These changes are welcomed by many, but as a doctor, I am concerned about the health risks that can arise if these ministers are not careful.

The memory of Finance Minister Heng Swee Keat's collapse during a Cabinet meeting, and Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's brief fainting spell during a National Day Rally is still vivid in the minds of many (Heng Swee Keat undergoes surgery after stroke, May 13, 2016; and PM Lee gets all-clear from docs, on one week's medical leave, Aug 23, 2016).

We know that leadership roles require the ability to work diligently for long hours and the resilience to handle pressure from various fronts.

Do we need to add to all these by topping up our leaders' responsibilities?

A recent study in the Singapore Medical Journal revealed that residents in Singapore had lower empathy and higher rates of burn-out compared with their American counterparts.

The factors behind this are thought to be long hours in a high-pressure environment, a high-expectation culture, determination and dedication to meet the demands.

These can lead individuals into an unhealthy relationship with work that spills over into family life and their personal health.

Long-term drowning in high levels of adrenaline and cortisol eventually makes you ill.

This also describes situation of our young lawyers as well as accountants, bankers and other professionals in high-pressure jobs.

Let us not forget the trickle-down effects too.

Those working under these ministers, permanent secretaries and those in supporting roles will invariably be inundated with similar stress and pressure.

The "no new recruitment" policy in many ministries and private companies means those who remain take on the responsibilities of those who leave, without extra manpower or even remuneration.

Surely, we do not want numerous burn-out scenarios all in the name of pursuing excellence and resilience.

Quek Koh Choon (Dr)

https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/4g-leaders-must-take-care-of-health
If a Singkie minitoot can suffer depression in one of the cushiest high paying job in the solar system..he or she deserves to be culled..

The pap ministers are obviously out of their depth. They know they have accepted positions which they are unfit for, but the money is just too good. When one's capability is matched to a job, there will still be some stress. But not to the extreme of being seriously ill and hospitalised. In short, we have a bunch of incompetent monkeys running the country, which we are all aware of.

Anything not made of gold, cannot stand the test of time. The Doctor wanted a role in the Govt ministries to write something like this. Don't be surprised to see him being invited for tea before the next GE.

The pap ministers are obviously out of their depth. They know they have accepted positions which they are unfit for, but the money is just too good. When one's capability is matched to a job, there will still be some stress. But not to the extreme of being seriously ill and hospitalised. In short, we have a bunch of incompetent monkeys running the country, which we are all aware of.

I still believed they have plenty of time for adultery. It is registered in the book of Singapore political scene.

Anything not made of gold, cannot stand the test of time. The Doctor wanted a role in the Govt ministries to write something like this. Don't be surprised to see him being invited for tea before the next GE.
as I said KPK clone except not arsehole specialist