• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Let's just stop all these high risk activities for primary kids

enterprise2

After all the recriminations, MOE and gahment still don't want to admit mistakes. Well, let them try to arrange the next mountain climb up Mount KK or any mountain for that matter and see how many parents will sign up! They should ban all these high risk activities till they r in at least Sec 2 and above. Things like mountain climbing, scuba diving. Bungee jumping. White water rafting... Etc. Just go for nature walks, excursions, school exchange programs.. Etc and nobody will get hurt.

A quote from some sinkie dude that is circulating around on facebook

You may ask, why do teachers do this then? If I may answer this question on their behalf, teachers do this because they want their students to learn lessons that can never be replicated in the classroom. Teachers do this over and over again because they see the learning happening right before their eyes. Students seem to develop, grow, mature overnight. That is the power of experiential learning. Many of life’s lessons can be well learnt over the duration of a short overseas trip. Social interaction, personal responsibility, leadership are but a few of the many life lessons that are more effectively learnt when experienced rather than taught. Believe me when I say this, but teachers who put themselves through these overseas trips care about your children more than they care about themselves. They put themselves out there so that your child learns more than just how to do well in pen-and-paper tests.

https://www.facebook.com/adrian.chng.1/posts/10153060403149965

the spirit of "rugged society" is no more here.

FTs are brought in to carry the school bags, etc.

Dozens of children are killed annually while commuting to or from school.

This dangerous activity should be eliminated. Every kid should be be home schooled.

See latest report. Even Sabah having a rethink!
PETALING JAYA, June 9 — Sabah is considering the possibility of only allowing children aged above 15 years to climb Mount Kinabalu in the wake of the death of six children in the June 5 earthquake that claimed 16 lives.

State education director Datuk Jame Alip said he had spoken about the matter to state Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Masidi Manjun, who is also the state executive councillor in charge of education.

“We will bring it up in our next meeting. For me, 15 years seems like a more reasonable age,” he said, adding that he was extremely saddened by the deaths.

Jame said he was surprised when he heard about the death of the students as he had not known about the school trip up the mountain.

“We were not told about it. The slopes are steep and dangerous. I would not encourage children below 15 to climb the mountain,” he added.

Recalling his own experience, he said he was 20 when he trekked up Mount Kinabalu and even then it was tough for him.

“I cannot imagine how it would be like for young students.”

Five of the students who died were from Singapore’s Tanjong Katong Primary School which had been sending teams up the mountain for years. The other student who died was from Japan.

The official Mount Kinabalu website states that climbers should be at least 10 years old.

Jame also urged the Education Ministry to introduce earthquake drills for students nationwide.

“Students are generally taught that in an emergency situation, they should drop everything and run down the fire escape. But that only applies during fires.

I am all for the children to have tough out door activities, which we cannot find here in Singapore, rather, than they get cooped up on this island playing games at home, on their devices & never see the world.

But, it is "game season" to bash the government of the day.....for reasons, we all already know!. I am pleased, that the overfed ministers etc..have to be on their toes now, to do some work, otherwise for the last 50 years, had been a cushy job, good pay, acting like an arrogant pompous B$#$^^.

God has made it clear...it is time they earn their keeps. We not only remember those unfortunate that died of a natural occurrence, the children & the adults who gave their lives, but also, to remember, years ago of children that, were never given the chance to be born, under our Stop At Two policy. :rolleyes:

What happened was a misadventure, an accident. Unplanned. Unexpected. If the kids were secondary aged, would they have survived? Not too long ago, a ferry carrying high school students in South Korea sunk in a river, killing the passengers aboard. Although the cause was human error, it nevertheless wasn't planned for as far as the students were concerned. Nobody wants these things to happen, but when they do, the outcome lies in our fate.

....................... Etc. Just go for nature walks, excursions, school exchange programs.. Etc and nobody will get hurt.

1. What important skills are there to be learnt from climbing a high mountain of >4000m that would be useful in working life?
2. Does NOT climbing the mountain severely handicap any student in later life? Is it akin to a SG male not being able to achieve MANHOOD if he doesn't serve 2 years of NS? Funny how all those FT males who NEVER serve NS and therefore CANNOT achieve MANHOOD are beating all the SG males to the PMET jobs so easily!

RISK taking must be justified by the rewards it gives from the undertaking.

nutting wrong wif having study trips ...

problems occur wen skools n teachers miss ze whole point of having such activities n can oni c 1-upmanship upon others n self-serving benefits ...

After all the recriminations, MOE and gahment still don't want to admit mistakes. Well, let them try to arrange the next mountain climb up Mount KK or any mountain for that matter and see how many parents will sign up! They should ban all these high risk activities till they r in at least Sec 2 and above. Things like mountain climbing, scuba diving. Bungee jumping. White water rafting... Etc. Just go for nature walks, excursions, school exchange programs.. Etc and nobody will get hurt.

Ask your kids to stay at home play computer games better ;) typical sinkies want to banned everything like what your own government have been doing for years ;)

Computers games on how to avoid falling rocks should be compulsory for all climbers!

1. What important skills are there to be learnt from climbing a high mountain of >4000m that would be useful in working life?
2. Does NOT climbing the mountain severely handicap any student in later life? Is it akin to a SG male not being able to achieve MANHOOD if he doesn't serve 2 years of NS? Funny how all those FT males who NEVER serve NS and therefore CANNOT achieve MANHOOD are beating all the SG males to the PMET jobs so easily!

RISK taking must be justified by the rewards it gives from the undertaking.

thanks to balItsballekiasi perspectives that our country do not have any olympic medallists and tour de champions and tennis superstars.even our military force comprises of platoons of maids carrying fieldpacks

In ang moh land,they have 12 year old girls scaling rock cliffs and vertical rock walls and performing triple backflips into lagoons.their youths play contact sports like rugby,football and hockey.200 pounds of mass slamming into each other at 20kmph with enough newtonian force to break ribs and crack skulls.

In fact a much simpler modified OBS course and also try walking up our Bukit Timah hill is good enough for all these secondary school kids.
No need to travel so far to have that sort of experience.

In fact a much simpler modified OBS course and also try walking up our Bukit Timah hill is good enough for all these secondary school kids.
No need to travel so far to have that sort of experience.

OBS course also can be dangerous for kids if unlucky ;) let's face the facts , you can't experience nature in Singapore ;) how can you compare bukit timah hill with mt Kinabalu ? It's like comparing a longkang with real river ;) comparing a pond with a lake ;) comparing sentosa beach with Bali beach ;)

Dozens of children are killed annually while commuting to or from school.

This dangerous activity should be eliminated. Every kid should be be home schooled.
\
HIGH risk activities are fully encouraged. I suggest a regular visit to area G. at least at the first visit, these kids can get their first shot at sex education hands on and no one will be held accountable for any cock up. and as a result of their bravery, their first pot of gold must be in real hard cash in a traditional angpow for good luck. at least they may need the cash in case of visit to communicable disease center.

arse the saying goes, why get farked by FT when you can fark one.

You may ask, why do teachers do this then? If I may answer this question on their behalf, teachers do this because they want their students to learn lessons that can never be replicated in the classroom.

Bollocks. The teachers do it for their career prospects in the MOE, some might be 'volunteered' into doing that, and they couldn't say no.

Most teachers quite frankly don't give a flying fuck how your brats fare in school. They just go through the motions for a paycheck, maybe counting down to that long service bonus. ;)

\
HIGH risk activities are fully encouraged. I suggest a regular visit to area G. at least at the first visit, these kids can get their first shot at sex education hands on and no one will be held accountable for any cock up. and as a result of their bravery, their first pot of gold must be in real hard cash in a traditional angpow for good luck. at least they may need the cash in case of visit to communicable disease center.

arse the saying goes, why get farked by FT when you can fark one.

Are there any ducks to serve the little girls?

please.... i am master YODA. fark they must me then experience they get most.