• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious [@jw5's net worth] In March 2012 (eight years ago), sammyboy.com's most famous Moderator said that he has a "7 figure net worth"!!!

Do you BELIEVE that our dear @jw5's net worth is STILL AT LEAST S$1 million?

• No, because he does NOT SOUND like a millionaire! :tongue:

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Many belated thanks also to:
@Leongsam
@zeebjii
for voting in the poll, even though they "don't know what to say"!
sweatingbullets-gif.40503
redface-gif.40438
Many thanks also to @MaximiLian for voting in the poll, even though he also does "not know what to say"!
redface-gif.40438
I didn't know what to say! :x3::eek::biggrin:
Dear @jw5, many thanks to you too for finally voting in the poll, even though you "didn't know what to say"!
redface-gif.40438

Reactions: jw5
I am considering investing $1 or $2 million dollars in a new or existing business with great potential, something that is able to grow and thrive because it is what consumers want, even though there is an ongoing pandemic.

Any ideas or businesses that you have in mind? I am not interested in running it at all, just want to invest and get paid dividends. Of course, the investment would have to be made progressively and the management wise and ethical. :cool:

I'm thinking that I will exclude most F&B which is too common. However if there are any unique F&B ideas, I don't mind listening. :coffee:

By the way, why do you assume that the first number in a seven figure number begins with one? :unsure::eek::biggrin:
Dear @jw5, many belated thanks for asking me that question, but I'm afraid I don't understand your question... :unsure:
I have always understood "a seven figure number" to mean any whole number from 1,000,000 to 9,999,999; so I don't know why you are thinking that I'm assuming that the "first number in a seven figure number begins with one"! :o-o: :confused:
In my poll, I'm asking members whether they believe that your net worth is "STILL AT LEAST S$1 million", right?
And "a seven figure number" that is "at least 1 million" is any whole number from 1,000,000 to 9,999,999, right?

Dear @jw5, many belated thanks for asking me that question, but I'm afraid I don't understand your question... :unsure:
I have always understood "a seven figure number" to mean any whole number from 1,000,000 to 9,999,999; so I don't know why you are thinking that I'm assuming that the "first number in a seven figure number begins with one"! :o-o: :confused:
In my poll, I'm asking members whether they believe that your net worth is "STILL AT LEAST S$1 million", right?
And "a seven figure number" that is "at least 1 million" is any whole number from 1,000,000 to 9,999,999, right?

The reason why I suggested that you have more poll options, is that your number in the polls looked rather conservative. :wink::tongue::roflmao:

Hey jw5 why not make a bet with me lah.

You so convinced I am scroobal and MAY and am fake Canadian doctor why not you fly out to Calgary after covid is over and meet me in person?

I just want to resolve this lah. Seriously.

I agree with you I am needy emotionally. Gossipy i dont think i am lah. But i am not MAY and what not.

Just fly out to Calgary we meet up I show you where I took the photos you can see my medical practice etc.

Maybe some other members can come along too?

I thought you already ignored me? :unsure:

Why are you still peeking at my posts? :rolleyes::biggrin::roflmao:

Yeah i still peek.

You are rich guy. Well educated. Powerful. Smart.

I just find it really crazy that you make those remarks about me when it is totally untrue.

In a way i guess it matters to me when you keep doing it cos you are not some siao lang member.

I am serious. One day i want to meet with you and show you who I really am.

LOL.............................. If fate will have it, we will meet one day..................... LOL............................ :rolleyes::biggrin::roflmao:

Due to the pandemic, there are now many people who have started F&B businesses mainly from home. However, the majority of them are bakers or people who prepare desserts. Frankly, there are probably too many of these nowadays, and with all the established bakeries and confectioneries around, it would be very difficult to get a good slice of the market. A couple of folks have come to me with ideas, and I have listened patiently while having a cup of coffee. :coffee:

I remember talking to my classmate who said that many local sg business or even IPO companies are mostly F&B.

Guess sg not that creative in other fields.

F&B not only not creative, but highly competitive and ultra boring too. This is not what I am looking for. :coffee:

I have tried talking to angel investor before when i was younger. He was my father in law's sister's husband.

But my idea was IT tech related. I wanted to create platform for SMS payment/mobile phome number as ID. And the other was online network for people to socialize. Store photos. Share. Write entries. Share ideas thoughts.

I got shot down. Mostly cos i was a young dr. He kept sayig to me and my friend (also dr) you both got no background in tech. Go work hard become surgeon lah.

So jw5 is this what you also look at? I think so right?

Truth is most smart kids in sg study hard become engineer dr accountant lawyer etc. Most will get good jobs. Work hard to get promoted. Head hunted maybe by banks with big salaries. Head finance divisions. Then later CEO.

Few do start ups.

And those who do.....might not have the background desired.

Food is easier. Cos sinkies love food. Easy to understand. There is also no school for food kind of thing. Not so technical.

Which is why i believe ao many food biz ans statt up in sg.

The other thing is the financial markets got a lot of regulatory stuff. Very high barrier to entry for anyone with ideas.

Thanks for the long post, I love it when you post long posts. :wink:

I have tried talking to angel investor before when i was younger. He was my father in law's sister's husband.

But my idea was IT tech related. I wanted to create platform for SMS payment/mobile phome number as ID. And the other was online network for people to socialize. Store photos. Share. Write entries. Share ideas thoughts.

I got shot down. Mostly cos i was a young dr. He kept sayig to me and my friend (also dr) you both got no background in tech. Go work hard become surgeon lah.

Truth is most smart kids in sg study hard become engineer dr accountant lawyer etc. Most will get good jobs. Work hard to get promoted. Head hunted maybe by banks with big salaries. Head finance divisions. Then later CEO.

Few do start ups.

Food is easier. Cos sinkies love food. Easy to understand. There is also no school for food kind of thing. Not so technical.

The other thing is the financial markets got a lot of regulatory stuff. Very high barrier to entry for anyone with ideas.

I am looking for something very vibrant, something creative, a product or service which is unique yet something consumers want. :thumbsup:

Are you Sim Wong Hoo?

Sounds like something he would say.

Teleportation device? Maybe a service that changes currency with much lower commissions and is instant no lag? May not need to be totally unique but if it can improve greatly on something existing with very good benefits over existing can be "unique" enough?

I wish you all the best! Sounds interesting. Wish i could be like you.

I am not but I wish I was. :biggrin:

Are you Sim Wong Hoo?

Sounds like something he would say.

Teleportation device? Maybe a service that changes currency with much lower commissions and is instant no lag? May not need to be totally unique but if it can improve greatly on something existing with very good benefits over existing can be "unique" enough?

I wish you all the best! Sounds interesting. Wish i could be like you.

Sim Wong Hoo is actually a very interesting chap, I saw an interview he had with CNBC where he was very articulate and humorous even. :thumbsup:

Few do start ups.

Sinkies should be more innovative and move away from just food or their professional/educational training. Try and create something that nobody has thought of, it may not be an actual product, but it can even be a service or some kind of entertainment that can occupy people while they stay at home. :cool: