To Mr PoorGuy.
There is no such thing as a poor Singaporean citizen if he still owns a property here, even a 2 room flat - one bedroom, one hall type. Here, we would consider you middle class, but in 3rd world nations such as Philippines, Laos, Vietnam, Thailand, etc, you would be considered rich as your home asset alone is worth at the least $250,000, with CPF account of at least $50,000, not to mention your personal savings.
Thus, it is my hope that you will find a financial Advisor, working in the Banking or Insurance industry to find out your true gross & nett financial worth, so that you may plan ahead. Although most of them will probably be too busy, & may seek that you invest in them, you will most certainly have friends whom have friends in the industry to work on pro-bono basis, with no strings attached to help you work out the sums & then a financial plan for your future, no matter what age you are in, as we, citizens, true to our National pledge, will leave NO ONE behind.
However, never ever reveal such financial worth to anyone, or else you may be scammed. If they know & are perceptive, they will come like flies to you, even sweet young things.
Do allow me to work out a plausible scenario for you, based on the little info that you had revealed here.
A) Financial gross & nett worth:-
1. Should you be working for the last past 5 yrs as data entry worker earning $2,000 a mth, your CPF contribution from you & employer would be $1000/mth. 1 yr = $12,000. 5 yrs = $12,000 X 5 = $60,000 today, including Medisave, etc.
2. You own a HDB 2 rm flat, had been servicing it & probably still needs to service it for another 15yrs. You would had probably bought it years back when it was only $100,000, but today, it is worth $250,000 min TODAY. More if it had been a choice area such as Redhill estate. No matter what, it is a FIXED asset, regardless if you are still paying off the mortgage.
Even if it has left than 50yrs on the lease, it will attract buyers. If not, you can still get a decent rental rent of $2500/mth. In a year = $30,000. In 50 yrs time =$1,500,000 worth of rent money for yourself if you live long enough, or for those whom will INHERIT your property. And that's based upon current rental rate, which is expected to rise with better economic factors & population growth, despite turmoil in our World, as NO leader would be foolish enough to destroy our planet, our only Home, & only usual sabre rattling.
B) Jobs
At your age, the chances are very slim to be hired, even if you upgrade yourself to PHD status, as there are MANY more youngsters, let alone foreign talents, whom will challenge for that role. Let's be realistic. Furthermore, at such age, it is time to chill, you had slogged long enough. We all make mistakes in life, as no mortal is perfect. Age too is catching up & our body cells will never be able to take on the stress levels of ambition, more so as our World becomes more competitive.
As you do not have any driving license, or a bike, which will limit you to jobs that require mobility, & your experiences are mainly indoor, perhaps you can try hospitality or security trade which requires little physical energy, but just mental alertness & for long hrs. Despite the long hrs, the mind does get rest, as this is Singapore & a relatively safe country. It only needs you to take up a course, subsidized by the rest of us citizens, takes only a few weeks, & you will start earning a salary (est min $2000/mth) & CPF contribution from employers to grow your nest egg for retirement.
C) Retirement Plan
No Human lives forever, at least based upon current med knowledge & tech. You will still be able to take on simple jobs, & by age 65, you can retire, based upon your financial nett worth, to a simple life. At retirement, do a total health checkup, to find out any ailments so that you can be prepared, & take on medication to prolong your life.
Should you have no ailments, you do not need to sell off your house. Your CPF retirement funds will be enough to see you through - simple hawker fare, cheap kopi o, talk with friends, the occasional monetary splurge for goods or services.
However, if there are critical ailments, then & only then should you consider selling away your house or rent it out. With those sums, you will then will be able to pay for a place in a retirement home, under the care of nurses, to live out the rest of your life & medical support that you will need. It costs today from $700 to $1500/mth, & set up by public or Charity organizations.
At no frills $700/mth for a place in a retirement home, it will be $8,400/yr , $84,000/ yr or $168,000 for 20yrs, which the sale of your 2rm flat would be more than enough to cover, let alone any retirement sum from CPF or any of your savings used. Should you rent your house out, then you can upgrade to a better retirement home.
You are one of us. We will leave no one behind, if they do not wish to.