• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Kopi, Prata Rise In Price - Salaries Remain Stagnant For You & Me

Kohliantye

NTUC, Kopitiam and others raise rentals and price of their kopi.

The stalls renting from them follow suit - "LKY called it the Domino effect During the Vietnam War".

Mee soup, mee rebus mee goreng stalls all follow suit loyally.

Singaporeans suffer as their salaries remain stagnated as compared to that of those within the corridors of Power.

Tell me what you can buy with $1- today?

The stalls renting from them follow suit - "LKY called it the Domino effect During the Vietnam War".

Singaporeans suffer as their salaries remain stagnated as compared to that of those within the corridors of Power.

If you salary has remained stagnant, it means your career path has stalled. You can't blame anyone but yourself for that.

In sinkapore, that is not true. Foreigners are willing to do the job for half the amount, so employers call the shots. Close the door and flush out the foreign rodents and realism will return.

Kohliantye

When in Singapore, I will treat you to a prata Leongsam.

In 1960's it was five cents - today it is $1.20 cents.

The size slimmed, the curry taste deteriorated but still I will bring you to taste it.

Welcome to Singapore - the first world country 2013

In sinkapore, that is not true. Foreigners are willing to do the job for half the amount, so employers call the shots. Close the door and flush out the foreign rodents and realism will return.

My nephew was earning $2300 in 2011. He's now earning $4200. He changed jobs and got a promotion.

Your destiny (and salary) is in your own hands.

ZorrorroZ

My nephew was earning $2300 in 2011. He's now earning $4200. He changed jobs and got a promotion.

I have to agree with this concept. Loyalty mean fcukoff in Singapore. An employer is only too happy to squeeze the blood out of a loyal employee; and not value loyalty. The only way to get substantial increases in salary is to change jobs. This is what I had done, and my salary increased proportionally with each job change.

I guess the only place where you can stagnate and yet enjoy astronomical salaries is in government service and/or be part of PAP. There, for doing fcukoff, you can enjoy millions of bucks, and just spout some nonsensical phrases to the company newsletter "straight time" about being cheaper, faster, gayer.

a bottle of mineral water..plus take on a vegetarian diet, it will be cheaper than meat.

The size slimmed, the curry taste deteriorated but still I will bring you to taste it.

by the way, do you know that, only losers keep talking about the past. they can't move forward.. pls take a hard look at yourself.

Between 1960s and now, the price difference is due to a thing called inflation.

inflation is caused by various economical policies or/plus the limitation of natural resources.

new technology can overcome the limitation of natural resources but you need the implementation of these new technologies by the govt. Technology such as renewable energy.

People need to push the govt to implement this new technologies and changes int he policies to curb inflation, but you need people to push it. it means you need balls.

you got balls? no balls then suck thumb and get screw lor.

Asterix

Last time you buy laptop cost four tarzens
No Pentium leh not invented yet mah
Now you buy notebook cost one tarzens
Oi, Intel Core i3 some more no bullshit

Last time internet is dial up fucking slow
Nick name was World Wide WAIT
Now got broadband, youtube, facebook
Tuwee tarzens saved is how many pratas

Please, ad nasueum!...your nephew must have joined the PAP. There are those are just damn good, balls polishers to get from 2300-4200 & there are those who work their head off ....generally, the common man salary are stagnant, made worse by a deluge of CHEAP LABORERS from the 3rd world, we are talking about workers from PMET's to those sweeping the floors.

Prices of food & beverages at the heartland had shot up from 5c to $1, hot beverages like coffee & tea had gone up 10cts, soft drinks also etc...food from 50c to $1, quantity & quality had fallen. This month the Roti Prata stall put up signs that they their food had been raised roti prata up 10c, nasi briyani now $5 ( some places $6) & others.

Your nephew must be in the elite class, earning $4,200 would not be rubbing shoulders with the floatsam & jetsam of humanity...:mad:

bryanlim1972

spoken like a true elite. i up your points. :rolleyes:

"...meritocracy simply meant the "luckiest" people reaped the largest rewards. The luckiest, that is, in terms of family support and encouragement, and "in so many other ways too difficult to enumerate", Mr Bernanke said. But Mr Goh was clearly quoting in order to agree with the general thrust of the assessment."

Capano2121

You fuck back to Malaysia, food there lagi cheaper.

I beg to differ! JB Bakuteh RM15 per portion leh! Beef noodles RM12 per bowl leh! Not cheap at all! Only thing still comparably cheap is petrol only leh! RON95 RM2.10 & RON97 RM2.80! Everything else all so fucking expensive over the causeway leh!

Please, ad nasueum!...your nephew must have joined the PAP. There are those are just damn good, balls polishers to get from 2300-4200 & there are those who work their head off ....

He's working in Stanchart in the Treasury department. Nothing to do with the PAP. He's a WP supporter.

Capano2121

JB is affected by sinkapore lah.

Partly true!
But it is truly a case of nouveau riche just like Doggyland!
They have no idea to value of commodities nowadays!
99% of the population are garbage & they are bringing in more garbage from India & Bangladesh!
All these bullshit of higher population equates to better prosperity of the nation are just true bull!

gingerlyn

You must understand why Kopi is 5cent in 1960s.
In 1960s: No GST, no water tax, no foreign worker levy, no electricity tax, no petrol tax. No NEA license fee and Barisan Socialist was strong to counter PAP in political arena.
Now, PAP is so strong and opposition is so weak and you have all sort of operating cost that is artificially imposed by the government.

Also in 1960s, MOM staffs only use normal wooden chairs but now they are sitting on Herman Miller chairs. NEA is riding Brompton Bike and Police is driving Volvo.

with all the above, I conclude that Kopi price must be increased to SGD3 by tomorrow.

Asterix

He's working in Stanchart in the Treasury department. Nothing to do with the PAP. He's a WP supporter.

Wah sufficient details for ISD to check
Treasury department of Stanchart male
Narrow down to few hundred or less
Salary range can narrow some more
Nephew got knock on the door
Could be thanks to his uncle
Unless uncle like General Eisenhower
Real target Normandy feint Calais