• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Krav Maga

who the hell is talking abt learning krav maga and going to combat. Learning something is one thing, applying it is another.

The issue lies not in learning itself (which is dreamy, frivolous and stupid), but what you can do with what you have learnt.

If there is nothing doable with what you have learnt, it qualifies as useless knowledge, which is a waste of time to pursue from the very beginning.

If you are going for the health aspect of martial arts, you should consider tai chi or akido. Can practise until your LKYs age :)

But not easy to find real masters....... the ones with substance dun wanna teach publicly..... the ones that always advertise are just out to con $$$ :(

I'm fortunate I'm a hakka....... our people take care of our own :D

Typically see a queue must join a queue even if they have no idea.

very true, just like hello kitty and bubble tea. :)

bros is anybody learning krav maga here?

I am interesting in it and i have heard of Commando Krav Maga offering course at Novena but they claim they can make an expert out of anybody in days, im not sure whether this is validated. Anybody can advise?

anyway what is krav maga maga, i onli know sega 16 bit.
hahaha

But not easy to find real masters....... the ones with substance dun wanna teach publicly..... the ones that always advertise are just out to con $$$ :(

I'm fortunate I'm a hakka....... our people take care of our own :D

If you're doing it for health, do you need to study under a master? :)

In NS it was good enough to learn 5BX from some corporal & not from a 5BX master :D

Sifu LKY is a master of back alley cudgel arts but he is very secretive lah:rolleyes:

its not the arts itself. its the practitioner level of understanding in the arts itself.

This is the greatest myth in the martial arts and interestingly, usually spread by practitioners of MAs that do not do so well in full contact fighting.

If the above statement is true, then you have to accept that by sheer coincidence, all the talented MAist learn muay thai, BJJ, krav maga, etc while the not so talented ones learn rubbish like TKD.

Take a look at the full contact fighting circuit and see which are the MAs that regularly do well. The results don't lie.

bros is anybody learning krav maga here?

I am interesting in it and i have heard of Commando Krav Maga offering course at Novena but they claim they can make an expert out of anybody in days, im not sure whether this is validated. Anybody can advise?

WTF does the Catholic Church have to do with Jewish Kung Fu?

Alamak not everything has to do with novena church all cos it's held in novena.

This is the greatest myth in the martial arts and interestingly, usually spread by practitioners of MAs that do not do so well in full contact fighting.

If the above statement is true, then you have to accept that by sheer coincidence, all the talented MAist learn muay thai, BJJ, krav maga, etc while the not so talented ones learn rubbish like TKD.

Take a look at the full contact fighting circuit and see which are the MAs that regularly do well. The results don't lie.

U can also compare this with street fighter for eg.

MOst ppl choose ken or ryu, the more adveturous choose say chun li or maybe guile but ppl seldom choose dhalsim, honda or zanguiff.

It's much easier to use ken or ryu to win compared to dhalsim, but it's possible.

The issue lies not in learning itself (which is dreamy, frivolous and stupid), but what you can do with what you have learnt.

If there is nothing doable with what you have learnt, it qualifies as useless knowledge, which is a waste of time to pursue from the very beginning.

most martial arts talk about peace peace etc etc, then learn how to punch or kick so hard for fuck?:rolleyes:

[B]No you bullshit-Muslim pig-brained dumbfuck[/B].

To be able to punch and kick hard, is a test of your strength, your forte in the arts you have chosen that requires it, and your focus. AND, to use these to protect yourself AND more importantly others for the greater good THAT EMBODIES PEACE.

So it doesn't mean you learn martial arts just to punch and kick anyone and everyone you see like you would to trees and things at the earliest given opportunity like an uncivilized mad dog. Okay, you stupid fuck?

PS From the way you argue it is quite possible that you may have such mindless barbaric tendencies, so even if you are ever keen in martial arts, all schools and masters must be informed about people like you and you be barred from ever being taught anything for the good of everyone that certainly includes PEACE as well.

Yup they sound as if those with perfect understanding of Pencak Silat can totally defeat Kungfu, Karate and Muay Thai practitioners with just less than perfect understanding.

Ultimately it is the applicable varieties of adopted art itself that gives you the real edge.

Ever wonder why Karate masters tell even their best students to be wary when fighting Drunken Fist (醉拳) practitioners?

before you learn, ask yourself this questions.
do you get to see alot of actions on the streets of sgp?
do you think you can react in time when someone screams Allah Akbar?
when you time comes, you cannot run away.
the chances of getting killed due to traffic accidents is much higher than anything else in SGP.

We learn MA for various purposes. eg.health, fitness, coordination, culture, philosophy and lastly, self-defense.
Just becos it doesnt normally happen on the streets doesnt mean it will never happen to you. But, when it does happen, being equipped with self-defence skills beats being helpless. (wont you agree?).
There will certainly be situations where your self-defence skills can mean the diffrence between life and death. Similarly, there will always be situations where you will get killed nor matter what you're made off. I'm afraid your last 2 sentences are really irrelevant to our topic here.
To re-cap, we're talking about effectiveness of martial arts. Not whether MA can withstand a terrorist attack or whether one is more likely to be killed in a traffic accident or street violence.

I agree dude. One thing to consider though, street fighting is a little bit different from MMA contests with rules. Although BJJ is monstrous in a 1 on 1 situation, it's not gonna save you against even 2 attackers.

Anyways, to be honest, I think the most effective training for normal everyday people is cardio: so you can run!!

No point getting bruises or stitches or worse.

PS From the way you argue it is quite possible that you may have such mindless barbaric tendencies, so even if you are ever keen in martial arts, all schools and masters must be informed about people like you and you be barred from ever being taught anything for the good of everyone that certainly includes PEACE as well.
[/COLOR][/COLOR][/QUOTE]

tis fellow know none of martial art, no point wasting time explaining to him

[B]No you bullshit-Muslim pig-brained dumbfuck[/B].

To be able to punch and kick hard, is a test of your strength, your forte in the arts you have chosen that requires it, and your focus. AND, to use these to protect yourself AND more importantly others for the greater good THAT EMBODIES PEACE.

So it doesn't mean you learn martial arts just to punch and kick anyone and everyone you see like you would to trees and things at the earliest given opportunity like an uncivilized mad dog. Okay, you stupid fuck?

who's a muslim?

U fucking idiot. if u cannot explain ur pov properly go shove a pipe up ur azz and kill urself. :oIo::oIo: