• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Insurer Becoming Bully - From a Popular Blog

Leckmichamarsch

Upgrading of Shield plan turned sour

Mr. Wee (not his real name) is in his late 50s. On advice from his friends, he upgraded his Medishield to a private Shield and paid a higher premium. He thought that this would provide higher coverage for his medical expenses, but it turned out to be a nightmare for him.

A few months later, he had a heart condition that required him to be hospitalized on three occasions. Although his private Shield plan allowed him to use B2 ward, he opted for C class ward. The total bill for the three visits was $14,000, which was initially deducted from his Medisave account.

The insurer refused to pay the claims on account of non-declaration of a cancer treatment that occurred 20 years earlier. As there was no recurrence of this problem, Mr. Wee thought that it was a non-issue. The insurer also found that he did not declare his high blood pressure that was under control.

Mr.Wee had been insured under Medishield since its inception. Instead of paying the claims (which is fully recoverable from Medishield), the insurer wanted to cancel the private Shield insurance from inception, and required Mr. Wee to make a claim directly from Medishield But Medishield told Mr. Wee that he should claim under his private Shield, as Mr. Wee had transferred his policy to private Shield for half a year. It would be quite difficult to transfer the insurance back to Medishield retrospectively.

Mr. Wee had to move from one party to another and after a few months, his claim was still not paid. He advised the public not to upgrade to a private Shield from Medishield and faced this type of stress.

Posted by Kin Lian Tan at 11:50 PM
6 comments:
Chee Ming said...

Well, this is Singapore, where people will spend $10 to find out where will their $1 goes to.
October 12, 2012 2:54 AM
Soodo said...
Such cases and the name of the insurer involved should be made known to the public.
Insurers have a right to their commercial practices.
But likewise, the public should also be made aware of such commercial practices. So they can make good decisions with their eyes wide opened.

The entire matter could have been avoided if Mr Wong was allowed to continue to insure himself under Medishield AND take up the additional private shield plan.
Why cannot I really don't know.
Uniquely Singapore?
October 12, 2012 11:25 AM

zhummmeng said...

What about the insurance agent?
Did the agent conduct a thorough fact find and counseling? Did the agent warn him of the need for full disclosure; material medical information that he knew and which he ought to know. It is very often also the fault of the agent who is only interested in the closing the case that the agents would avoid the warning.
I have known of many cases that were been twisted by insurance agents and resulted in exclusions because of the initial high 1st year commission.
MAS must do something about this unethical practice. Agents like them should be hauled up and their license revoked.
Talking of rice bowls being broken when moved to fee based? This is exactly the type of agents whose rice bowl should be broken.
October 12, 2012 11:52 AM

Johnny Kwa said...

Firstly what was an accident is now called "collision" so that payment can be denied while premiums were pccketted these years.
Now we have Insurer refusing to pay even when there was full coverage under Medishield Basic.
All those who insured under CPF Medishield were transferred either to NTUC Income or GE. The instruction given by CPF was that these second-hand insurers must avail themselves as one-stop service provider.
Why is then Mr Wee be pushed around when it is clearly Income? who is to sort all the matter and pay up (they can partial claim from CPF later...). A simple, straight forward matter is made so convoluted. I hope it is not some tricky move to deny Mr Wee his dues.
Another "collision" and NOT accident?
October 12, 2012 6:47 PM

C H Yak said...

Another area where Insurers are exploiting to push away claims are for "Day Surgery" claims...Now more ops are done under "Day Surgery" scheme.

And Insurers are pushing away such claims as they are not considered as "hospitalisation" of more than 6hours.

The problem is compounded when Doctors are telling patients that they could claim from the private Shields or other insurance policies.

Patients better check before hand but Insurers are not giving clear advice.

Unknowingly those who are actually "subsidised" patients and switched to "privatised" status (in case of follow-up ops due to complications) or if they selected their doctors for the day surgery would end up paying paying unsubsidised rates and the Insurers would conveniently push away all claims from "day surgery" and in case of complications - further outpatient treatment costs.

Quite alot in the "excess" ended up being absorbed through the patients' own pockets including the full "day surgery" costs.

Why is our Govt not aware of this?
I think it has become a game of pushing away costs, between the Insurers and Govt Hospitals.
October 13, 2012 11:42 AM

Johnny Kwa said...

Soodo shud've guessed that Insurer is either GE or NTUC Income.
Having some unpleasant experience with the latter, I wud guess Mr Wee's problems to be with INCOME....
October 13, 2012 5:47 PM

WHY ARE INSURERS ALLOWED TO BROWBEAT INSURED? WHAT RE-COURSE IS OPENED TO THEM?

Why stay in a country that has no compassion and follow the rules without using heart and brain.

That is why i say , stay away from sinkies at all cost. your life will be better.

When you sign the contact , that means the insurer must honour it, if not they have to be sued.

theblackhole

It is very important for an insured person to declare everything when you purchase an insurance. Otherwise, if you file a claim and if the insurance company finds out that you did not declare your past medical history (in this case hypertension and cancer ), your claim will not be entertained.

It is not the fault of the insurance company. There is no recourse or redress. It is the duty of the insured person to DECLARE EVERYTHING. Any omision of your past medical history will gravely jeopardise your claims. This is the hard and painful truth.

My friend died suddenly from a brain bleed. His wife filed a claim. The insurance company dug out the deceased's medical history and found out that he had HYPERTENSION which was not declared in his application form. There was ZERO payment to the widow!!! Hard and painful fact. Declare everything and pay a higher premium.It is worth it.

batman1

So many shields.When the insurer (GE) invite me to upgrade to higher-class enhanced medishied yearly and repeated,mean pay higher premiums,I just threw it into the dustbin.Fark lah,the govt and private insurers all want to suck your blood till u die.

theblackhole

So many shields.When the insurer (GE) invite me to upgrade to higher-class enhanced medishied yearly and repeated,mean pay higher premiums,I just threw it into the dustbin.Fark lah,the govt and private insurers all want to suck your blood till u die.

It is very painful to keep on increasing the premium - even when you are growing older and retired. It is very painful. But if you do not have any insurance to cover your hospital stay, it is going to be very tough on you and your family.

The policy is this: you have to pay CASH upfront and then file the claim later. This claim can take weeks!!! On the average, you have to place a deposit for a 5 day stay in hospital and this amount can be pretty big. Why can't they deduct directly from the Medisave ? I suppose many of us have our own Medisave and our own Private Insurance. So why must pay a big deposit upfront? Sometimes, the patient is discharged earlier, less than 5 days and the balance is not returned even after several weeks.

Something should be done to lessen the financial burden on the patient and the care-givers.

cass888

Fuck you Tonychat. This motherfucker obviously had a PEI and didn't declare and now wants to act blur. If all PEIs are covered, the premiums of the rest of us will go up.

Why stay in a country that has no compassion and follow the rules without using heart and brain.

That is why i say , stay away from sinkies at all cost. your life will be better.

When you sign the contact , that means the insurer must honour it, if not they have to be sued.

cass888

EXACTLY. Trust these opposition pigs to twist a situation.

It is very important for an insured person to declare everything when you purchase an insurance. Otherwise, if you file a claim and if the insurance company finds out that you did not declare your past medical history (in this case hypertension and cancer ), your claim will not be entertained.

It is not the fault of the insurance company. There is no recourse or redress. It is the duty of the insured person to DECLARE EVERYTHING. Any omision of your past medical history will gravely jeopardise your claims. This is the hard and painful truth.

My friend died suddenly from a brain bleed. His wife filed a claim. The insurance company dug out the deceased's medical history and found out that he had HYPERTENSION which was not declared in his application form. There was ZERO payment to the widow!!! Hard and painful fact. Declare everything and pay a higher premium.It is worth it.

sadfcuk

Unfortunately, what theblackhole says is true.

It isn't the insurance company that's at fault. You need to just declare everything upfront. If in doubt, ask the insurer.
You can't expect to be spoon-fed all these things nowadays. Even when buying big-ticket items, ask the salesman if you have doubts and don't assume.

You can't blame them for voiding your claims if you forgot (or refuse) to declare a certain ailment/condition, however small or insignificant it may have been in the past.

Seems like plenty of cases nowadays where people don't read the fineprint, and just pay for the product. When things goes tits up, they blame the company... :smile:

cass888

Don't kid yourself. Let's call a spade a spade. They purposely don't disclose hoping that the insurance company will not find out.

Seems like plenty of cases nowadays where people don't read the fineprint, and just pay for the product. When things goes tits up, they blame the company... :smile:

theblackhole

Most insurance companies will not cover any PRE EXISTING MEDICAL CONDITIONS. Some will cover but with higher premiums. But from my experience, most if not ALL insurance companies now DO NOT COVER. They will reject the applicant.

So if you have any medical condition, please take good care of your own conditions and please make sure that you do not do anything to land yourself in hospital. But again, no matter how careful you are, you will land in the hospital with any of the complications or even after a fall . Many elderly sustain fractures very easily.

So you only have your MEDISAVE to help you.

cass888

Not true. If you have a fall, it is not the PEI. So it will be covered.

Most insurance companies will not cover any PRE EXISTING MEDICAL CONDITIONS. Some will cover but with higher premiums. But from my experience, most if not ALL insurance companies now DO NOT COVER. They will reject the applicant.

So if you have any medical condition, please take good care of your own conditions and please make sure that you do not do anything to land yourself in hospital. But again, no matter how careful you are, you will land in the hospital with any of the complications or even after a fall . Many elderly sustain fractures very easily.

So you only have your MEDISAVE to help you.

Leckmichamarsch

\\

David to fight Goliah? In one corner we got Davinder Singh....... & in the other corner, Mickey Maus

Leckmichamarsch

Not true. If you have a fall, it is not the PEI. So it will be covered.

Why did they takeover CPF's insured and become cherry pickers when the insured wanted to upgrade?
In taking over from CPF, CPF has avoided his primary social responsibility towards sgians.

Leckmichamarsch

Unfortunately, what theblackhole says is true.

It isn't the insurance company that's at fault. You need to just declare everything upfront. If in doubt, ask the insurer.
You can't expect to be spoon-fed all these things nowadays. Even when buying big-ticket items, ask the salesman if you have doubts and don't assume.

You can't blame them for voiding your claims if you forgot (or refuse) to declare a certain ailment/condition, however small or insignificant it may have been in the past.

YOU seem to have forgotten that when CPF was running the scheme, insured can upgrade automatically with NO questions asked. Why it is different the moment it is transferred to the wolves?

Leckmichamarsch

It is very painful to keep on increasing the premium - even when you are growing older and retired. It is very painful. But if you do not have any insurance to cover your hospital stay, it is going to be very tough on you and your family.

The policy is this: you have to pay CASH upfront and then file the claim later. This claim can take weeks!!! On the average, you have to place a deposit for a 5 day stay in hospital and this amount can be pretty big. Why can't they deduct directly from the Medisave ? I suppose many of us have our own Medisave and our own Private Insurance. So why must pay a big deposit upfront? Sometimes, the patient is discharged earlier, less than 5 days and the balance is not returned even after several weeks.

Something should be done to lessen the financial burden on the patient and the care-givers.

I hv a fren whose claims were not settled after 4 months! Meanwhile his medisave acct was raided n he cud not do anything about it. The world has changed since adminstered by PAP's scholars....?

Leckmichamarsch

Why is it the case when hypertension is absolutely under control & can be proven to be so?????
Bloody absurd n tyrannical isn't it??

Char_Azn

Think its unfair to blame the insurance company 100% in this case since its the guy who failed to declare so many things. Hypertension aside, previous case of Cancer also don't declare, a bit dubious liao

Hans168

Think its unfair to blame the insurance company 100% in this case since its the guy who failed to declare so many things. Hypertension aside, previous case of Cancer also don't declare, a bit dubious liao

I think you missed the whole point: Mr Wee chose C ward hospitalisations & is claiming against his medishield now under Income? ... although he was entitled to B2 (before denial by Income?), he din do so. Under the circumstance, why shud Mr Wee be blamed at all?

His original CPF Medishield is still intact although Income? wud be fervently hoping it expired! Is it fair to someone who has been paying premiums for past 20 years? Come off it, mate!