Share already right? What did I miss? That he got dismissed from NUS officially for mis-using small claims, and "not" because he was involved in opposition politics? Dr Vasoo is still at NUS - just saw him talking to a prof in the canteen about the Vijeysingha affair.
Whether the NUS dismissal was linked to him contesting under Oppo/SDP or not is unclear. But did he or did he not MISUSE NUS $$?
You could stretch it to say when we use office phone to make private call, that is also misuse. The difference is, not everyone is contesting under Oppo/SDP. So either the young CSJ was naive or he had an agenda. I will PRETEND it was naivety, FOR NOW.
That Dr Chee is an intelligent person? And has always come up with clear critiques and policy alternatives? (Though he didn't manage to communicate them to many people - but the deck was so stacked against him.)
That he was brave? And willing to commit civil disobedience repeatedly (just like Gandhi, like South Africans under Apartheid, like blacks during the Civil Rights Movement). He got sued so often just for speaking without a permit (and he applied for permits but was always rejected), for protesting in public, etc. Barisan Socialis people were brave too (Chia Thye Poh was incarcerated for 23 years, and spent 6 more years under house arrest - longer than Mandela's 27 years!) - but they were not from Chee's era. Many chose exile. Chee is the only one with the appetite to practise consistent civil disobedience over many years (and he stands on the shoulders of so many giants like the Operation Spectrum folks, like Barisan Sosialis people, like JBJ, Francis Seow, Tang Liang Hong).
I think I've said enough about CSJ. He is not a White Scum, and he is still useful to my hope of seeing more COMPETITION that always, always benefits the consumers. Let's move on.
One thing's for sure, I dun have AS HIGH an admiration of CSJ as you do. Period.
And on those "giants" you'd mentioned, before you continue your unconditioned love for them, consider also about what they'd done, who they were, BEFORE their falling-out with the White Scums.
Sure he's got his flaws - but Gandhi and Mandela had their flaws too (Mandela for advocating violence against Apartheid, Gandhi for wife abuse etc). (And not all good people get recognised for their contributions, right?) Maybe Shanmugam has his flaws too (like Michael Palmer and Yaw Shin Leong), but we can't prove it. But when you ask him a direct question about it - he evades the issue. (Aung San Suu Kyi seems kinda free of major flaws though - other than valuing her country more than her family? But that's why we admire her right)
As I'd said about CSJ, let's move on, as long as you dun compare him to the other World Class, recognized people's champions
You listen too much to Grace Fu and Tan Chuan Jin lah. (And you put too much emphasis on big bucks, and too little emphasis on freedom, family time, reputation, etc. I don't understand why we want to worship people who can earn big bucks - you see even Grace and Chuan Jin say it's not about the money - it's about family and privacy...)
Their sacrifice to enter politics is big - I don't deny that (and it's even bigger for opposition politicians like Chen Show Mao). I respect and admire their willingness to commit (but not Grace Fu's attitude - TCJ is much better). But when I compare their sacrifice to that made by Dr Chee - I'm sorry but Dr Chee sacrificed so much more.
He got dismissed from an academic career at NUS.
He got bankrupted by defamation lawsuits.
He got smeared in the media - ugly photos and all - and became a villain to so many Singaporeans.
He protested again and again and got fined and jailed repeatedly.
Whew. What a mouthful. I don't usually tell my ex-students this much actually. Those young punks have better things to do (like going out with girls, or playing soccer) than listen to me yak and I agree with them.
This is what I'd wrote:
>
It's not like he was earning big bucks and he willingly traded that to be able to be an alternate voice.
<
"Big bucks" was just an EXAMPLE, no less an EXAMPLE of sacrifices. You wrote so much, just about my little example, suggests that you "listen too much" to the superficial meaning of my comments, went down the wrong track and MISSED the key point.
(You can see I have type the key words in CAPITAL letters now, esp for you)
The difference among sacrifices is whether it is made WILLINGLY/KNOWINGLY or not. CSM WILLINGLY, KNOWINGLY quit his highly positioned, World-wide recognized, well paid job to contest in Aljunied GRC with a 50-50 chance. The worse is, he is now showered with the many ridiculing from the daft, silent 60% and fake 40%.
Let's move on, before I talk more than I should, ended up with less VIABLE competitors to choose from. Shall we?