• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Let's just stop all these high risk activities for primary kids

OBS course also can be dangerous for kids if unlucky ;) let's face the facts , you can't experience nature in Singapore ;) how can you compare bukit timah hill with mt Kinabalu ? It's like comparing a longkang with real river ;) comparing a pond with a lake ;) comparing sentosa beach with Bali beach ;)

You joker want to compare this and that?
Might as well volunteer to send your own school kids to climb Mt Kinabalu and get a tour to some of the volcano mountain in indonesia?
Better still when they are due for NS, you volunteer and send them to the Middle East war zone countries and station there for their duration to gain real life experience?

You as a parent really want to go to that extent for the sake of real life experience?

You joker want to compare this and that?
Might as well volunteer to send your own school kids to climb Mt Kinabalu and get a tour to some of the volcano mountain in indonesia?
Better still when they are due for NS, you volunteer and send them to the Middle East war zone countries and station there for their duration to gain real life experience?

You as a parent really want to go to that extent for the sake of real life experience?

I wouldnt want to send my Kids to a war zone it's not as fun as mountain walking . I want my kids to enjoy themselves without having to worry so much unseen forces . If my kids want sky diving or bungee jumping off a cliff by all means they have my support . If it's makes them happy it's make me happy . What's the most important things in life ? It's being yourself and being happy .

OBS course also can be dangerous for kids if unlucky ;) let's face the facts , you can't experience nature in Singapore ;) how can you compare bukit timah hill with mt Kinabalu ? It's like comparing a longkang with real river ;) comparing a pond with a lake ;) comparing sentosa beach with Bali beach ;)

Get your facts right. Don't sprout nonsense here. Bukit Timah IS nature, in every sense of the word.

Once you step out of the house, anywhere can be high risk if a natural disaster is fated to happen.

You can be swept away in a tsunami even when you are relaxing on a beach at Phuket during the 2004 quake at the ocean bed near Sumatra.

Once you step out of the house, anywhere can be high risk if a natural disaster is fated to happen.

You can be swept away in a tsunami even when you are relaxing on a beach at Phuket during the 2004 quake at the ocean bed near Sumatra.

You can do whatever you want. If you're a hardcore parent and wants your kids to wrestle crocodiles, that's your judgement.

But don't make it a school activity. I have no doubt MOE is under a lot of pressure now... look at Heng Swee Keat's grief face... or morning shitting face? :D

You can do whatever you want. If you're a hardcore parent and wants your kids to wrestle crocodiles, that's your judgement.

But don't make it a school activity. I have no doubt MOE is under a lot of pressure now... look at Heng Swee Keat's grief face... or morning shitting face? :D

What 's next ? Don't need NS ? coz it is too risky for our 18 yrs old boys.

Get your facts right. Don't sprout nonsense here. Bukit Timah IS nature, in every sense of the word.

Very nature steps indeed ;)
image.jpg

People should be given choices . Don't just banned those adventure school activity because of some accidents . Let parents choose if they want the kids to take part in those adventure outing ... It's always good to have choices in life .

I had dinner with some teacher friends this evening. What they shared was quite interesting.

Most schools have KPIs to meet. Many of these include organizing such trips. The trips are organized by the teachers, and these play a huge part in their annual work reviews. When this whole enrichment trip process starts, it begins with mild stuff such as trips to the zoo or science centre. It then escalates to nature hikes to MacRitchie Reservoir, Bukit Timah Hill and Pulau Ubin. After this stage, the school will start to plan for overseas trips such as climbing Kota Kinabalu or some charity work to a shithole ASEAN country.

Each school wants to differentiate itself from other schools. It helps to make the school shine, attract better quality of students and most importantly, aids the school staff in their career advancement.

So I guess such dangerous trips are here to stay. But of course, the schools will have to mask it with some self-righteous statements to avoid looking like douchebags who are doing it for promotion.

I had dinner with some teacher friends this evening. What they shared was quite interesting.

Most schools have KPIs to meet. Many of these include organizing such trips. The trips are organized by the teachers, and these play a huge part in their annual work reviews. When this whole enrichment trip process starts, it begins with mild stuff such as trips to the zoo or science centre. It then escalates to nature hikes to MacRitchie Reservoir, Bukit Timah Hill and Pulau Ubin. After this stage, the school will start to plan for overseas trips such as climbing Kota Kinabalu or some charity work to a shithole ASEAN area.

Each school wants to differentiate itself from other schools. It helps to make the school shine, attract better quality of students and most importantly, aids the school staff in their career advancement.

So I guess such dangerous trips are here to stay. But of course, the schools will have to mask it with some self-righteous statements to avoid looking like douchebags who are doing it for promotion.

Who cares if the school have hidden agenda for organizing overseas trips ? Most important is those kids can enjoy the outing . I remember when I was young , every school excursions makes me happy .

Most schools have KPIs to meet. Many of these include organizing such trips. The trips are organized by the teachers, and these play a huge part in their annual work reviews. When this whole enrichment trip process starts, it begins with mild stuff such as trips to the zoo or science centre. It then escalates to nature hikes to MacRitchie Reservoir, Bukit Timah Hill and Pulau Ubin. After this stage, the school will start to plan for overseas trips such as climbing Kota Kinabalu or some charity work to a shithole ASEAN country.

i thought in the end the only thing that attracts sinkie parents and students to the school is how high is the score cutoff point and its ranking and how prestigious it is?

Who cares if the school have hidden agenda for organizing overseas trips ? Most important is those kids can enjoy the outing . I remember when I was young , every school excursions makes me happy .

Of course the kids will enjoy the outing. The point is that the trips becomes increasingly risky because of KPIs and promotion critierias to be met, not because of the publicly announced intentions of wanting to educate the kids. Even as a master of office politics in my own office, I was mildly surprised at the human politics factor behind all these school trips.

So, don't blame the schools for exposing your kids to danger.

Of course the kids will enjoy the outing. The point is that the trips becomes increasingly risky because of KPIs and promotion critierias to be met, not because of the publicly announced intentions of wanting to educate the kids. Even as a master of office politics in my own office, I was mildly surprised at the human politics factor behind all these school trips.

So, don't blame the schools for exposing your kids to danger.

How can it comsider risky school trips when the percentage of road accident are higher then school trips accidents ? ;)

All these happening are punishment for bringing in too much FT.More n more weird things will happen.
One by one.

There is no such thing as choice in our education and school system.
The school, the teachers, the students and the parents, are always pressured into something.

Every time when some thing tragic happened people are fast to point fingers!!

And the asked gahmen to BAN them!! This recent tragedy was unpredictable
and its act of GOD! nobody can predict this to happened!! Or we should Blamed those 5 bastards
who stripped naked at the Sacred Mountain top that caused this earth quake??

Just like one cyclist knock down one metal rod at the bridge gahmen BAN cyclist on over head
from cycling across must pushed! Just because of One Stupid cyclist death, gahmen,
Now say you have to push across the over head bridge..

Ok Ok.. what happened when motor car accident happened, gahmen also should BAN people from
driving CARS because its very dangerous, Vehicular killers!

MOE should let the mountain climbing activities to continue but at Secondary school stage Not Primary 6!

If this is to Ban K.K. mountain climbing! Than Nepal should totally Ban Mountain climbing too, is their Gahmen
so Stupid or retarded I don't think so.....

No need to see his sh1tknowshat face. Just follow $8 cow advice n take full responsibility n b done with.

thanks to balItsballekiasi perspectives that our country do not have any olympic medallists and tour de champions and tennis superstars.even our military force comprises of platoons of maids carrying fieldpacks

In ang moh land,they have 12 year old girls scaling rock cliffs and vertical rock walls and performing triple backflips into lagoons.their youths play contact sports like rugby,football and hockey.200 pounds of mass slamming into each other at 20kmph with enough newtonian force to break ribs and crack skulls.

Like I said earlier; the RISK TAKING must be justified by the rewards it gives. In NZ, youngsters who have the natural gift and passion indulge in such 'adventure' sports do it OUTSIDE the school curricullum and usually develop into a PROFESSIONAL SPORTS PERSON.

A school's Physical Education curricullum provides merely the basics for sport, the student goes further into the sport on his/her own time and even expense for professional development eg Gymnastics, River Rafting, abseiling etc. There are private sports clubs and associations with true sports professionals as trainers in NZ that actually cater for such activities, NOT the SCHOOL! You reckon every school PE teacher is an expert in every sport; mountain climbing, river rafting etc?

Furthermore, in NZ there is the ACC (Accident Compensation Corporation) a govt dept that pays for medical treatment and care due to temporary or permanent injuries suffered in such sports. RUGBY spinal injuries etc where a paraplegic is cared for throughout his/her life and sickness benefits to cover living expenses. Is there such a scheme in SINGAPORE????

Not every school kid is built in the same way for such sports for it to be inculcated into an EN MASSE educational policy for a school activity where peer pressure can force the unwilling into a high risk sport.

The rationale for the risky activity is a LIFELONG-LOVE of the sport and not a means to an end of eg securing more ECA points, a better CV for jobs or to put the school into a higher ratings or KPI etc as is normally the case in SINGAPORE!

just google "school outing turns tragic", and you'll find pages of links. all these tragic events are preventable: just don't do any outing and lock up kids in prison. even that can be dangerous too without straitjackets. :p