• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

insatiable greed! breaktalk and toastbox chain open today CNY Day1

I passed by a Toastbox just now... was almost tempted to buy food from it. Almost.

There were some people queuing up... some of whom I suspect to be FTs.

For that kind of money ($6.50 for laksa or curry chicken) I would rather eat at McDonald's than to give more money to George Quek's empire.

Fuck you George Quek. :oIo:

All the employes are non Singaporean. I don't see the problem. That's free enterprise.

I passed by a Toastbox just now... was almost tempted to buy food from it. Almost.

There were some people queuing up... some of whom I suspect to be FTs.

For that kind of money ($6.50 for laksa or curry chicken) I would rather eat at McDonald's than to give more money to George Quek's empire.

Fuck you George Quek. :oIo:

If you like burgers remind to SIAM Carl Jr in Sg too....own by the same fucktard. I've boycotted it here.
It's a pity coz I actually like Carl Jr

SINGAPORE : BreadTalk's founder and managing director, George Quek, has been charged with drink-driving.

The 48-year-old also faces another charge of driving without due care or reasonable consideration.

The Subordinate Courts heard that in the early hours of 8 October 2004, Mr Quek had apparently lost control of his Porsche, and crashed into a police car at a road block along Ang Mo Kio Avenue 1.

He is believed to have been drunk at that time.

It is not known if anyone was seriously injured in the accident.

Another vehicle was also involved in the collision.

The entrepreneur, who runs the bakery chain BreadTalk, is out on S$5,000 bail.

He is expected to appear in court again next month.

If found guilty, the businessman may be fined S$5,000, or jailed for up to six months.

He may also lose his driver's licence.

For the charge of driving without due care, he could face a fine of S$1,000 and a six-month jail term.

Mr Quek, who holds an honorary PhD in Business Administration, was the winner of the "Entrepreneur of the Year" award in 2002. - CNA /ct

Breedtok chairman Gorge Quek was fined the maximum of $6,000 yesterday for drunk, but escaped the customary jail sentence for the crime.

Magistrate Sibei Lwee Bin ruled out a jail sentence for Quek, 48, because of the mitigating circumstances of the case, a decision that was met with whoops of joy from his family members in the courtroom yesterday.

Since Chief Justice Yong Pung How declared in 1992 that jail sentences should be handed out to all no money drunk-driving offenders, very few people convicted of the crime have escaped being put behind bars.

But yesterday, Magistrate Sibei Lwee Bin said that while prison terms have been customary for such offences, sentencing precedents were only guidelines.

The magistrate noted that Quek had demonstrated genuine remorse and had tried to compensate the traffic ninjas the very next day.

All in cahoots lah , kangaroo judge Yong Pung How was also a jiu hoo kia :oIo:

The magistrate noted that Quek had demonstrated genuine remorse and had tried to compensate the traffic ninjas the very next day.

That is the advantage of being rich....sinkies, how, can swallow this hard truth or not.

I have time and time remind sinkees not too be hungry ghosts, forget already?

Quite a few retail and F&B outlets were open today.

In addition to the above, Han's in Century Square Tampines was open, so was Sakae Sushi in Marina Square. Most of the supermarkets including NTUC FairPrice, Giant@ Suntec, Cold Storage and the other brands in Dairy Farm chain were also open. Ikea and they yummy meatballs were also available today.

Gone are the days when CNY day one was a major shut down in business.

Yeah, go void deck for Chinese New year satay sold by the mats.

morning i ate roti prata.ah neh charge me $2.2 for 1 egg prata.$2.80 for cheeze prata he say is cny..price increase.
evening i ate malay rice...$6.20 ..for 1 veg, 1 potato 1 chicken wing.i never ask why..sure she will tell me cny..pay loh.
so when hari raya and deepavali arrived, why didnt the chink do the same too?
puzzle:confused:

morning i ate roti prata.ah neh charge me $2.2 for 1 egg prata.$2.80 for cheeze prata he say is cny..price increase.
evening i ate malay rice...$6.20 ..for 1 veg, 1 potato 1 chicken wing.i never ask why..sure she will tell me cny..pay loh.

The non-Chinese ethnic minorities in Singapore seldom patronize Chinese food stalls... either they're afraid of offending their god's dietary restriction, or they find the food too bland for their taste.

why bother eating from these type of stalls. Chinese stalls should charge them more.

Normal. Not CNY, Chinese will also be charged more. Everyone knows this. their own people, cheep cheep lar.