• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If you think you have problems in Singapore. Watch this about American middle class.

Ash007

Singapore is heaven compared to what is happening in America. Be grateful the PAP is doing a good job. ;)

[video=youtube;kV4grZ_Lw5s]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kV4grZ_Lw5s[/video]

Lose your job in Australia and there's a good chance there will be a safety net to catch you. The Newstart allowance, Medicare benefits, along with other programs provide help. But it's a very different story in the United States.

It may be the wealthiest country in the world but as documentary maker Philippe Levasseur shows in America's Broken Dreams, when you lose your job in the US there is very little to protect you. In 2008 the global financial crisis hit the poor first, but now America's middle class is being devastated.

Larry, 52, used to manage a large customer service department. But two years ago he lost his job and house. Today he lives in a motel room with his wife and two children and scrapes by on $820 dollars a month, welcoming tourists to Disney World. After he has paid the motel fees, he's left with just $70 a week for food and other necessities.

Terry used to be a sales manager and enjoyed a good life until he was made redundant. He ended up roaming from motel to motel in Florida in his car and eventually was judged 'economically incapable' of raising his six children. The three eldest were placed in foster care.

There are currently 1,800 children growing up in the motels around Disney World. They move from school to school as their parents are forced to find cheaper accommodation.

Amber and Daniel are married but are forced to live on different sides of the United States. Why? It's the only way they can honestly make enough money to stop themselves and their children going hungry.

Three unique stories, but all have one thing in common: they are America's new poor, who struggle for work but can barely survive.

Filmmaker Philippe Levasseur takes his camera into car parks, trailer homes and motels across the country as middle class families try to regain the American dream. What he found is simply shocking.

Re: If you think you have problems in Singapore. Watch this about American middle cla

Singapore is heaven compared to what is happening in America. Be grateful the PAP is doing a good job. ;)

Yes, we must thank the PAP for implementing PAPpythied - foreigners first policy.

Will someone put up the videos of poor sinkees? I am sure the poor sinkees are more pathetic than the Americans.

Re: If you think you have problems in Singapore. Watch this about American middle cla

I agree that the PAP did well for the first 30yrs. What SG is now is the result of the first generation pap leaders.

Can you say what you said in Post#1 in 20years?

Yes, we must thank the PAP for implementing PAPpythied - foreigners first policy.

Will someone put up the videos of poor sinkees? I am sure the poor sinkees are more pathetic than the Americans.

there are enough videos of suffering singaporeans

Pap governed singapore is heaven!
So early pap ib starts on brainwash liao.
Pappies (and their lapdogs) like to do selective comparisons.
First up pap politicians dare to compare salaries bo?

YouTube Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kV4grZ_Lw5s

In 2012, Singapore's GDP growth was only 1.2% and that is despite the population growth brought on by the foreign influx. Even Japan has a higher growth of 1.7%.

Why is Singapore's economy behaving in such a roller coaster manner, good one year, bad in another and among the first to go into recession if the world is entering one? There must be something not quite right with our economic structure as such up-down behaviour puts tremendous stress on the economy and the society that depends on it, more so if the Govt is stingy on the social safety net.

I would say, it is time for a major restructuring.

In 2012, Singapore's GDP growth was only 1.2% and that is despite the population growth brought on by the foreign influx. Even Japan has a highet growth of 1.7%.

Why is Singapore's economy behaving in such a roller coaster manner, good one year, bad in another and among the first to go into recession if the world is entering one? There must be something not quite right with our economic structure as such up-down behaviour puts tremendous stress on the economy and the society that depends on it, more so if the Govt is stingy on the social safety net.

I would say, it is time for a major restructuring.

You are right...major economic restructuring is due..but the pap has shown that it's at its wits end

the pap has run out of ideas how to bring SG forward economically, socially, cultural, financially etc...the pap is lost

it's true. every sunday evening when recycle bins are placed curbside for the monday morning collection, american ah peks on bicycles will show up and hang around the neighborhood to retrieve bottles, cans and containers that can be exchanged for cash redemption at the nearest county recycle center. they are actually "stealing" from the recycling and waste management companies which cum around every monday morning to pick up 3 bins: yard waste, trash, and recyclable materials. it's the last category that has true value in terms of cash redemption from the fed, state and county. sometimes, the same recyclable materials are turned in more than once for cash redemption without the gov center putting a stop to it. it is alleged that the gov workers at the center are part of the illegal scheme to scam gov funds going into their pockets. no wonder they drive luxury cars, and the whole shbang has become a billion dollar "business". and no wonder counties and the state are broke, and uncle sam is chalking up trillion dollar deficits. :rolleyes:

They voted for a super liberal Obama. They caused the problem.

who the heck cannot find a job in US?

as long as you can cook Chinese food, you will be employed.

it's very difficult to for a Chinese to lose a job in US and still cannot find one!

even refugees can find jobs in angmo countries.

Sinkies are useless if you can even be a cook.

If one is not able to ensure that you are going to be economically viable till retirement..

Why fuck to produce kids?

I have no pity for these, be their white skins or SINKIE!

The biggest problem in Singapore is that someone like Zorro Lim should at best, be middle class, not wealthy.

With 4 loom pigeon hole crossing de 800k mark...tink we oso heading de same direction...nxt time moi grandson nid to live in Hotel 81...

69513_486253754743944_637385717_n.jpg

Take heed that Singaporeans will be living like that in 15 to 20 years from now if the PAP cannot get the Gini index right.

If you maldistribute the rewards of the country and only give it to elites, bankers, businessmen, greedy people, we will be like that.

i have no sympathy for these middle class americans. most are quite lazy and arrogant. the video is the evidence. look at ALL the people in the video. they are FAT SLOBS. everyone of them, obese, FAT , women and children and men ALL of them. go to USA and uyou know what I mean. lazy buggers with huge SUV and polluting the earth. they deserve it.

They are fat because they haveno money to eat well. US food s subsidised and cheap food are full of sugars and fat.

Many have given up hope of finding any meaningful work, because the wealth of the country rest with hthe 1%.

And the 1% is silent when the hardworking middle class is taxed to feed the poor.

Singapore is heading the same way that is why the govt needs to control the internet.

What makes you say the PAP did well for the first 30 years:confused: , and not since independence right up to this very moment:confused:

There were people who voted against PAP since day number one when voting started.

Why do you think now not as good, as compared to the first 30 years?

Or is it because you weren't at the receiving end of the shitty aspects of their policies back then?

Sad to say, that's how sinkies vote.............and not look at the fundamental structure and system to protect their own rights for equality, opportunities and recourse when shits hits their own fan and pockets.

I agree that the PAP did well for the first 30yrs. What SG is now is the result of the first generation pap leaders.

Can you say what you said in Post#1 in 20years?