• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

is prostitution in singapore illegal?

god_zeus

someone I know adamantly said it is illegal

I said if it was illegal
then how those geylang prostitute do their business?

I mean the 'legal' one with shopspace and red color address
and glass panel where you view the girls before going in, not the stand by the roadside type...that one I know is illegal...
my friend argue that even the 'red' color address also 'illegal'

only PAP close one eye only...

is it true?

one of my friend was so 'conditioned' by the regrime that
when we went there and saw police car park in front of a red color address house
he panicked..
I told him that even policeman also need to release...sometimes

anything the govt didnt gain is consider illegal.:rolleyes:

by giving license to whore house, dey are legal.
gt pay license fee to govt wan, still illegal meh?
:D

Prostitution is legal. Only brothels and solicitation are regulated.

It's the same as e.g. lending money for interest is legal, but banks and finance companies must be registered and regulated. Or gambling and lottery is legal, but pools, clubs and casinos must be registered and regulated. Or cigarette smoking is legal, but must have paid duty and display health warning etc.

Back to prostitution, nobody can outlaw a woman agreeing to have sex with a man for a specific sum. Even an MNC HR manageress can agree to sleep with her CEO for payment-in-kind of promotion to CFO or something; an star actress or model agreeing to sleep with an admirer for cash or payment-in-kind. That's still prostitution. The restricting law is about a group of pimps and prostitutes forming a brothel and public solicitation causing discomfort to other public disinterested.

It's a bit back to the recent gambling and gambling den question.

someone I know adamantly said it is illegal

I said if it was illegal
then how those geylang prostitute do their business?

I mean the 'legal' one with shopspace and red color address
and glass panel where you view the girls before going in, not the stand by the roadside type...that one I know is illegal...
my friend argue that even the 'red' color address also 'illegal'

only PAP close one eye only...

is it true?

one of my friend was so 'conditioned' by the regrime that
when we went there and saw police car park in front of a red color address house
he panicked..
I told him that even policeman also need to release...sometimes

No its not, but there are exceptions to the rules as always

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prostitution_in_Singapore

Prostitution is legal. Only brothels and solicitation are regulated.

It's the same as e.g. lending money for interest is legal, but banks and finance companies must be registered and regulated. Or gambling and lottery is legal, but pools, clubs and casinos must be registered and regulated. Or cigarette smoking is legal, but must have paid duty and display health warning etc.

Back to prostitution, nobody can outlaw a woman agreeing to have sex with a man for a specific sum. Even an MNC HR manageress can agree to sleep with her CEO for payment-in-kind of promotion to CFO or something; an star actress or model agreeing to sleep with an admirer for cash or payment-in-kind. That's still prostitution. The restricting law is about a group of pimps and prostitutes forming a brothel and public solicitation causing discomfort to other public disinterested.

It's a bit back to the recent gambling and gambling den question.

Prostitution per se is not an offence. Soliciting in public is.

wahlaneh...
all sex transactions done behind those doors with 2 redlight lanterns are legal but any "chicken" tries to "steal eat" outside is considered illegal.

can solicit in private? ... is dat oso n offens? ... :confused:

Private solicitation, like in discos, KTVs and pubs NOD - no offence disclosed. Only when you solicit in the streets mata mata will catch the girls. Gals who go thru the internet considered a grey area unless you belong to a syndicate. Anti-vice will raid syndicated vice activities.

So if you pay for a date and ending up having sex with your date is that prostitution?

.......Back to prostitution, nobody can outlaw a woman agreeing to have sex with a man for a specific sum. Even an MNC HR manageress can agree to sleep with her CEO for payment-in-kind of promotion to CFO or something; an star actress or model agreeing to sleep with an admirer for cash or payment-in-kind. That's still prostitution. The restricting law is about a group of pimps and prostitutes forming a brothel and public solicitation causing discomfort to other public disinterested......

So am I correct to say that the most expensive prostitute of Singapore is Ho Jinx?

so, in short it's totally legal to pay someone for sex?

like in the most recent $800 case.

So if you pay for a date and ending up having sex with your date is that prostitution?

wahlaneh...
having sex with ur date is ok mah if both parties agree.
but paying ur date to have sex with other guys might be considered prostitution liao coz there's a transaction of sex going on.
i might be wrong tho.

so, in short it's totally legal to pay someone for sex?

like in the most recent $800 case.

If no one else profits from the deal, it is completely legal. If mamasan or someone else takes a cut, it is an offence under the Women's Charter, I think.

So am I correct to say that the most expensive prostitute of Singapore is Ho Jinx?

If Ho JInx prostitute, her pimp must either be mad or blind. Sure run road coz have to provide hotel room, condoms, food etc and yet no business. You may have to look for 'ducks' to service her. My condolence to the 'duck' even if he is well paid.

If no one else profits from the deal, it is completely legal. If mamasan or someone else takes a cut, it is an offence under the Women's Charter, I think.
that $800 Wawa is taken all by herself? there's no mama or papa to take that cut?

in any case, it's next to impossible to trace. there's no paper or electronic trail. it's mostly cash. or credit card tied to wine/beer/entertainment lumpsum.

saw some of those note books n scrap of papers those mama n papa scribe on. if you are not in the trade, it would not make any sense at all.

that $800 Wawa is taken all by herself? there's no mama or papa to take that cut?

in any case, it's next to impossible to trace. there's no paper or electronic trail. it's mostly cash. or credit card tied to wine/beer/entertainment lumpsum.

saw some of those note books n scrap of papers those mama n papa scribe on. if you are not in the trade, it would not make any sense at all.

If no one gets a cut, no public soliciting, no offence even if gal is paid for sex.
Agree with you - difficult to trace. If goes to court, you need evidence. And the only evidence is the gal's statement which is easy to counter. Why do you think Lido Palace continues to exist even though the 20% cut for mamasans continues even after 20 years?

simi gal to go to court? they probably will be send back n never to appear again.
probably with something like those cross-border case. as soon as they cross the line, they are gone.

Lido palace is an approved location for these sort of services no?

simi gal to go to court? they probably will be send back n never to appear again.
probably with something like those cross-border case. as soon as they cross the line, they are gone.

Lido palace is an approved location for these sort of services no?

If they want to prosecute the pimp, the gal needs to be around. If she goes back before the case, they will get her to return. Whether she does return, no one can tell.

Lido is the pick-up point for the rich, powerful, influential etc if they need a screw. They are not approved by the authorities. The latter merely closes both eyes.

If they want to prosecute the pimp, the gal needs to be around. If she goes back before the case, they will get her to return. Whether she does return, no one can tell.

Lido is the pick-up point for the rich, powerful, influential etc if they need a screw. They are not approved by the authorities. The latter merely closes both eyes.

closing both eyes is technically the same as a silent approval bro GD ;)

If you have no problems with it, you make no noise and take no action

closing both eyes is technically the same as a silent approval bro GD ;)

If you have no problems with it, you make no noise and take no action

Anything and everything only becomes illegal when you are caught! Not caught, not illegal.