He is trying to get out of Parliament. Let us help him.
i dont know whether it is better for him to quit or contest the next GE
He is trying to get out of Parliament. Let us help him.
"In an after-dinner speech to U.S. businessmen, Lee Hsien Loong made a couple of jokes that could pass for stand-up comedy.
He drew laughs — and some groans — with his quips, including about China’s environmental problems.
“Beijing residents joke that to get a free smoke all they have to do is open their windows!” Lee said.
He then alluded to thousands of pig carcasses recently fished from Chinese rivers.
“(In) Shanghai, if you want some pork soup, you just turn on the tap,” he said.
His audience appeared doubtful if that was good taste, until he added: “That’s their joke, not mine!” --AP"
Lhl the chow aqua is behaving like his old man....talking rubbish that he thinks the world bothers about his 'expert' ANALysis.
Go read post#1 last paragraph. Offending Taiwan was not my words. they were from the news report. Do you think Taiwan was offended?
I sure think so as they cancelled their leaders' visits to SG.
Making a stance can be done without being offensive without losing its effects. It can be done diplomatically. that differentiates a statesman from an ordinary citizen
he was chosen by his father to be PM. That's why he doesnt command the respect of Singaporeans. and with so many boo-boos...
good analysis..i share your views..that's why i started these two threads to show how inadequate and a poor statesman LHL is. he is an embarassment to SG. he lacks the political clout and ingenuity
Just because the native makes jokes of themselves that does not mean you can joke the way they do.
The Indian can call each other, "ah neh" and "mama" but if we say it, they will feel offended. Pinky got no EQ leh.
He thinks Singapore is a big nation, and copied like Obama...
it was offensive and the miniter of foreign affairs of taiwan hits back by uttering the "peesai" remarks. considering that taiwan helped us in the past, it was most unfilial to offend your old friends.
The story I heard is LKY realized his son is a buay kan (Hokkien for cannot fuck). But his gecko wife wants to see her son become PM before she dies. The rest is now history.
If he wants to joke about all these Countries he should invite Kumar dress as a woman
tell jokes everyone will be amused!
Exactly..LHL must not copy jokes indiscriminately and tries to be free from blame..if LHL repeats a bad joke, he is equally culpable.
he cant get away by saying that he was just quoting it from the PRCs
in the end who appraises the performance of our ministers and PM
do they get their bonuses and increments no matter what their performance, and what booboo they did
shouldnt they be subjected to performance appraisal like all glc or temasek companies staff
i remember Lo Hwei Yen's murder
"Another diplomatic gaffe came last December during a visit to Germany. Accorded military honours by Chancellor Angela Merkel, he forgot international protocol and instead of bowing to the German flag, walked past - leaving his host behind bent in a bow."
He should tell his "mee siam" mai hum joke! would not offend anybody, but the "hum".."hum kar ling", Hum kar chan" "Hum ____ ( censored)".. ha ha ha ha
in the end who appraises the performance of our ministers and PM
do they get their bonuses and increments no matter what their performance, and what booboo they did
shouldnt they be subjected to performance appraisal like all glc or temasek companies staff