• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

kaya

ykhuser

anyone know where to buy nice LESS sweeten kaya.
can be supermarket or kopitiam
i look everywhere..cannot find 1 which custom make less sweet

How bout ah kun, killiney? I always expect my kaya to be sweet, therefore don't really notice that there is less sweet kaya. Maybe less sweet kaya are tasteless?

buying for my old folk.
too sweet is bad for elderly

Go get your kaya from the traditional neighbourhood bakeries.

Only idiots buy kaya from these sources:

ykKaya.jpg

ykKaya.jpg

yup.i have been an idiot once.
bought a small bottle from breadtalk for $4.50
taste so so

kaya is damn unhealthy...sinkie pls eat more and drop dead..

kaya considered unhealthy?i remember young time kaya and guyu loti considered sin food damn shiok,now only a portobello burger with criss cut fries from carl's jr can satisfy my sinful lust.

There is a Hainanese kpt that sells great kaya. Cant describe the exact location. Not even sure if they are still in business. Along East Coast road. Corner shop. Catholic church nearby. OCBC branch too. Maybe some bros can give better directions.

Chin Mee Chin.

make your own at home. easy peesy. we have pandan leaves in the bay area. and organic brown shelled eggs with very yellow yolk.

Yes, make your own. Ingredients very common and most importantly, you can add sugar according to your needs.

Since no preservatives are used which means shorter shelf life so make only what you need.

Yes, make your own. Ingredients very common and most importantly, you can add sugar according to your needs.

Since no preservatives are used which means shorter shelf life so make only what you need.

i use brown sugar in the raw. rock sugar also lagi good. no white sugar in my home. we also have whole coconuts from the market. but the frozen shaved coconut from thailand is good enough.

Sorry TS can't find any $2 kaya (sweet or less sweet) to suit your cheapo tastebuds.

Oh, the very mention of kaya makes me swoon!

It's been like 10 years or so since I last ate it. During that time, I could have kaya for all my meals.....every day.

I'm lucky that I don't have the money to buy kaya otherwise I might end up with strokes or high blood pressure.

ykKaya.jpg

I agree......

Its not that difficult to make your own homemade kaya too espcially if you are giving it away to people......always damm troublesome to make and have to finish it up quickly as it turns bad within a few days....add gula melaka or palm sugar helps with the sweetening but reduces the blood glucose impact....ok for diabetics if u use sparingly....

At least u are not getting the preservative filled shit from the pap crony capitalists........

It was only ONE generation ago that kaya was home made, and almost everything else too (like bakchang). If you've not done it before, you should try one weekend at home trying it out and from there once you've done it, you can adjust the sugar level to your own liking. My wife is able to make it and the next time she does, I would suggest here to sweeten it with Maple syrup just to see how it turns out. These days, everything we get is so commercialized, society has lost its "home" touch. It would be nice to slow down, take a step back, and do things in our own kitchens. Hope you give it a try.

anyone know where to buy nice LESS sweeten kaya.
can be supermarket or kopitiam
i look everywhere..cannot find 1 which custom make less sweet

ykKaya.jpg

Like you for example. And where's the as-useless Killiney Kopitiam sample? You ugly gay flat-dwelling beggar what the fuck do you know other than eating cheap and dirty blood-worm soup? And, I've unfortunately walked by your poor estates a couple of times and they have no low-classed bakery shit like that too.