• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Islandwide chime to remind Sillyporeans to recite the pledge

• Thread starter Thread starter suicidalpap
  • Start date Start date
S

suicidalpap

Chime to sound island-wide to remind S'poreans to join in One Voice 2010

A chime would sound 20 seconds prior to the start of One Voice 2010 over the island-wide Public Warning System (PWS) on August 9.

This is to invite Singaporeans to recite the National Pledge and sing the National Anthem at 8.10pm.

They will do so in unison with the thousands of people celebrating NDP 2010 at the Padang and five heartland locations.

The type of chime to be used would be the PWS Chime Test Signal.

The chime over the PWS will not be activated at the Padang and five heartlands locations where the celebrations are taking place 'live'.
------------------------------------------------------------------
We the sillyzens of Singapore
Pledge ourselves as one united........
-

I have been reciting the pledge for umpteen years in school....must I be reminded to recite it???...what pride do I get when I recite it now, for tomorrow, I may not have a job, for it might be taken away from me by FT..and the government of today is not protecting me, but encouraging it...

wtf I recite the pledge?

PAP should have the common sense to know, if you want patriotism from the people, your policies should truly benefit the people. An Average Joe in Singapore is pretty much screwed in his life, he has to work 20-30 years to repay finish a housing loan of a three-room flat and has to contribute to CPF (which he may never get back) and fears his jobs being taken from FT anyday. I do not think he has the mood for patriotism.

Look at Down Under. The Aussies are patriotic without having their govt to use chimes as the citizens are taken care of. The Aussie bosses favour their own blokes and if an Aussie bloke can't find a job, at least he got welfare. Naturally, patriotism is quite evident there and much flags were hanged when Australia was playing in the World Cup 2010 finals.

The PWS could have been put to really good use during the three floods in June / July. They could have sounded the alert to get people to tune in to the mass media. In turn the media could have warned people of floods and told them not to drive to flooded areas.

Instead the PWS stayed silent and the media avoided the 'F' word throughout the time there were floods. All the Presstapo radio would say was that there were "traffic situations". This doubtless led to people bringing their vehicles into flooded areas and getting stuck.

It was only much later that the floods were reported.

And now they want to abuse the PWS for this kind of RUBBISH!

I have been reciting the pledge for umpteen years in school....must I be reminded to recite it???...what pride do I get when I recite it now, for tomorrow, I may not have a job, for it might be taken away from me by FT..and the government of today is not protecting me, but encouraging it...

wtf I recite the pledge?[/QUOTE

Why recite the pledge when it has no meaning? Why sing the national anthlem when we can't even understand what we are singing? PAP is really scared that they will be out of power soon.

Velma, you are right. A patriotic citizen need not be prompted by the govt. to recite the pledge. But we cannot be patriotic because our govt. is betraying us and selling away our birth rights.

wtf I recite the pledge?[/QUOTE

Why recite the pledge when it has no meaning? Why sing the national anthlem when we can't even understand what we are singing? PAP is really scared that they will be out of power soon.

The best part of it all, the children of today speaks half past six Mandarin & English, recite the pledge in English & sing the National Anthem in Malay, in which they do not have the faintest idea, what it means.

Go do a straw poll of the kids...ask what does Majullah Singapura mean...or mari kita, rakyat... means?:D especially the Chinese speaking ones...

If in Geylang thrusting halfway, must unthrust and recite the National Pledge :confused:

agree.

always think it is meaningless singing nation anthem in a language I don't understand. I refuse to sing anthem or recite pledge even when I was a kid in primary school.

Last GE, WP made the crowd recite pledge in last minutes of final rally. I saw everybody recite the pledge. I almost followed suit but thought for a while and decided not to.

Chime to sound island-wide to remind S'poreans to join in One Voice 2010

A chime would sound 20 seconds prior to the start of One Voice 2010 over the island-wide Public Warning System (PWS) on August 9.

This is to invite Singaporeans ............
------------------------------------------------------------------
We the sillyzens of Singapore
Pledge ourselves as one united........
-

......To get ready their middle finger and UP YOURS your country.

wtf I recite the pledge?

The gahmen oredi raised GST to help the poor. What more u want? 3 meals in a restaurant? Chey!

Sinkies should do what they want to do. Not what the bureaucracy tells them to do!

agree.

always think it is meaningless singing nation anthem in a language I don't understand. I refuse to sing anthem or recite pledge even when I was a kid in primary school.

Last GE, WP made the crowd recite pledge in last minutes of final rally. I saw everybody recite the pledge. I almost followed suit but thought for a while and decided not to.

Wah, before old fart LKY said the pledge is only an aspiration, you already knew it.:)

Our pledge

We the Oppressed of Singapore
Pledge ourselves to rid of MIW
regardless of SAF, SPF or ISD
to re-instituted a democratic society
based on REAL justice and equality
so as to achieve HAPPINESS, REAL PROSPERITY and PROGESS for OUR NATION.

wtf I recite the pledge?

I am sure they don't teach you the constitution and your rights in school so that you won't know what you should get in return for loyalty to he country.

I am also curious about this.

What do they teach to little sinkies nowadays?

Anything about politics, rights and constitution? :mad: