• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Increase intake of local medical students at NUS

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Increase intake of local medical students at NUS
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->I REFER to Sunday's article, "1,000 foreign-trained docs still not enough".

As reflected in the article, the shortage of doctors has prompted the Health Ministry, SingHealth and National Healthcare Group to recruit overseas-trained doctors from Britain, Australia and India. Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan has also noted the need for Singapore to have a third medical school.
Of the two medical schools here, the Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School grooms mainly 50 researchers yearly. In effect, there is only one medical school - at the National University of Singapore (NUS), producing 260 students a year.
The stringent selection criteria for medical students at NUS have meant that many students who are interested in a career in medicine have no choice but to opt for an expensive education overseas. With no scholarship or subsidy, it is indeed a costly affair. Local medical students schooled overseas are less likely to return to Singapore to practise.
The Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) requires medics for their operations. Foreign doctors would not be familiar with the SAF's standard operating procedures, not having gone through Basic Military Training.
Wooing expatriate doctors would entail the Health Ministry having to subsidise these doctors with taxpayers' money. Foreign doctors could also charge exorbitant medical fees as they would require an income to match the cost of living back in their home countries.
Instead of recruiting foreign doctors, I urge the Health Ministry to increase the intake of local medical students at NUS in the short term before a third medical school is set up.
Locally groomed doctors are better able to relate to the health-care scene here and would have established a network of contacts. This would enhance the efficiency of medical treatments as cross-referrals can be made quickly. Tan Toon Wei

suwrap31m.jpg

Mai lah! Like this no excuse to bring in more FTs to replace Sporns! *hee*hee*

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>The shortage was inevitable when you have 1 in 3 persons on the street a foreigner - maids, FW, FT and tourists!
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: commentator_sc at Tue Mar 31 13:38:31 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=AlternatePost style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>you put DOCTORS in National Service and after that they leave, of course, not enough doctors

you put strict criterias on entry into medical school in NUS, of course, no doctors and you get half past six doctors from overseas and later find some of them with degrees which may not be recognised - then what?

send them to where?
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: csanson2004 at Tue Mar 31 13:34:47 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Imagine if ppl like us who understand English are having problem communicating with these foreign docs, then what about those illiterate elderly patients?

My mum who used to be very independent and doesn’t need anyone to accompany her to medical checkups is now asking for my company bcos she’s getting a bit ‘scared, scared’ of so often having to go through the ‘Chicken-Duck Talk’ with these foreign docs!
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: kampongkid at Tue Mar 31 12:28:59 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=AlternatePost style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Given Singapore's population (residents) explosion, especially through foreign influx, it is not surprising that the ratio of doctors to residents have not kept up.

But training more local doctors could also possibly result in a glut when the number of residents drop, or rather, the number of high income residents drop.

Eye Specialists are already engaging in cut-throat competition to offer Lasik operations, with free seminars etc.

While patients may think they'll benefit when the supply of doctors are relatively high compared to demand, it does not necessarily work out for the best.

For one, there's the temptation for doctors to prescribe checks that might not be necessary just to cover their costs.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: coolbeagle at Tue Mar 31 12:06:52 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE class=Post style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>I brought my mum to TTSH emergency some time ago, and to my surprise was attended to by a Thai doctor. I didn't know what the heck she was talking about and we couldn't communicate at all. Which Thai university can I go to to train as a doctor in Singapore, may I ask? Bloody double standards. If I were to be a medical student in Singapore I'd be really pissed off.

Expensive medical school here, need to serve NS and compete with foreign students at NUS... A 40 year old orthopaedic surgeon once told me that he had to serve his reservist at SAF so couldn't make it to see his patients for a month. Slog like sh** here, at the end of the day what do u get?? When these doctors move to private sector the hospital resorts to employing looney goons from third world countries, instead of trying to find out the root of the problem. What kind of policy making is this?

Increase the local medical faculty cohort of students and allow more leeway for local doctors. Give them more leave, increase their pay and fund more research activities for them. Stop treating this like the construction industry.

</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: MichiganOne at Tue Mar 31 11:15:41 SGT 2009
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

annexa

How much they pay the Health Ministry Perm Sec to do this kind of good planning?
How about the NUS Medicine planning people who agree to this MOH number?

Did the PMO know about this number when planning the population and approving the FT number?

littlefish

How much they pay the Health Ministry Perm Sec to do this kind of good planning?
How about the NUS Medicine planning people who agree to this MOH number?

Did the PMO know about this number when planning the population and approving the FT number?

I have been saying for a long time that there was no extensive consideration of the issues that may crop up with the free-flow importation of foreigners. It is a quick-fix solution that will raise many other problems. However, to the PAP, they are only interested in the bottomline, all other issues are not their problems. The only thing I don't understand is why are Singaporeans so glad to pay their exorbitant salaries for such myopic decisions.

shelltox

When singaporeans complain about the high cost of our medical bills, they dont acknowledge the fact that manpower and structural cost amounts to a huge part of the medical expenses of a hospital. We cant have our cake and eat it, 又要马儿又要马儿不吃草!
The public hosptials are trying to contain the rising cost by employing foreign doctors.
Our own talent after serving their bond period would most likely goes into private practice. They would enjoy better incomes and more freedom . complain complain complain. The foreign doctors are here to stay and for those local talents that think of migrating, they would be considered foreign talents and would be ostracised as what the forumers are doing to our foreign talent. Remember, what goes around comes around.

>>>Did the PMO know about this number when planning the population and approving the FT number?<<<

suwrap31m.jpg

Daddy only had 2 DPMs to help him crunch nos. then. It could be worse. Now you understand why I need to have 1 MM, 2SMs and 2 DPMs? *hee*hee*