• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Low-wage workers here 'underpaid by 100%': Lim Chong Yah

SINGAPORE - Addressing concerns brought up by Government leaders in recent days over his wage reform proposal - including the implications of productivity growth being outpaced by wage increases - former National Wages Council chairman Lim Chong Yah clarified his position yesterday: His proposal is premised on low-wage workers in Singapore being "underpaid by much more than 100 per cent of their pay when compared with their counterparts in countries with comparable national affluence like Hong Kong, Japan or Australia".

The "gross underpayment", said Professor Lim in a letter to the media, is "consequent on the unlimited influx of cheap foreign labour to Singapore".

He added that his assumption that such workers are paid 100 per cent less than their productivity contribution is "an underestimation" - even if their pay increases 50 per cent over three years, they would still be paid 50 per cent at the end of the restructuring, he said.

At a public lecture last week, Prof Lim had proposed that those earning below S$1,500 a month have their pay increased by 50 per cent over three years, while wages of those earning S$15,000 or more should be frozen.

His proposal drew responses from labour chief Lim Swee Say and Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew, among others.

Prof Lim reiterated yesterday that low-wage workers should be paid "according to their productivity contribution", or "at least a larger portion of their real productivity contribution".

He also questioned Singapore's traditional fiscal solution to low-wage workers, which included Government subsidies, transfers and hand-outs.

Such an approach would entail higher taxes - thus eroding competitiveness as companies and professionals seek to settle elsewhere - and more worryingly, the development of a "dependency syndrome" among the low-income group on the Government for their well-being, he said.

Hence, an integral part of his proposal is the training and re-training of Singapore workers to enhance their occupational mobility, said Prof Lim.

- http://www.todayonline.com/Singapor...ow-wage-workers-here-underpaid--Lim-Chong-Yah

nah beh....Mr Lim, mai talk on the side lines leh...how come PE 2011 you neber come out and stand?

I'll have voted for you !

come 2016, don't siam ok? Go join WP or sumthing.

Don't just tok cock. Action!

LCY is the father-in-law of Lee Hsien Yang. Not surprised if LHL and father scripted this during Qing Ming sweep tomb family lunch to have some drama and test water. Provided the Lee family still bother themselves with such traditions.

The FUCK with all these pappies wayang. Sinking land is really Sinking!

How LOW is LOW and How HIGH is HIGH?
And what do you do with those earning between SGD 1.5K and SGD 15K which is the majority?
So low-wage worker who used to earn SGD 1.4K doubled his salary to SGD2.8K and is a happy man, what about those earning SGD 1.6K?? Suddenly, your ka kia salary become higher than yours within 3 years.

1. hahaha!
2. dog bites dog bone.
3. just wait & watch the saga continues...

LCY is the father-in-law of Lee Hsien Yang. Not surprised if LHL and father scripted this during Qing Ming sweep tomb family lunch to have some drama and test water. Provided the Lee family still bother themselves with such traditions.

No need go bukit brown for lhl lah! He can stay at home & sweep the living tomb!

LCY is very vague in his statements. On what basis did he claim 100% underpaid?
He didn't produce any figures or reason to back it up at all.

LCY is very vague in his statements. On what basis did he claim 100% underpaid?
He didn't produce any figures or reason to back it up at all.

Really? How is he vague? How can you understand figures and reasons if you do not take your medicine? Do you not know his basis? Why are you so frustrated?