• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

LBH doubts TCB will stand any chance in the coming EP election

PhuaTeKor

Did he say these statements on his own accord or after 'group thinking'? :confused:

S'poreans might prefer a President 'not so closely related' to PAP: Lim Boon Heng
by Ng Jing Yng
May 30, 2011

SINGAPORE - Given the current sentiment among the electorate, Singaporeans might prefer a President who is not so closely linked to the People's Action Party (PAP), retired minister Lim Boon Heng said yesterday when asked about former PAP MP Tan Cheng Bock's bid to run for the Elected Presidency.

The former Minister in the Prime Minister's Office said he read the news of Dr Tan's intention with "very, very mixed feelings".

Both Mr Lim and Dr Tan were first elected to Parliament in the 1980 General Election (GE). They were parliamentary colleagues for 26 years before Dr Tan stepped down from politics prior to the 2006 GE. Mr Lim retired from the political scene before the recent GE.

Speaking at the sidelines of a People's Association event, Mr Lim said: "My sense is that people would prefer if there were someone who can be a strong unifying symbol for Singaporeans, who's not so closely related to the PAP."

While there could be exceptions, he added: "I don't know whether Dr Tan Cheng Bock, in spite of his independent streak of thinking and expression of views, fully meets the bill."

Mr Lim said he hopes that other capable Singaporeans will come forward so that the country could pick the "best person for the current climate that we have". NG JING YNG

lbh2.jpg

GE: Lim Boon Heng emotional when responding to question
By S Ramesh | Posted: 11 April 2011 2224 hrs

SINGAPORE: The chairman of the People's Action Party (PAP), Lim Boon Heng, could not contain his emotions during a news conference to unveil the latest batch of new PAP candidates on Monday.

Tears welled up in his eyes as he replied to a reporter's question about the perception of "group think" in the workings of government, particularly since he had felt strongly against allowing casinos in Singapore.

"We were very concerned about the lower income and what globalisation had wrought for them. We saw wages stagnating. Worse still, we saw wages falling. Within the trade union movement we discussed the subject of the working poor," Mr Lim said, paused and cried before continuing to say "We then pressured the government to do something about it and out of that came the Workfare Income Supplement. So there is no group think."

Mr Lim, who is also a Minister in the Prime Minister's Office, finally agreed on the casino issue, only because it had brought jobs to Singapore - a point he explained to reporters after the news conference.

He said: "It is a difficult one for me, because I do not like the idea of using gambling as an industry for Singapore and using that as a means of earning an income.

"At the time it was debated it was particularly difficult because unemployment was high. Today, the question is what kind of social problems will there be? It is too early to tell.

"I agree there is a contribution and there is a contribution to jobs and that is reason why I finally agreed. But I am still concerned (about) what kind of social problems it will bring to Singapore.

phpNcADG5.jpg

'I've never followed my party': Tan Cheng Bock
The New Paper
Mon, May 30, 2011
YES, I was a People's Action Party (PAP) Member of Parliament.

But I'm no yes man, declared Dr Tan Cheng Bock, 71, former MP for Ayer Rajah.

As the first person to indicate his interest in running as a candidate in the coming presidential election, he told The New Paper yesterday: "If the issue at stake is wrong, irrespective of my party or the government, I will tell them."

"No, it's not a popular thing, it is my style," said the former MP, who retired in 2006.

"If you go through my history, you would know that I did (so) all these years ago. I'm not just doing it now.

"I've never followed my party... I'm no yes-man, I've never been a yes-man."

That cry-baby of a hypocrite with no conscience LBH is just plain jealous that he was not nominated to run for president. Afterall, he was chairman (or was it chair-meh?) of NTUC. Both started at the same time but although one was an MP all his life, did demonstrate that he could make a reasonable living outside of the PAP. That choh boh lan record holder of MINISTER WITHOUT PORTFOLIO in Guiness Book cannot even find something worthwhile to occupy his life but begged ("volunteered") to be adviser to PA's Chair-meh LHL and Lim Shit Say.

Varuna

Speaking at the sidelines of a People's Association event, Mr Lim said: "My sense is that people would prefer if there were someone who can be a strong unifying symbol for Singaporeans, who's not so closely related to the PAP."
I think the character, integrity, great sense of responsibility and guts of the person take higher priority over whether he was a member of any political party or not. Did our ex-president, OTC, because of his close relation to PAP prior to taking up his presidential seat, fail to exercise his duty as a good president? Given the choice of having to choose between a YES-MAN candidate who spots a clean record of having no past connection with any political party vs some competent and daring NON-YES-MAN who could have belonged to some political party before, I would choose the latter. Could it be some group of people and not the people in general do not hope to see TCB take that seat? :biggrin:

karmabear

Lim Boon Heng is such a hypocrite. Forced to step down after his wife made a ruckus about his affair in NTUC... Now he still dare to open his big mouth.... a really shameless fellow.

Nik1971

S$4 mil a year salary is a lot of monies, for people to change side. Just because TCB made one criticism about the hospital does not make him a "enlightened" man! One just cannot wash away the years when he was one of them. To change side now, does not speak too well about him. Amazing that he is getting some support from new samsters here, nowadays. Haha

batman1

The MIW thought they have high moral authority and always like to comment :"What is his motivations for standing as a candidate ? We are confused.We are awkward."

Why is that LIM KOPI shamesless philanderer ex-Minister Without Portfolio ( DO FARK OFF PARASITE ) in the PMO raiding the national reserves and talking cock somemore?
He should return his overpaid ministerial salary to the people.
He should be guillotined by the Dog Head-Cutter.

RK85

If u folllow thru some of his past parliament speeches, he sounds more like opp. party member, definitely not yes man.

He was actually against FT policy & got fxxx by LKY.

"Singaporeans come first

Our message to Singaporeans must be clear and loud. We will take care of their basic needs. We will have schemes for our citizens to upgrade their skills training and education and they will get priority over others, including Permanent Residents .Now this is more important priority call than foreign talent. I can understand the rationale and need to inject such talent into our society. But many still don’t and especially in this time, such a call makes them feel threatened, bearing in mind that a good number of jobs are lost from the middle management level. I feel that it this juncture, this call for foreign talent might be a bit misplaced. Let’s think Singaporeans first.’ —Dr Tan Cheng Bock, MP for Ayer Rajah, on how the Government should tone down its calls for the recruitment of foreign talent and reassure Singaporeans that they came first"

S$4 mil a year salary is a lot of monies, for people to change side. Just because TCB made one criticism about the hospital does not make him a "enlightened" man! One just cannot wash away the years when he was one of them. To change side now, does not speak too well about him. Amazing that he is getting some support from new samsters here, nowadays. Haha

RK85

Dr Tan Cheng Bock’s stand on Nominated MP

Question: Your stand on Nominated MP is well-known. Why do you object?

Answer:

In July 1992, I had to make a stand on the issue of nominated MP5. I was against this because I believe that MPs must be elected by the people and be accountable for their actions. I voted against my party.

Reactions from the Press

Not blind loyalty but conviction and conscience

Tough issues include issues of principle. And here another back bencher, Dr Tan Cheng Bock, who remains in the House, has shown the way forward. In the May sitting of parliament, Dr Tan was the only PAP MP to vote against a motion to continue the nominated MP scheme, He could have so easily taken the safe route and joined the rest of his party colleagues in either voting for the motion or abstaining, But no. Dr Tan had no qualms about momentarily standing apart from the rest of the parliamentary PAP.

Despite being a member of the party’s Central Executive Committee and a close and long standing friend of the Prime Minister (they became good chums during their student days at Raffles Institution), the MP for Ayer Rajah preferred to ally himself with the compelling ethic that friendship and loyalty should not come in between a man and the strength of his convictions. A true practitioner of noblesse oblige (rank carries with it generous and honorable conduct). Dr Tan Cheng Bock’s fair mindedness and ability to view party loyalty as important but not absolute has made him highly regarded both inside and outside the House. He is considered by some to be the outward manifestation of the PAP’s Conscience.

Business Times – 28 July 1992

Two most important achievements with great impact on Singaporeans

Question: What would you regard as the two most important achievements that have a great impact on the people of Singapore?

Answer:

I had persuaded the Government to agree on 2 important issues, one on the use of CPF for tertiary education and two that HDB allow free parking on Sundays and public holidays to encourage better social interaction. Both were accepted after long debates.

Reactions from the Press

FREE PARKING ON SUNDAYS & PUBLIC HOLIDAYS

“Kudos to Dr Tan Cheng Bock for asking the Housing Board in Parliament last week to allow free parking on Sundays and public holidays. Its very existence — meaning that your visitors have to pay to see you — appears unfair, when no such penalty is imposed on visitors to most private estates.”

The Straits Times — 25 March 1985

Someone should ask GCT to comment on TCB's intention to run for president. I am sure GCT will not express his true opinion on this subject matter publicly but deep down, I am quietly sure GCT must be feeling really shiok. They happen to be buddies from RI and there is no secret TCB was in GCT's camp when serving as MP.

More likely than not they have already discussed it before he made the announcement. :wink:

Btw, LBH's reaction is what Aesop calls "Dog In The Manger". :biggrin:

yellowarse

RI classmates. And yes, TCB is in the Goh camp.

Char_Azn

Yes man or not, he is still a PAP man. Just becoz he is no Yes man doesn't mean his heart is not with PAP. Others like Inderjit Singh question the PAP Policies much harder in Parliament then Chiam and LYK. Does that make him any less a PAP man?