• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Its more expensive to be a vegetarian during rainy days

zack123

Is that where the saying "save for a rainy day" is derived from?

Vegetable prices rise 10—15% due to early rainy season

SINGAPORE : Vegetable prices have risen by 10 to 15 percent on average during the past month due to the rainy season.

The rainy season, which began a month earlier this year, has affected harvests in Malaysia, where half of Singapore’s vegetable imports come from.

The rains have also affected chilli harvests in Thailand, Vietnam and other neighbouring countries.

Chilli prices have doubled to some S$6 a kilogramme, the highest in 10 years. — CNA /ls

I find vegetarian food very expensive.
When I go to the foodcourt and buy a packet of normal economy rice, let's say 1 meat and 2 vege, it comes to about $2.80 or $3.
But a packet of vegetarian rice with 1 mock meat and 2 veges comes to about $3.20 or $3.50.
Why is this so?

eeoror88

When I go to the foodcourt and buy a packet of normal economy rice, let's say 1 meat and 2 vege, it comes to about $2.80 or $3.
But a packet of vegetarian rice with 1 mock meat and 2 veges comes to about $3.20 or $3.50.
Why is this so?

It is because vegetarian food is a "specialised" food for only a segment of the population due to religious belief and health reason. Hence the higher price. In fact the profit margin is very high for vegetarian food.

suteerak1099

alternatively, maybe they can consider grazing the cowgrass readily available in abundance. they can also visit lim chu kang or tuas areas to have the lallang buffets.

BlueCat

most of those vegeatarian dishes are make of flour or glouten,so it will be a bit more expensive.
anyway,eating too much of these glouten products is not good for health.

most of those vegeatarian dishes are make of flour or glouten,so it will be a bit more expensive.
anyway,eating too much of these glouten products is not good for health.
Flour and gluten more expensive than meat?

2lanu

It is because vegetarian food is a "specialised" food for only a segment of the population due to religious belief and health reason. Hence the higher price. In fact the profit margin is very high for vegetarian food.

Religious reason? I find it wierd why the make food mimicking meat stuff like char siew, drumstick, abalone etc..

I agree. Specialisation and segmentation don't necessary increase the cost of food but inadvertently increase the price of food to the final consumer. I try to avoid foodstalls displaying signs Vege or Halal unless unavoidable. It means expensive or very expensive.

If you're not religiously vegetarian or Muslim, just preferentially vegetarian, go to a regular foodstall and order rice with 2 or 3 veggies. If you want to be vegetarian but crave the taste of meats enough to want to eat mock meats, too bad, just have to pay extra for it.

In any case, my personal opinion is that a true vegetarian (whether religious or preferential) should just eat natural veggies, not mock meats.

Frankiestine

Why is this so?

No logic at all its not even real meat just mock up meat made out of flour..

... In any case, my personal opinion is that a true vegetarian (whether religious or preferential) should just eat natural veggies, not mock meats.
yalor ... wanna pretend 2 b vegetarian ... yet cannot gif up eating meat ... wanna eat meat, go n eat real meat la ...

4 me, me dun go eat vegetarian 1 ... 1stly, expensive ... 2ndly, nt particularly nice ... 3rdly, c no pt paying xtra 2 eat vegs ...

oni wen fren wanna eat, den me bo pian ... but me tel my fren u can order 3 dishes of veg fried veg but dun order dose funny-funny processed items ...

shOUTloud

yalor ... wanna pretend 2 b vegetarian ... yet cannot gif up eating meat ... wanna eat meat, go n eat real meat la ...

4 me, me dun go eat vegetarian 1 ... 1stly, expensive ... 2ndly, nt particularly nice ... 3rdly, c no pt paying xtra 2 eat vegs ...

oni wen fren wanna eat, den me bo pian ... but me tel my fren u can order 3 dishes of veg fried veg but dun order dose funny-funny processed items ...

Please lah, people take the first step by cutting out meat but to maintain their appetite, take something that taste close to meat wrong meh.

The reasons for being vegetarian are many and one is compassion. Eating pretend meat is more compassionate than eating real meat.

You prefer people to pretend to hit you when angry or really hit you than angry. Dun call vegetarians hypocrite when you yourself cannot give up meat.

Please lah, people take the first step by cutting out meat but to maintain their appetite, take something that taste close to meat wrong meh.

The reasons for being vegetarian are many and one is compassion. Eating pretend meat is more compassionate than eating real meat.

You prefer people to pretend to hit you when angry or really hit you than angry. Dun call vegetarians hypocrite when you yourself cannot give up meat.

YOu advise is good but i do not really have confidence that a bloodthirsty sinkie will understand this.

u guys can always take a bus to KOO SOO LIM TEMPLE at river valley. it's FREE and it's vegetarian buffet style. best of all it's a complete meal with drinks, desserts and fruits. (donations would be appreciated but no obligation)

the best things in life is REALLY FREE!!:biggrin: after that u can relax in the aircond library upstair or meditate infront of the buddha.:smile:

... Dun call vegetarians hypocrite when you yourself cannot give up meat.
pls la ... kindly read my post again, la ...

me din call any1 hypocrite, hor! ...

oso, me din say me want 2 gif up meat n cannot gif up meat, hor! ...

eeoror88

YOu advise is good but i do not really have confidence that a bloodthirsty sinkie will understand this.

Sinkee bloodthirsty ??

The Thais will soon be lynching each other soon!! You better change into your katoei suit to avoid the lynching and better throw away your vaseoline less the mob use it on your sorry ass !!:eek:!!

shOUTloud

pls la ... kindly read my post again, la ...

me din call any1 hypocrite, hor! ...

oso, me din say me want 2 gif up meat n cannot gif up meat, hor! ...

uncle, you said yalor "... wanna pretend 2 b vegetarian ... yet cannot gif up eating meat ... wanna eat meat, go n eat real meat la ..." so you are calling pple pretend which means hypocrite.