• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

IKEA Employs Singaporeans!

The fact that a foreign company is willing to take the lead and announce that they want to hire Sinkies is already above and beyond their core objectives, which is to make money.

It's like giving DBS and Dirty Harry and Ho Jinx a slap in the face, even local bosses are not willing to make such commitment.

As for what post, it's up to Ikea really, no one else have the right to demand for managerial post, you complain is childish and illogical, no one owe us a living, majority of sinkies voted for a wayang gov that never really help, now you want to demand managerial post from a private company?

How ungrateful can one be.

As to those Managers that came up with this idea in Ikea, please ignore childish and unreasonable complain like this, I'm sure majority appreciate your gesture, please continue to hire as many locals as you can, whatever post available.
are u not contradicting yourself? If no one owes you a living, then u should not complain even if companies hire all foreigners for all jobs. Anyways they are not termed as FT - they are known as FL - foreign labours.

If we are just content with filling jobs (lower rung jobs) are we not submitting ourselves to being "colonised". The IRs are only happy to hire locals for menial jobs at miserable pay. You work day in day out, but you are only fit to work as menial jobs with no opportunities to move upwards.

Einfield

I would rather a company hires locals for the lower positions than have the top management held by locals and all the rest by FTs which is the exact situation in SG now.

Well Said.

No government, in a democratic system can ever survive what you just describe.
It is the regulators, that set the rules and give protection to the local population, call it what ever you want, it's just basic tribal survival.

In Pap land, profit above all, we are like batteries, we long as you can work and contribute to the Bigger economy, they let you live and leach on you. The day you are drained and no longer productive, they will hold on to your CPF for as long as they can and ask you to go die in JB.

Only a despotic state, who manipulate, instill fear and blackmail the citizen can get elected over and over again for 50 years.

Einfield

are u not contradicting yourself? If no one owes you a living, then u should not complain even if companies hire all foreigners for all jobs. Anyways they are not termed as FT - they are known as FL - foreign labours.

If we are just content with filling jobs (lower rung jobs) are we not submitting ourselves to being "colonised". The IRs are only happy to hire locals for menial jobs at miserable pay. You work day in day out, but you are only fit to work as menial jobs with no opportunities to move upwards.

We are what we are today not because of who hires who, but the policies put in place that encourage profit above all, where government get involve in making huge profits at the expense of the local population.

FYI, you can be fire the next day after working 20 years in a company and not get compensated a single cent, MOM do not have any regulation so legally speaking, you are at the mercy of your employee. together with the tripatide shit, you have no avenue and no case.

That is the sad reality.

You also need to see the potential and capability of individual, find a job and climb your way up again when opportunity comes, if you are really smart and talented, chances are, you will not ended up jobless with savings.

All of us know working for other people is a dead end job, may it be lower rung or managerial, all you get is a pink slip when things goes bad no matter how many years service you gave to the company.

But for those with family to feed, house loan to pay, parent's hospital bills to foot, you have very little options and no room for negotiations.

A radical change of policies is in need now, let's hope sinkies wake up in the next election

while many of us campaign against the indiscriminate hiring of FL in place of local at lower pay - I am against the hiring of FTs who, in many case, do not demonstrate that they are doing a job that a local cannot do.

When the government says - foreigners are important because:

a. FL (foreign labor) do jobs that Singaporeans will otherwise won't do - either its too laborious or too "low class" eg: working in farms, construction workers, cleaners.

b. FT (foreign talets as the government calls them) perform jobs that Singaporeans cannot do because they lack the neccessary skill sets.

Myself, I am very much against government's rationale of part b. Why? Because simply I don't agree that Singaporeans are not capable. If the government can trumpet about their educational system and go around the world showcasing it, by saying that we need to embrace FTs because Singaproeans are simply, incapable, is a direct slap on their policies.

This leads to companies flocking to hire FTs to fill jobs without giving the chance to locals to do so (at a lower costs). Hence you see DBS, SIA, NOL, UOB etc having foreign management....are these so called talents really capable?

The people that are really driving up costs in Singapore are these FTs, not your daily FLs...because their pay is low and their interest is only to remit money back to their home lands....people driving up costs are these FTs who with their fat paychecks but not neccessarily putting in the effort.

Of course, if you are an MNC like IKEA, you have no obligation to hire locals or you have the absolute right to hire anyone you please but if one is being truly social responsible, then don't just practice it in hiring the lower rungs, do the same for the managment. It makes more sense as well, because comparatively, hiring a local is cheaper compared to FT.

it is only through the growth and developement of local talents that the overall skill and knowledge level of the population can increase and the whole standard of living and increase.

if the locals are earning more - the internal consumption can grow, making us less vulnerable when financial crises like this one strikes.

Einfield

It is never a policy to developt local talents, just look at our sport scene and you'll know how these policiy maker think.

There are just too many cases, I know a local who teach in US university and wanted to come back SG, her application to all university was rejected, they job was later given to FT with the same paper qualification.

So to make it short, We don't have local helping each other culture, Our gov inculcate local dog eat dog culture.

For low level job, we are told that no Locals want them as they pay is too low.

For High level jobs, we are told that locals lack such talent and expertise therefore have to pay 10X more to hire a FT. (Tamasick the most recent example)

So where all our talent goes? They migrated and most of them did very well in their adopted state.

It is never a policy to developt local talents, just look at our sport scene and you'll know how these policiy maker think.

There are just too many cases, I know a local who teach in US university and wanted to come back SG, her application to all university was rejected, they job was later given to FT with the same paper qualification.

So to make it short, We don't have local helping each other culture, Our gov inculcate local dog eat dog culture.

For low level job, we are told that no Locals want them as they pay is too low.

For High level jobs, we are told that locals lack such talent and expertise therefore have to pay 10X more to hire a FT. (Tamasick the most recent example)

So where all our talent goes? They migrated and most of them did very well in their adopted state.
exactly, which is why the government laments the outflow of talent and calls for import of more foreign talent.

If only they support the growth of local talent.

Now for sports - they either realised that having a Chinese winning the silver medal did not draw too much fervor from the locals or the cost of supporting the team is too expensive, they wayang by saying for the coming SEA games, they are sending a local team led by a Chinese.

A wayang i will say - almost nobody feel happy about Singapore winning a silver medal at the Olympics - cos its not ours. China gave it us, correction, China gave it to their own people. In short, China won all the medals - gold, silver and bronze.

Einfield

exactly, which is why the government laments the outflow of talent and calls for import of more foreign talent.

If only they support the growth of local talent.

Now for sports - they either realised that having a Chinese winning the silver medal did not draw too much fervor from the locals or the cost of supporting the team is too expensive, they wayang by saying for the coming SEA games, they are sending a local team led by a Chinese.

A wayang i will say - almost nobody feel happy about Singapore winning a silver medal at the Olympics - cos its not ours. China gave it us, correction, China gave it to their own people. In short, China won all the medals - gold, silver and bronze.

The only local "Talent" can only be found in and around Harry's family, that is why once HoJinx step down after an impending train wreck, some AngMoh step in.

Why only crazy women MP and her cronies jump up and down at the Olympic table tennis match? Because the rest of us don't feel it, nothing against the foreign players, they are mercenary, they are rewarded handsomely for their performance, so only politicians with own hidden agender will scream and cry during the match.

Our own local Singaporean silver medalist? He is a forgotten guy till the recent hype by the Pap idolizing hired sport star, then we suddenly realize that "Hey, wait a min, we have a true blue Singaporean here who got a Silver medal years back and he did it for nothing but glory for the nation."

Unfortunately, instead of a celebrated icon, a national coach, an inspirational speaker to our school kids, a role model, he spend the rest of his years making ends meet.

Middle finger to the Hypocrite who say "Every Singaporean Counts"

DerekLeung

sany0024.jpg

funglung

LEE KUAN YEW LOST AND LOST DUNNO HOW MANY BILLIONS IN TEMASICK AND GIC

EVEN MORE BILLIONS HE THREW AWAY TO HIS DOGS AND COCKROACHES SO THEY CAN TAKE FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

LKY NEED MORE BILLIONS FROM SINKIES WHO VOTED FOR HIM AND FROM THOSE WHO VOIDED THEIR VOTES

EVEN IF YOU VOTE AGAINST HIM, NO DIFFERENCE.

COLLECTIVE PUNISHMENT AS SINKIES DID NOT TRY HARD ENOUGH TO KICK OUT THAT VAMPIRE BASTARD LKY

SO EXPECT EVERYTHING IN SINGAPORE TO GO UP AND UP

BASTARD LKY NEED YOUR $$$$$

HE SCREW YOU AND DEMAND THAT YOU THANK HIM FOR HIS FUCKING 'SUBISIDIESD BULLSHIT' AND 'AFFORDABLE' CON-TALK.

GO ALL OUT TO KICK ALL THOSE BASTARDS OUT

ALL OF THEM

DO NOT WAIT UNTIL ELECTION TIME
THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW!

TALK TO YOUR FRIENDS AND YOUR RELATIVES.

SUPPORT OPPOSITION PARTIES WITH YOUR TIME AND MONEY AND STAND BY THEM AND WITH THEM.

THEY SPEAK FOR YOU AND TRY TO SPEAK FOR YOU.

NOT LKY AND HIS BASTARDS IN WHITE WHO ONLY WANT YOUR MONEY AND TO FUCK YOU.

IF NOT FOR YOURSELF, THEN FOR THE FUTURE OF YOUR CHILDREN

THERE WILL NOT BE AN OBAMA AS PRESIDENT OF USA IF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT THERE WAS INTIMIDATED BY BEATINGS AND LYNCHINGS IN THE PAST.

THE TOBBLING OF LKY WILL NOT BE EASY, AND CAN BE BLOODY AS WELL.
THEY WILL NOT GIVE UP THE BILLIONS THAT THEY SUCKED FROM YOU AND CAN CONTINUE TO SCREW FROM YOU NOW AND IN FUTURE.

ONLY YOU HAVE THE POWER TO SAY 'NO MORE OF THAT' AND THROW EVERYONE OF THOSE BASTARDS OUT

Sinkies must organise themselves

Show that they got balls and can stand up to LKY intimidation.

Big money at stake.

Already 400-500++ billions got sucked and bled by LKY into his Temasick and GIC.
HOW MANY OTHER BILLIONS GOT SUCKED AND USED BY THEM IN GLC WHERE THEIR FAMILY MEMBERS AND MINISTERS AND BASTARDS IN WHITE ARE CHAIRMAN AND CEOS?

EVEN IF NO ELECTIONS, SINKIES MUST SPEAK WITH ALL THEIR FRIENDS AND ALL THEY KNOW

STAND UP TO THAT BASTARD LKY AND PAP BLOODSUCKERS

STAND WITH ALL THOSE THAT FIGHT BASTARD LKY

OR STAND UP YOURSELF IN YOUR CONSTITUENCY

DONT BE BULLIED BY THAT FUCKING COWARD LKY USING HIS CORRUPT KANGAROO COURTS AND ALL THAT HE CAN, AND WILL THROW AT YOU

You will fear them only if you allow yourself to fear them.

Just because THEY want you to fear them, must you fear those fucking bastards?

THEY ONLY CAN RULE YOU , AND BLED YOU , THROUGH FEAR AND INTIMIDATION.

SINKIES,

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM.
THEY WILL THEN FEAR YOU.

AND YOU REGAIN YOUR MONEY AND YOUR FUTURE AND YOUR CHILDREN FUTURE.

DO NOT LET OUR MONEY GO TO FUND PAP DOGS FRENCH COOKING LESSONS

DO NOT DIE IN OLD FOLK HOMES IN JB.

FIND YOUR BALLS AND STAND UP TO THEM

angry_one

I once read that the old CEO if Ikea still takes public transport to work, and flies economy class. He said that if he's not willing to do it, how can he expect employees to do the same. And he's one of the top 10 richest businessmen in the world.

while many of us campaign against the indiscriminate hiring of FL in place of local at lower pay - I am against the hiring of FTs who, in many case, do not demonstrate that they are doing a job that a local cannot do.

When the government says - foreigners are important because:

a. FL (foreign labor) do jobs that Singaporeans will otherwise won't do - either its too laborious or too "low class" eg: working in farms, construction workers, cleaners.

b. FT (foreign talets as the government calls them) perform jobs that Singaporeans cannot do because they lack the neccessary skill sets.

Myself, I am very much against government's rationale of part b. Why? Because simply I don't agree that Singaporeans are not capable. If the government can trumpet about their educational system and go around the world showcasing it, by saying that we need to embrace FTs because Singaproeans are simply, incapable, is a direct slap on their policies.

Actually, i against both of the FL and FT policies.

First, with the cost of living so high in singapore, A family of 5 will had difficulties living on a household of $2,000 and below. All those menial jobs are paying less than $1,000 per mth. What worse now was that FL are taking over this jobs for less than $800 per mth. How can lowly educated singaporean compete with these FL. From my experience, there are many singaporeans without completing even "O" education. What had the Govt done to help this group of ppl when their only jobs available to them were taken away from them by the FLs.

Secondly, those customer service, clerks or entry level positions are now taken over by pinoy / burmese / Indian. While it true their services are better than singaporean, their starting salary also much lower than singaporeans. But they are next to useless when they encounter our elderly folks. I had seen many time at POSB / DBS that Chinese / Malay old folks had problems telling these FL tellers what they want. Many a time seen chinese old folks assume that these pinoys were malay and start giving their instructions in malayu. Can see the blur look on the face of the pinoy. hahaha... No i didnt help to translate as i want the bank to see their own folly. In fact i had bring my mum to close off her POSB account and open an account in UOB which till now are still hiring local.

All these FLs are not really contributing the the local enconmy other than keeping the wages low for the lower rung while denying locals of a job. Most the money they earned are send back to their countries. In a way, billions of $$ are flowing out of our local economy. Just look at the kelings, most of them dont even eat out. Dont you feel strange that every Indian FLs that work in a office carry a bag to work everyday? The bag contain their lunch pack by their wife in the morning. They will take over the pantry or the conference room and eat lunch there in a group. Never see them try to mix in with the locals.

As for those FTs, there maybe some truth that we singaporeans do not have the expertise in certain industries. Like the Sand Casino, do we had the experience to manage a entertainment industry. I seriously doubt so, just look at govt sponsor tourism or entertainment program. For every Sentosa, there a Tang Cheng. BUT these FTs could be encourage in by the govt so as to boost salaries base for these level. As govt ministars' pay package are pegged to these group, it to their advantage that FTs were hired.:rolleyes:

For MNCs, i can understand why they want the Higher Management to be staffed by Angmos. Just look at Siemens, many of the management level are head by a german. Dont tell me it different when singapore companies open offices at china. Of course the person in charge there will be a singaporean. It the same everywhere.

Actually, i against both of the FL and FT policies.

First, with the cost of living so high in singapore, A family of 5 will had difficulties living on a household of $2,000 and below. All those menial jobs are paying less than $1,000 per mth. What worse now was that FL are taking over this jobs for less than $800 per mth. How can lowly educated singaporean compete with these FL. From my experience, there are many singaporeans without completing even "O" education. What had the Govt done to help this group of ppl when their only jobs available to them were taken away from them by the FLs.

Secondly, those customer service, clerks or entry level positions are now taken over by pinoy / burmese / Indian. While it true their services are better than singaporean, their starting salary also much lower than singaporeans. But they are next to useless when they encounter our elderly folks. I had seen many time at POSB / DBS that Chinese / Malay old folks had problems telling these FL tellers what they want. Many a time seen chinese old folks assume that these pinoys were malay and start giving their instructions in malayu. Can see the blur look on the face of the pinoy. hahaha... No i didnt help to translate as i want the bank to see their own folly. In fact i had bring my mum to close off her POSB account and open an account in UOB which till now are still hiring local.

All these FLs are not really contributing the the local enconmy other than keeping the wages low for the lower rung while denying locals of a job. Most the money they earned are send back to their countries. In a way, billions of $$ are flowing out of our local economy. Just look at the kelings, most of them dont even eat out. Dont you feel strange that every Indian FLs that work in a office carry a bag to work everyday? The bag contain their lunch pack by their wife in the morning. They will take over the pantry or the conference room and eat lunch there in a group. Never see them try to mix in with the locals.

As for those FTs, there maybe some truth that we singaporeans do not have the expertise in certain industries. Like the Sand Casino, do we had the experience to manage a entertainment industry. I seriously doubt so, just look at govt sponsor tourism or entertainment program. For every Sentosa, there a Tang Cheng. BUT these FTs could be encourage in by the govt so as to boost salaries base for these level. As govt ministars' pay package are pegged to these group, it to their advantage that FTs were hired.:rolleyes:

For MNCs, i can understand why they want the Higher Management to be staffed by Angmos. Just look at Siemens, many of the management level are head by a german. Dont tell me it different when singapore companies open offices at china. Of course the person in charge there will be a singaporean. It the same everywhere.
unfortunately, when local companies like banks - they do not yet cater to the older folks cos to them, they are of no commercial value - hence you see old folks coming up to complain about mis-selling of financial products. And thats why, our Health Minister suggest that we can spend our old lives in a nursing home in JB.

the dearth of local management talent is real - and it won't help situation by continuing importing from overseas, a country ought to develop own talents. Its not exactly true that if a local company is to invest in China, they would appoint a Singaporean manager. Many times, i have heard, they rather appoint an ang moh (becos many mainland Chinese now studies English) or Hongkie. Or they appoint a Singaporean head but rest of the management are lcoals (save cost !).

Another factor that is causing the dearth is the education system - for so many generations, we were tuned to muggings and copying and regurgitating. Whilst the education minstry has already tried to change the syllabus, etc. but for generations this concept has been engraved, parents are brought up like that...its not easy to unturn....

travelbug

Ikea's Spore office is dominated by Swede ang mohs. So do not kid yourself that it employs Sporeans. That is utter rubbish. The Spore CEO has now retired or pushed out of his position and is replaced by a Swede ang moh. Ikea has 2 operations in Spore, one the local operations and the other its RHQ office for Asia. Both offices are staffed by Swedish ang mohs to the brim! Get Real lah! Whoever started this thread has been walking with his head in the bloody sand.

kchunjeng

Happy to hear that Flextonic today retrench all FT worker !!

GREAT !! GREAT !!

re hire again..

this time round, all the Singaporean !!!

popdod

Really jiat lat.

Hire Singaporeans...oso tio kan.
Dun hire Singaporeans...oso tio kan.

Cho simi sai ....oso tio kan.
Buey kan Buey kawan.

:o :( :o

travelbug

Happy to hear that Flextonic today retrench all FT worker !!

GREAT !! GREAT !!

re hire again..

this time round, all the Singaporean !!!

Where is the news? Supply evidence of Flextronic retrenching FTs. Seeing or reading it is believing. Will Rejoice if its true! But then hor, maybe they just like gahment cos they count PRs as Spore citizens so end up may still comprise PRCs, Ah Nehs & Malaysians.