• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

lousy singapore A level students can only memorize

†††††

So sporeans students have been memorizing answer is it? when tested on understanding they complained

A-level chemistry exam causes a stir
Students and teachers lament 'unusually hard' question, similar to one found on British website
By Liew Hanqing

SOME teachers and students were stumped by a question in the recent A-level chemistry exam, which they said was unusually difficult.

What is more, they later found that it was similar to a question on a British academic website.

The question, which was in Paper 2 of the H2 chemistry exam, accounted for 22 of the paper's 72 marks - or just less than a third.

The questions for the A-level exams are set by the Ministry of Education and Cambridge University.

Chemistry teachers, speaking on condition of anonymity, said they had received feedback from their students that this year's paper was difficult and the questions 'out of the ordinary'.

They added that a link to a website run by British chemistry teacher Rod Beavon later began circulating among students and teachers.

The multiple-part question - with answers - on the website was almost identical to the one the students faced.

However, the Singapore Examinations and Assessment Board (SEAB) said that the exam question was not the same as that on the website.

It was designed to test the understanding of concepts behind a chemical process, the synthesis of organic compounds, the board said.

'It is not uncommon to find similar preparation processes described in different sources, as the methodology...follows very standard procedures,' a spokesman said.

This is the second instance in as many months of an exam question seeming familiar to teachers and students.

In October, the English cloze passage in the Primary School Leaving Examination was based on an article from The Straits Times.

Pupils in at least three primary schools and one tuition centre had already gone through a similar passage in a pre-exam exercise.

The SEAB had, at that time, said the passage had been substantially re-written.

For this year's A-level chemistry exam, one teacher said the question, on distillation, was unexpected because past exams seldom touched on the topic.

'It's not a topic we spent a lot of time on in class, so many students were not familiar with it,' she said.

Another teacher said that while he thought it was acceptable to examine students on obscure topics, questions based on third-party resources should be modified.

'Those who come up with the questions should at least have some originality.

'Even if they use a reference for a question, the material shouldn't be exactly the same,' he said.

Students who took the exam echoed these sentiments.

Most of those The Straits Times contacted said they had seen the website from which the exam question appeared to have been taken.

The link to the website had been circulated after the exam on Facebook and Twitter.

Student Lo Aimei, 18, said: 'I've not come across an exam question like that before. It was very long and confusing.'

Not all candidates, however, were stumped by the question.

Students at National Junior College (NJC) were given a study booklet before the A-level exams that contained a question similar to what was set.

Teachers had also dedicated a lecture to the material in the booklet.

Ms Sheena Tan, 18, a former NJC student who took this year's A levels, said she was relieved to have had a chance to review material similar to what she was eventually examined on.

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
u know how computer brain works?
garbage in garbage out lor.
from memory to display no need logic one.

aiyah...the study model never change...last time like that now also like that...do 10-yr series...10-yr series like bible...worship everyday...

Scarely come out not in 10-yr series all peng-san...:cool:

wahlaneh

aiyah...the study model never change...last time like that now also like that...do 10-yr series...10-yr series like bible...worship everyday...

Scarely come out not in 10-yr series all peng-san...:cool:

wahlaneh...
last time police wearing shorts now wearing longs liao still 10 years ago story meh?:confused:

HellAngel

Ha...if sinkie students can do logical thinking, do you think our country would be in its current state?

Received_by_Kings

Another teacher said that while he thought it was acceptable to examine students on obscure topics, questions based on third-party resources should be modified.

'Those who come up with the questions should at least have some originality.

'Even if they use a reference for a question, the material shouldn't be exactly the same,' he said.

Most rubbish argument ever.

When students do well all these years thanks to these third-party sources, nobody says a thing. Now just one question pops up of a slightly different nature that only God could guessed where those useless teachers and students were both stumped, and these solution providers suddenly get all the blame.

This is not fair.

You nonsensical dumps should realize that you can't answer the question because you are too reliant on others, you are ill-prepared and you are no good.

War Criminal

PSLE, o level, a level only tests how much effort u put in to practice and memorise all the possible questions which will come out.

there is no time to think about answers, its either you have practiced the question beforehand or not, if yes, can regurgitate all out, if not you are stumped = you are fucked.

this means more emphasis is placed on the cerebellum, and not the frontal cortex or the rest of the brain itself.

true geniuses are those who dont need to practice TYS and can solve the questions on the spot during the exam

Balls2U

Ha...if sinkie students can do logical thinking, do you think our country would be in its current state?

400000000000000184897_s4.jpg

Received_by_Kings

So sporeans students have been memorizing answer is it? when tested on understanding they complained

It was designed to test the understanding of concepts behind a chemical process, the synthesis of organic compounds, the board said.

'It is not uncommon to find similar preparation processes described in different sources, as the methodology...follows very standard procedures,' a spokesman said.

Our Asian A-level students have always barely survived by being regurgitation specialists, and easily getting straight As because of this. This defeats the basic purpose of education where exams are created to test how well you know what you are being taught, how good you are in your learning.

Probably Cambridge has been rather lax too in allowing the same-old to happen all these years, and there was talk recently of coming up with Super A-levels to counteract this competitive threat in the global money market.

But now it seems that from this year's paper they have actually managed to find a solution to their own problem - just a slight tweak in the questions is good enough to correct the imbalance that stood for so long and send teachers and students crying and screaming major butthurt as a consequence.

Because today's generation is smarter the archaic style of questioning therefore has to be radically changed in terms of difficulty in order to address the ongoing disparity of the students' capacities to answer, and in concise depth.

We are glad that everyone has finally woken up.

Received_by_Kings

PSLE, o level, a level only tests how much effort u put in to practice and memorise all the possible questions which will come out.

That is the wrong approach to examinations.

there is no time to think about answers, its either you have practiced the question beforehand or not, if yes, can regurgitate all out, if not you are stumped = you are fucked.

You say this because your capacity is limited and you are not dedicated enough.

true geniuses are those who dont need to practice TYS and can solve the questions on the spot during the exam

Fair enough. Future useful pawns or not they possess true understanding.

1. aiyoh!
2. making a huge mountain out of an ant hill.
3. simply, just one question and big deal!
4. sheep are always sheep, young or old.

I don't know why people always want complete fairness, a level playing field and judgements based totally on merit. These things simply don't exist in this world. Whenever there is competition, one should always take advantage of his strengths, overcome his weaknesses and do anything possible to increase his chances of a more favourable outcome. A clear example would be the NJC students being given a handbook with a similar question. This shows the advantage of being in a better JC. Fair? Of course not, what's wrong with that? In any competition, I want to be as unfair as possible to any opponents. Why give them a chance? If these idiots don't learn their lesson now, they will go through life doing everything right within the system and then wonder why some people have an edge over them when everyone seems to be doing the same thing and getting the same results.

War Criminal

I don't know why people always want complete fairness, a level playing field and judgements based totally on merit. These things simply don't exist in this world. Whenever there is competition, one should always take advantage of his strengths, overcome his weaknesses and do anything possible to increase his chances of a more favourable outcome. A clear example would be the NJC students being given a handbook with a similar question. This shows the advantage of being in a better JC. Fair? Of course not, what's wrong with that? In any competition, I want to be as unfair as possible to any opponents. Why give them a chance? If these idiots don't learn their lesson now, they will go through life doing everything right within the system and then wonder why some people have an edge over them when everyone seems to be doing the same thing and getting the same results.

exactly. you are reinforcing the argument for the title of this thread.

memory and practice. less emphasis on thinking involved. the exams these days dont give you time to think. because if you do, precious time is wasted away.

@received by kings: why would anybody want to be dedicated to memorizing and practicing exam questions?