• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Lee Bee Wah’s flip-flopping is startling

NgEjay

http://www.sgpolitics.net/?p=516

Every so often, we see very clearly the quality and caliber of the kind of people we have in Government. And this time round, the mainstream media did not even bother to hide or cover up the series of missteps.

Lee Bee Wah’s blatant flip-flopping on the Gao Ning issue is startling, even by PAP standards.

Gao Ning, Singapore’s top male table-tennis player, crashed out of his first Olympics last Thursday, losing 0-4 to unheralded Tan Ruiwu of Croatia, because he was left without a coach. Zu Haining, the coach who was supposed to be in his corner, had to attend to another Singapore player, Yang Zi, whose coach had fallen ill.

A delay in the conclusion of Yang Zi’s match resulted in Zu Haining being unable to attend to Gao Ning.

The incident earned a sharp rebuke from Singapore Table Tennis Association president Lee Bee Wah, who said that action should be taken against those who “neglected their duties”. (ST, “No coach present as Gao falls to unknown”, 22 Aug).

Lee Bee Wah, who is also an MP at Ang Mo Kio GRC, questioned why the Singapore team, with four coaches in Beijing, could not spare one for Gao. She was also quoted as saying that “we cannot accept such things happening in such an important tournament”.

Lee Bee Wah later translated her words into action. In no uncertain terms, she told The Sunday Times that the services of team manager Antony Lee were not needed anymore. (ST, “Singapore’s table tennis team manager told to leave”, 24 Aug).

Her statement came after she had a private meeting with the seven players — four women and three men — on Saturday afternoon, without inviting any officials.

She also said, “‘I have a new team and will have a new CEO and technical director. It is best that the manager is chosen by them. Antony is welcome to apply for the position when we ask for applications.”

Her statements naturally drew much flak from many observers who felt that she had made the decision too hastily and her rash actions put an unnecessary dampener on the joyous occasion of Singapore winning its first Olympic medal in 48 years.

But the story does not end there.

On Monday, in a very shocking about turn, Lee Bee Wah told TODAY newspaper, “I’m not sacking anybody … His contract expires on Aug 31, and before the Beijing Olympics, SSC had discussed facilitating his return and I said I had no objection. It has nothing to do with the Gao Ning incident.

Her latest position is in total contradiction to all of the previous press reports on this issue.

She even went further, saying, “I didn’t say that Antony and the coach will be sacked … I feel that it’s all been blown out of proportion and now the damage is really terrible … I don’t want to be entangled in this whole issue. We have to move on to the bigger picture that STTA is working towards.”

Why the backtracking and the flip-flopping? Did Lee Bee Wah suddenly regret what she did and decided to change her stand. If so, why doesn’t she just issue an official retraction of her previous position rather than make it seem that the media mis-reported her?

And now, after all the damage is done, Lee Bee Wah says we have to move on to the bigger picture. It’s a little hard to do so when STTS has a big flip-flopper breathing down its neck.

peasantJUDGE

If Gao Ning were truly the superior pingpong player, he would have beaten his opponent. Coaches' guidance are good for morale and confidence, but hell, a champion sportsman should be able to beat the others regardless of crowd behaviour or hostile climate. In any case, Gao Ning is supposedly ranked very much higher than the other guy.

bigbossman

Lee Bee Wah has been overboard and the flip flopping is bad for her credibility. She is not of the president or MP quality. She entered the parliament through the back door provided by the GRC. She should be voted out in the next election.

At the very worst, LTK did better. He just kept quiet. :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

Hakka Tiow

Everything is cool. God is fair. Look at her face. Not yet fifty, she already resembles a flea mangled dog. Her hair had turn white and thinning.(photos in newpaper). But on the other hand, expect her to be part of the winning GRC team at the next General Elections. She's the kind of quality that LKY looks for in henchmen. Show them who's Boss! And Fuck You if you're not happy.

Hans168

A good leader is a motivator, coach, counselor..... anything but a big truncheon!
Is she a member of the famiLEE?

denzuko1

If Gao Ning were truly the superior pingpong player, he would have beaten his opponent. Coaches' guidance are good for morale and confidence, but hell, a champion sportsman should be able to beat the others regardless of crowd behaviour or hostile climate. In any case, Gao Ning is supposedly ranked very much higher than the other guy.

I support your stand. Even with the coach presence, he cannot shout out all the time what the player should do.

JohnTT

As I mentioned before in other threads, she is pushing all the blame to the ST senior reporter Peh for blowing the matter out of proportion.

She is a liability in the PAP party. They should remove her asap.

denzuko1

As I mentioned before in other threads, she is pushing all the blame to the ST senior reporter Peh for blowing the matter out of proportion.

She is a liability in the PAP party. They should remove her asap.

So the ST defamed her? Hmm.....another law suit saga may be in progress. Will Lee Bee Wah sue ST and end up like Durai? Or will ST take the initiative to sue instead? Who will win and who will fall?.....:confused::confused::confused:

NgEjay

I support your stand. Even with the coach presence, he cannot shout out all the time what the player should do.

Yes, denzuko and peasantJUDGE, I failed to see this point myself.

Apparently I took the mainstream's media explanation of why Gao Ning lost hook line and sinker. My bad ... :(

snrcitizen

Her statement came after she had a private meeting with the seven players — four women and three men — on Saturday afternoon, without inviting any officials.

For a president of STTA, it is very unprofessional to have a meeting with the players without inviting any officials to be present.

KKC007

In sports at the highest level, the mental game is very important.

Not having a coach in his corner may have a psychological effect on the player. However, if an athlete cannot overcome such a small psychological hurdle, the isn't much chance he can succeed at the highest level.

SotongMee

Is LBW 'infamous" for that don't know what shit "jamban" toilet comment in Parliament?

Another piece of dung from this woman!:rolleyes:

Everything is cool. God is fair. Look at her face. Not yet fifty, she already resembles a flea mangled dog. Her hair had turn white and thinning.(photos in newpaper). But on the other hand, expect her to be part of the winning GRC team at the next General Elections. She's the kind of quality that LKY looks for in henchmen. Show them who's Boss! And Fuck You if you're not happy.

Erudio

For a president of STTA, it is very unprofessional to have a meeting with the players without inviting any officials to be present.

it's ok lah, tis call feeling grd sentiment ... the problem is the Jamban whore is playing politics ... she wanna cozy up to the players n gain their liking ... end up kena fock n now must u-turn n re admit the coach which the girls like !!!

The_Latest_H

Well, women don't age very well, especially in politics. Its just a fact of life that people don't like to see women aging before their eyes. If men have some grey hair and have wrinkles, they think these men, previously boyish and young-ish have aged gracefully and matured.

For women, its a whole new ball-game.

Aside from all of that, her actions and words are puzzling and bewildering. When your boss does all of these and stonewalls previous actions and words just done a few days ago, you have to wonder where is her sense of professionalism in the first place. By at least, she should have realised that to spare people's embarrassment, and to keep the official record straight, either she do it behind closed doors, and after a few days release a joint statement with the affected people or do it completely open and then stick to your positions, come hell or high water.