• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee insults Singaporeans - again

cheekenpie

LKY say we are all ignorant :(

Lee insults Singaporeans - again
Thursday, 15 July 2010
Singapore Democrats

First he likens us to animals, now he says we are ignorant. Mr Lee Kuan Yew told his audience that "Singaporeans are ignorant" at the Future China Global Forum Meeting held on Monday.

Readers will remember that earlier this year in an interview with National Geographic, the Minister Mentor said that Singaporeans needed spurs stuck into our hide to make us work harder.

This repeated pouring of contempt on Singaporeans has rubbed off on his followers. PAP MP Mr Charles Chong referred to Singaporeans as "lesser mortals" who were jealous of the rich. He made this comment when Singaporeans criticised permanent secretary Mr Tan Yong Soon for boasting about his extravagant holiday.

Ms Wee Shu Min, a young teenager and daughter of a PAP MP Wee Siew Kim, called a blogger a "wretched leech" when he lamented about the difficulty of finding a job in Singapore.

In the Global Forum meeting Mr Lee said: "The Taiwanese are ruthless, Hong Kongers are shameless and Singaporeans are ignorant. People who are ignorant are not corrupt and reliable."

And because he holds such a low opinion of Singaporeans, Mr Lee brings in foreigners by the millions to replace us. This is no exaggeration as the minister has said repeatedly that without these foreigners, our economy would collapse.

If Singaporeans are ignorant, who made us this way? After all, didn't we live under PAP for more that half-a-century? Is this is not a failure of Lee's rule, unable to produce an intelligent population after 50 years?

Who jailed the journalists and crushed all independent media so that Singaporeans only get to hear one voice - his?

Who instilled so much fear in society that even historians dare not let Mr Vincent Cheng speak at a library seminar?

Who groomed an entire generation of unimaginative ministers who know everything about banning information they don't agree with like Dr Lim Hock Siew's video and nothing about inspiring a people?

But Mr Lee chooses who he insults very carefully. If he was a Hong Konger or Taiwanese he would not be making such derogatory remarks about his own people because he knows he would have been severely disciplined. In fact, he was roundly chastised by the Malaysians when he said that Johor Baru was a city of muggers and had to issue an embarrassing apology. He has since chosen his words very carefully when he talks about our northern neighbours.

But he knows that where Singapore is concerned he has complete control of the media and therefore safe in the knowledge that public anger will not be reflected in the newspapers and television no matter how much he insults us.

That's how "smart" he is.

http://yoursdp.org/index.php/news/singapore/3912-lee-insults-singaporeans-again

Mr Lee said: "The Taiwanese are ruthless, Hong Kongers are shameless and Singaporeans are ignorant. People who are ignorant are not corrupt and reliable."
at the same time, he is indirectly pointing tw, hk ppl are corrupt and unreliable and he dun belong to sg.

In the Global Forum meeting Mr Lee said: "The Taiwanese are ruthless, Hong Kongers are shameless and Singaporeans are ignorant. People who are ignorant are not corrupt and reliable."

If Singaporeans who are ignorant are NOT corrupt and reliable.

So MM Lee, please make are choice. Are YOU IGNORANT or NOT?
If you are ignorant then why are you paid millions of $$$? If you are NOT IGNORANT then are you admitting that you are therefore corrupt and unreliable?

Only he can say this kind of thing to citizens and get away with it. Try the same in other countries can the minister will be asked to step down.

If you can keep screwing some people and they keep giving you the power to do so year after year after year, wouldn't you have nothing but the utmost contempt for them? :rolleyes:

Singaporeans especially the dastardy 66%never wake up and put us through this shame.

I seriously think a local political party should have better things to do then to nitpick on what LKY says. Seriously most voters dun care, it's a well known fact that Singaporeans only care about bread and butter issues, spend more time focusing on that instead of doing things no one cares about. Maybe, just maybe they can make some headway in the next elections.

What Great Leeder says in his increasingly numerous unguarded moments betray what he really thinks about the people who have put him in power - the same people you say would (indeed, you seem to imply should) not care.

Well, I do and we should, because I believe what Great and Dear Leeders think of us has translated into bread and butter issues. Because they think that we are not good enough to be taught they do the colonial thing and bring in foreigners en masse. Because they think we are meek and mild, they out cost of living (pay-by-distance; power rates!)

Seriously!

I seriously think a local political party should have better things to do then to nitpick on what LKY says. Seriously most voters dun care, it's a well known fact that Singaporeans only care about bread and butter issues, spend more time focusing on that instead of doing things no one cares about. Maybe, just maybe they can make some headway in the next elections.

I beg to differ. What leaders say is a reflection of their top of mind opinion. Often Freudian slips do truly show people's hidden opinion. As for LKY I don't his is even a Freudian slip. The clever man knows exactly what he is talking about.
Our bread and butter issues do certainly depend on his thinking.

Well of course everything your Great Leader says is irrefutable. Even when he calls you an idiot and your sister a maid. Right doggie?

Has the old mental fart has finally admitted that he is actually corrupted and unreliable?

I beg to differ. What leaders say is a reflection of their top of mind opinion. Often Freudian slips do truly show people's hidden opinion. As for LKY I don't his is even a Freudian slip. The clever man knows exactly what he is talking about.
Our bread and butter issues do certainly depend on his thinking.

My issue is not about whether the Old Man's statement is right or wrong. Like I said most pple don't care about such things and for one of the main opposition party to come out and nitpick on this just makes them look petty and silly. Let the political bloggers and online critics have their field days about this minor issues. The political parties themselves should only care about the issues which the voters care about and at the same time should only issue and publish statements and articles pertaining to this end. The main point I'm trying to put across here(which I should have done in the first post), Political parties should look at the big picture not nitpick on someone's choice of words

Just to elaborate on my point, we all love the Mee Siam mai hum jokes and songs that have came out from that incident. And we can never stop reminding ourselves of the fact that we are considered "lesser mortals" by the elites. The bloggers and pple in the forums have a blast making fun of all this. It's great fun and its a good reflection of how much the ruling party may have loss touch of reality. However, if for example, WP or SDA were to be the one who officially compose the Mai hum song and post it on their website, I think they would seriously have loss a lot of creditiblity with the Voters.

His may sound condescending but he is absolutely right and I guess the truth hurts.

Lesser mortals = chicken
As ignorant as a chicken.
Kanna slaughtered also dunno why.:D

It is NOT nitpicking anymore with regards to what LKY has stated. His arrogance knows no bounds and he is getting BOLDER and BOLDER from digging in the spurs to calling S'poreans IGNORANT.

The majority of S'poreans have already sold their souls to the DEVIL (LEE) in exchange for 'bread and butter' issues which is really food (economical rice) and lodging(99 yr leased flats) that they have become perpetual slaves to the PAP till their dying day.

Worse still, the debt is now transferred to the next generation as the prices of houses, Medical Care etc have sky rocketed and the next generation is compelled by the maintenance of parents legislation to top up their parent's CPF to meet all these escalating costs with so called cleverly disguised accounting gimmicks such as arbitary 'market' subsidies plucked from the air!

The case of the Kwong Wai Shu Hospital should already be an eye-opener to what awaits those HDB dwellers when their 99 yr lease on re-sale flats runs out.

Singaporeans should not adopt the BOCHAP attitude on issues that do not affect them and no one issue would affect everybody the same way. As long as an issue is an INJUSTICE to someone, every S'porean should close ranks against the injustice and tyranny of a big bully Govt-THE PAP!

Always remember what Niemöller wrote:"THEY CAME FIRST for the Communists,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Communist.

THEN THEY CAME for the trade unionists,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a trade unionist.

THEN THEY CAME for the Jews,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a Jew.

THEN THEY CAME for me
and by that time no one was left to speak up."

He can either replace all Sinkies or he leaves the country to find a place where the character of their citizens suits him.

well, that's precisely what the ruling party wants us to be worried about - purely bread and butter, and leave the politics to them. Therefore, the greatest illness in Singapore is not anti-opposition but apolitical, i.e. indifference.....

aff1e0dc38df435224365b361f2d5110.jpg

His may sound condescending but he is absolutely right and I guess the truth hurts.

The truth is insofar as we want it to be.

Apologies, I do not stand among the animals as much as you thought it to be. Words sprouted from a near tyrant is as good as it can be so long as the populace remain fooled.

The age of awakening is coming. Singaporeans, who seen through this corporate political veil will arise, I hope, sooner than later.

Hope, that we cannot see, but believe that it will come into fruition. May the "blood" I spew today set the foundation for the freedom our next generation build on...