• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

It is up to Singaporeans to decide if we are ready for non-Chinese PM: Janil Puthucheary

It is up to PAP to decide if S'pore is ready to have non-Chinese PM, not the people: WP's Yee Jenn Jong - The Online Citizen Asia
It will be up to Singaporeans to decide on whether the country is ready to have a non-Chinese Prime Minister and two-party political system, said Senior Minister of State for Communications and Information and Health Janil Puthucheary at an Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) panel on Monday (25 Jan).

Dr Puthucheary was speaking in the IPS panel, entitled ‘Politics of Singapore 2030‘. Also in attendance were Aljunied Member of Parliament (MP) Gerald Giam and Non-Constituency MP Hazel Poa.

The panel took place at Marina Bay Sands, and was moderated by Dr Gillian Koh of IPS, as reported by Yahoo! News Singapore.

During the panel, an audience raised a question on the prospect of a non-Chinese Prime Minister, to which the Senior Minister replied, “It will be up to the people of Singapore to decide, ultimately, about this matter.”

“And I do hope that our racial harmony progresses, to the point where, when people talk about a non-Chinese Prime Minister, it’s not about an icon of resetting or an icon of reimagining, but on the basis of that person’s ability to do the job right, and that will be for Singaporeans to decide,” he continued.

However, the Workers’ Party (WP) politician and former Non-Constituency MP Yee Jenn Jong begged to differ on this matter.

In a Facebook post yesterday, Mr Yee asserted that it is not up to Singaporeans to decide on whether the country is ready for a non-Chinese Prime Minister, because ultimately, the People’s Action Party (PAP) has the final say.

“No, it is up to the PAP and not up to the people of Singapore. Singaporeans do not get to vote for who the PM should be. The ruling party votes internally for this position. The people are ready, but the PAP is not,” he wrote.

Comparing the scenario to how it is like in political parties, Mr Yee said that Singaporeans do not directly elect the Leader of the Opposition, as the decision goes to the WP cadre members – just like how the PAP cadres select their leaders.

He went on to share an extract from page 205 of his book, titled ‘Journey in Blue: A peek into the Workers’ Party of Singapore‘, in which he described the thoughts that went through senior members of the WP in 2018 when then party chief Low Thia Khiang did not wish to contest to retain his seat as the Secretary-General.

“For the records, with a Sikh (a minority within the minority Indian race) at the helm, WP went on to record its best ever GE performance,” Mr Yee added.

“Were we concerned that the leadership would move from a Chinese educated leader to an English-speaking Indian/Sikh? Not for me, nor for many of the senior members in the party. Those with Parliament experience especially felt that our biggest selection criteria would be how the person could stand up to attacks by the PAP.

“We are, after all, a political party with a very powerful opponent. There would also be the need for the person to be able to connect with and inspire confidence in members. In fact, for several of us, Leon Perera also featured high on our list of possible successors, given his good Parliament performance. The disadvantage that Perera would face was that he was an NCMP at that time.

“With elected MPs in the WP, the SG should preferably be an elected MP who could have a ground to be rooted in. Since Singh was able to take the role and was the best fit, many of us decided to put our support behind him. Race never came into our consideration. Two of our preferred candidates for the SG post were non-Chinese.”

‘Journey in Blue: A Peek into the Workers’ Party of Singapore‘ is available at all major bookstores. You can also get your hands on an autographed copy at shopee.com/faithyee.

Share this:

No voting for pm
Pm is decided by party
So why is our prob? Diu :biggrin:

Malaysian teaching sinkies how to choose president

the irony
an ah neh
imported by mat salleh brits to malaya
migrates to renegade tiny port city state (also money laundering and tax evasion hub) of malaya, now known as stinkypura. filled to the brim with kuffar pendatang chinks CECa dan lain-lain

now dishes out unsolicited advice on general elections to stinkies (which is a fake nationality in any case coz stinkypura is a fake artificial construct and may not last this decade)

Singaporeans are ready for a non-chinese PM but the PAP is not.

The PAP has always used the 'divide and conquer' method to rule, which I suspect was inherited from the Brits.

Race, class, social status, PMETs and blue-collar workers.

Everyone gets distracted by the fabricated drama, they forgot about the true enemy. :cool:

The PAP has always used the 'divide and conquer' method to rule, which I suspect was inherited from the Brits.

Race, class, social status, PMETs and blue-collar workers.

Everyone gets distracted by the fabricated drama, they forgot about the true enemy. :cool:
The PAP must stop being racist. Their racist polcies like HDB quota and GRC system don't work. Using race as bogeyman is outdated.

Mendaki, CDAC and Sinda. I rest my case.

By the way, do Eurasians ('Others') have their own 'self-help' group? :wink:

PAP should consider appointing Vivien Balakrishnan as the new Secretary General of the party as he considered non Chinese....and/or wait next election WP wins and then Pritam Singh will be next PM.

Liddat pow Singapore got non Chinese PM in 2025.

PM as black as charcoal or a President white as snow, nothing will change in Sinkiepoor as long as Familee controls the Cuntry Finances.

PAP should consider appointing Vivien Balakrishnan as the new Secretary General of the party as he considered non Chinese....and/or wait next election WP wins and then Pritam Singh will be next PM.

Liddat pow Singapore got non Chinese PM in 2025.

Vivian is a mixed breed mongrel, partially Chinese. If you want to get an ethnic minority PM just to virtue signal about 'multiculturalism' or 'diversity', you might as well appoint a purebreed darker specimen. :cool:

Nothing to do with Singaporeans it is up to the political parties.
KNN bhai correct lo those audience were merely dummy puppets KNN who will dare to beat ceo to puppies other than my uncle KNN now imagine many audience in a company and you said aloud this how would he leeact ? KNN my uncle can tell you they will skip the subject and quickly move to other topics aka turn into puppies KNN tested by my uncle many times KNN

This kind of things very interesting one KNN ceo etc highly on top will think that they have the privilege to say anything they want but if they encounter my uncle they cham lo KNN becas they will not be able to leecover what they have said in front of a audience KNN

Vivian is a mixed breed mongrel, partially Chinese. If you want to get an ethnic minority PM just to virtue signal about 'multiculturalism' or 'diversity', you might as well appoint a purebreed darker specimen. :cool:

The gahmen is very good at certifying races when they want it....Indian father can become Melayu so Indian father can also be Chinese ?