• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Impatient Hawkers Stirring Trouble At The New Hipster Pasir Ris Central Hawker Centre!

bp_hawker_300718_80.jpg

SINGAPORE (THE NEW PAPER) - Several hawkers have complained about the alleged poor management of the Pasir Ris Central Hawker Centre.

The centre, which had its grand opening on July 14 after starting operations in January, is run by NTUC Foodfare and has 42 stalls over two floors.

Some stallholders told The New Paper, on condition of anonymity, that NTUC Foodfare disbursed takings from cashless transactions to them only after five months.

They also complained of tables not being cleared by the cleaning contractors, and of crockery being damaged by the dishwashers.

Each of them pays $4,000 to $5,000 a month, which includes $850 for dishwashing, $550 for table-clearing, and $150 for the cashless payment service.

A tenant who contacted TNP said the management had initially informed tenants that the cashless transactions would be disbursed within 1½ months.

He said: "It was only after a formal e-mail was sent to higher management with a copy to the CEO that action was taken."

When TNP went to the centre, several hawkers said they were upset with how it was being run.

A stallholder said that about five stalls had closed since its opening in January because of poor business.

The hawkers also shared photographs of some of the cleaning crew sleeping, and piles of dishes left untouched on tables.

When TNP was there, several trays and dishes remained uncleared for close to an hour.

There have also been complaints about uncleared tables on the centre's Facebook page.

DIFFICULTIES
Replying to TNP's queries, a NTUC Foodfare spokesman said it had faced some difficulties because of a delay in the extraction of transaction records for disbursement.

"However, we managed to make the first tranche of disbursement for Feb/March transactions to the tenants on June 1," she said.

After the system stabilised, a second disbursement was made on July 1, and subsequent transactions will be disbursed monthly, the spokeman added.

NTUC Foodfare has refunded the fees for the cashless system up to June 30 out of goodwill.

However, it refuted the claims about the non-clearing of tables, stressing that the cleaning contractors had performed their duties as set out in the contract.

It was previously reported that the opening of the centre, which was touted as offering both traditional fare and "hipster" cuisine, was marred by delays after being scheduled to open last November.

A stallholder said: "There have been problems with the management since the beginning, and while there has been slight improvements, the problems are still there."

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ris-centre-upset-over-cashless-payment-system

Those trouble makers should be kicked out of the premises. If business is bad it's because their food is shit.

Wow NTUC is really a big dick.... receive payment instantly from cashless transactions, but only choose to pay the poor stall owners FIVE MONTHS LATER?!

Nowadays not 90 days payment terms meh? Cheebye sia!

NTUC better start sacking those arseholes running foolsfare they r a disgrace, even amk hub in shamble. 一落千丈

Wow NTUC is really a big dick.... receive payment instantly from cashless transactions, but only choose to pay the poor stall owners FIVE MONTHS LATER?!

NTUC has always fought for the poor and downtrodden. It's name is synonymous with workers' rights. Do not insult NTUC.

Anyone who pays up to $5000 in monthly rent for a hawker centre stall that is located in a remote town not even near the Pasir Ris MRT station or bus interchange deserves to close down.

I've been there once and the place is located at a corner across a vast field of grass from the MRT and bus interchange - there is no traffic flow towards that direction as anyone getting down from the bus or MRT needs to walk across a long distance of empty land and cross a traffic junction before they can reach. There are no retail shops or housing cluster located nearby and to make matters worse, the hawker centre is directionally right smack in line of the afternoon sun making the place baking hot and uncomfortable.

The food ain't cheap either. The first floor which consists mostly of "low SES" hawker food stalls are selling at shopping centre food court prices whereas the second floor which houses mostly "atas" fusion food is selling at almost cafe prices, i.e. $8-$12 for one pax. Why anyone would bother to walk there in sweltering heat when they can get a much more pleasant environment at the conveniently located White Sands mall at the same price is beyond me.

The only saving grace is a large multi story carpark beside it coupled with a thin crowd guarantees a parking slot for those who drive out from work for their meals.

Wtf is NTUC doing in food business ? Stay with managing supermarket.

Why criticized your own pap fans club members leh?:roflmao:

The fault lies with the MPs for not managing this landmark hawker centre well. This is the only hawker centre in Pasir Ris and it has gone to the dogs. These six clowns must be held accountable. Hara kiri would be a good solution.

pasir-ris-punggol-grc-team---2068038.png

NTUC has a finger in every pie! It is a business geared towards profits. Welfare is just a secondary concern; some even say an afterthought! Lanjiao or ranjiao NTUC!

Consider 5 months lucky. I think suppliers to their supermarket get same treatment. Maybe even longer.

NTUC has always fought for the poor and downtrodden. It's name is synonymous with workers' rights. Do not insult NTUC.
foodfare is fuckcare - imagine not being paid your share to cover your food purchases, bills, wages etc for 5 months...
plain trading on the down and poor vendors, even the food served at orchid country club is crap! :poop:
U join NTUC only when u work in a supermarket or u wanna rent a chalet.
agree absolutely, both needs passion - either for work or when you have use the chalet for short-time purposes :wink:

Hawker centre try to hip simi lan, i see all these newer hawker centres all their business sibei cham... i go old hawker centers, cannot find seats and all the stalls are taken up.

The Jurong West hawker centre is worst, most stalls already closed.

Anyone who pays up to $5000 in monthly rent for a hawker centre stall that is located in a remote town not even near the Pasir Ris MRT station or bus interchange deserves to close down.

I've been there once and the place is located at a corner across a vast field of grass from the MRT and bus interchange - there is no traffic flow towards that direction as anyone getting down from the bus or MRT needs to walk across a long distance of empty land and cross a traffic junction before they can reach. There are no retail shops or housing cluster located nearby and to make matters worse, the hawker centre is directionally right smack in line of the afternoon sun making the place baking hot and uncomfortable.

The food ain't cheap either. The first floor which consists mostly of "low SES" hawker food stalls are selling at shopping centre food court prices whereas the second floor which houses mostly "atas" fusion food is selling at almost cafe prices, i.e. $8-$12 for one pax. Why anyone would bother to walk there in sweltering heat when they can get a much more pleasant environment at the conveniently located White Sands mall at the same price is beyond me.

The only saving grace is a large multi story carpark beside it coupled with a thin crowd guarantees a parking slot for those who drive out from work for their meals.

Sinkies are always the suckees

NTUC has a finger in every pie! It is a business geared towards profits. Welfare is just a secondary concern; some even say an afterthought! Lanjiao or ranjiao NTUC!

Even into undertakers hor

NTUC is a real BIG BULLY in business!! Every business they also want a hand in it including Undertakers job at Sing Ming Rd!!

Leaving local papa and mama shop no business! Supplier balls are squeezed, have to pay for rental slot at their Supermart, advertisement full page supplier got to pay!! NTUC pays Nothing!! Credit term 6 months or more!! Contractors who renovation and signage balls are squeezed payment same thing 6 months later!!

Now Pasir Ris is run by NTUC if they happened at Oppie ward BLOODY balls licking asshole John Tan will come here KPKB making hell of a noise!! When this happened in PAP ward he keep quiet!! Fuck you lah John Tan!

Imagine not getting paid for 5 months! I cannot think of any low menial job where u wait 5 months before u get paid! Truly world-crass first world standards!