• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Let's Pray for Early Death of Old Fart & Son

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Oct 14, 2008
DEFAMATION SUIT AGAINST SDP AND ITS LEADERS
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>PM, MM get $950k damages
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Amount determined in part by 'egregious' conduct of the Chees </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Zakir Hussain
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->THE High Court has awarded Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong $500,000 and Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew $450,000 in damages against the Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) and its leaders for defamation.
But nine of them had earlier settled with the Lees, apologising and paying each of them $170,000 altogether for the defamatory articles published in 2006 in the party newsletter, The New Democrat.
However, SDP chief Chee Soon Juan and his sister Chee Siok Chin, a member of the party's central executive committee, contested the suit.
They lost.
Yesterday, Justice Belinda Ang ordered the SDP and the Chees to pay PM Lee $330,000 and MM Lee $280,000.
The damages were aggravated by the 'egregious' conduct of the Chees, in particular during a three-day hearing to assess the amount at the end of May, Justice Ang wrote in a 157-page judgment.
The defamatory articles, published in the weeks leading up to the May 2006 General Election, had discussed the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) scandal and drew parallels between how the charity and the Government were run.
The Lees sued over its allegations that they were corrupt and had covered up wrongdoings at the NKF.
Justice Ang said that there was no doubt that the claims 'were the gravest imaginable'.
She detailed how the Chees, through their conduct before and during the hearing, had aggravated the injury to the Lees. They had persisted, without any foundation, in asserting that their libel was true when it was no longer open to them to prove the truth of or defend the claims.
Before the damages hearing, the Lees' lawyers, led by Senior Counsel Davinder Singh of Drew and Napier, had successfully applied to strike out affidavits, or sworn statements, by the Chees and former solicitor-general and opposition politician Francis Seow.
Justice Ang noted in her judgment that the affidavits were, among other things, irrelevant.
She also said that, during the damages hearing, the Chees had gone about cross-examining PM Lee and MM Lee in an 'insulting and annoying' manner, including over matters that had been struck out.
The Chees' motives were clear: they aimed to bring into view their political grievances at a highly publicised hearing, she added.Their objective was to use the hearing 'as a platform to indict a political regime; discredit, insult, humiliate and embarrass the Lees and denigrate the judiciary'.
During their cross-examination of PM Lee and MM Lee, the Chees had raised a range of matters including freedom of speech, Singapore's electoral system, detention under the Internal Security Act, nepotism, HDB flat prices and the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation.
Justice Ang noted that these issues were outside the scope of the libel as well as the issue of damages.
At no point did the Chees elicit any facts to challenge or undermine the Lees' case for substantial damages, she said.
Justice Ang said in assessing the damages that she had also taken into account the standing of the Lees and the malice displayed towards them by the Chees.
That the Chees did not refute four SDP committee members' assertion that the libellous articles were published without their knowledge 'pointed to the strong desire' of the Chees to wound the Lees' political reputation, she added.
The Chees had also tried to drag out court proceedings by, among other things, filing a 'baseless' application to challenge the constitutionality of the Lees' application for summary judgment in 2006, and by walking out of court at that hearing.
Justice Ang also addressed SDP lawyer M Ravi's proposal of nominal damages of 50 cents, as he contended that the Lees' reputations remained good despite the libel.
This argument, said Justice Ang, had been made before and found to be false.
She noted, however, she did not overlook Justice L.P. Thean's caution in an earlier case that damages awarded for defamation must not be exorbitant.
'At the same time, I am mindful that the damages in the present case must be set at a level that is commensurate with and proportionate to the gravity of the libel and the egregious behaviour of Chee Soon Juan and Chee Siok Chin,' she said.
'One must not be left with the impression that libel is 'cheap' based on the level of award ordered.'
The Chee siblings are bankrupt. If the SDP is unable to pay, the 28-year-old party faces the prospect of being wound up, a fate it noted on its website yesterday.
They have one month to appeal the award of damages. [email protected]

myjohnson

Pray tell me who should pay for the damage to SINGAPORE's reputation in the eyes of the international community as a result of these legal battles. Are Singaporeons proud of it and are celebrating it as justice deservedly meted out?

ST_IMAGES_SHRALLY17.jpg

The costs are already charged to your account. I always maintain a balanced budget. *hee*hee*

VIBGYOR

Let's Pray for Early Death of Old Fart & Son

cannot lah! there's a dilemma here...

if you pray for their death, then your religion is devil religion....other holy religions won't pray for his death.

but SATAN is keeping Ofart alive....

so you are disobeying SATAN's instructions....

scully you kena then you know...lol...

DIVISION1

Their demise may give you instant gratification for the mental anguish you feel that has been inflicted against you, but an abyss of emptiness will follow soon after after they are gone and the problems afflicting Singapore would still require address.

Neh_Neh_Pok

I think they should not die so fast, should let them taste their own medicines being sued back by someone next time

Neh_Neh_Pok

Their demise may give you instant gratification for the mental anguish you feel that has been inflicted against you, but an abyss of emptiness will follow soon after after they are gone and the problems afflicting Singapore would still require address.

They're not indispensable, there'll be sure someone out there who will be as capable as them. The Lao one continues to hang on to his role to make pple think as if w/o him the whole sinky will die

DIVISION1

The fact that LKY has raised concerns that he may not make it pass 94 and that he will work as long as he is capable of doing so, is an admission of mortality. Everyone is dispensable, over the function of time. The arrow of time is a one way ticket, entropy prevails.

snrcitizen

The fact that LKY has raised concerns that he may not make it pass 94 and that he will work as long as he is capable of doing so, is an admission of mortality. Everyone is dispensable, over the function of time. The arrow of time is a one way ticket, entropy prevails.

Huh! Still full of crap talk but incapable of answering my question.

Can you explain to us now what you understand from Lim Swee Suay's speech, or are you just full of shit talk when you alleged that we dumb fools misunderstood him?

Neh_Neh_Pok

No one in the Pees dare to ask him to quit cos they scared they might get sued mah :biggrin:

kuntakinte

Sorry, I can't do that. I pray for LKY's longevity !!!

I pray that he outlives his wife, sons, daughter, daughter-in-laws, grandsons, granddaughters, grandson in laws, and grand daughter in laws.

OOoppss.... I am cursing his offsprings and his offsprings' offsprings...

Sorry.......

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Oct 14, 2008
DEFAMATION SUIT AGAINST SDP AND ITS LEADERS
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>PM, MM get $950k damages
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>Amount determined in part by 'egregious' conduct of the Chees </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Zakir Hussain
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

They're not indispensable, there'll be sure someone out there who will be as capable as them. The Lao one continues to hang on to his role to make pple think as if w/o him the whole sinky will die

Singapore will be much better city without him. History don't lie.
MaoTse Tung - China
Emp Hirohito - Japan
Hilter - Germany
Sukarno= Indonesia
Idi amin= Uganda
Saddam - Iraq

DIVISION1

It is better to delete Emperor Hirohito from the list for forwarding this argument. He was basically a pawn of the Imperial Army, as documented history suggests.

The_Latest_H

The point where LKY is leaving or not is a decision left up to the One above.

Still I believe the loss of LKY should not be a cause for alarm. Its the natural state of things that we are mortals and we will all leave this world someday. And as long as the younger generation is given a chance to rise up, and take that challenge, and to run for office, we can be sure Singapore will do better than now and do better in a brighter future than this.

TeeKee

The point where LKY is leaving or not is a decision left up to the One above.

Still I believe the loss of LKY should not be a cause for alarm. Its the natural state of things that we are mortals and we will all leave this world someday. And as long as the younger generation is given a chance to rise up, and take that challenge, and to run for office, we can be sure Singapore will do better than now and do better in a brighter future than this.

surely the whole of singapore is not built by lky alone? :biggrin:

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/cFIGOz1kRTM&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/cFIGOz1kRTM&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

The_Latest_H

surely the whole of singapore is not built by lky alone? :biggrin:

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/cFIGOz1kRTM&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/cFIGOz1kRTM&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Well, the leader only sets the tone for the time he was PM. But the effort was done by ordinary people. So ordinary people, by right, should get more of the credit.

Its similar to the phrase "Greatest Generation" that refers to those ordinary soldiers, both junior officers and men, and of ordinary women(who went to work in the war factories), who helped win WWII. Sure the political and military leaders did do their part, but it was the ordinary people who suffered the most and fought the most.

It's the same thing here: Singapore's rapid development was not due to LKY alone. He's no superman. Without our own greatest generation, Singapore wouldn't be as developed as it would have been.

myjohnson

It is better to delete Emperor Hirohito from the list for forwarding this argument. He was basically a pawn of the Imperial Army, as documented history suggests.

You drew that conclusion from what? a single document? I would have expected you to do better than that and I'm not talking about just googling it.

why do you pray sinkie lord to die. I hope they will have long life. I really enjoy the way they screw those worthless sinkie upside down. They are an expert in these. The tax payers money is well-spent.