• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I just watched the YOG opening ceremony

They can't even speak English or understand anything.
But usually, the contingent will bring a translator to translate from English to Spanish all the instructions, etc. Yet that Argentinian flag-bearer screwed up. Likely that the translator did not translate the instructions clearly.

Somebody is sleeping.

2uekzlj.jpg

Must be the weight of his new GOLD chain :D

But usually, the contingent will bring a translator to translate from English to Spanish all the instructions, etc. Yet that Argentinian flag-bearer screwed up. Likely that the translator did not translate the instructions clearly.

Sounds like the translator doesn't even know Spanish and screwed the Argentinian kid up. :D

Yeah poor fellow. Embarrassed during an opening ceremony. But no worries, international media does not give two hoots about YOG.

Must be the weight of his new GOLD chain :D
Nice one. :D

EDIT: Maybe he is deep in thought on how to fix the opposition, chilies and onions, how to find mee siam with hum, etc.

Nice one. :D

EDIT: Maybe he is deep in thought on how to fix the opposition, chilies and onions, how to find mee siam with hum, etc.

No wonder NDP and YOG never rain and flood, and NTUC supermarket chilies and onions all out of stock. He bought them all!

So many cock up in YOG opening. Server down la , flag bearer moving everywhere without knowing the location. Lucky no athelete contingent follow behind. That would be worst like chicken roaming everywhere.

Saw part of the stage is flooded. It must be the message to the world that flood is common in Singapore.

Somebody is sleeping.

2uekzlj.jpg

LHL is probably asleep for 10-15 mins but I think moustache guy behind him has been sleeping since the ceremony start and Prataman is trying very hard to stay awake. :D

The more this picture got reposted, the more I worry.

So skinny can be Military Police?

the Skinny MP look like ah neh police from bangalore...the person sleeping is the moustache ang moh behind lhl...he probably snored very loudly judging from how soundly asleep he seems to be..LHL looks bored and tired but probably not sleeping....

the organizing committee all jiak liao bee from army!!! same as NDP...SO what do u expect????

Was bored, so I figured I just see the hype since I am pretty much a mountain tortise when it is about YOG. Did not even know there is a YOG song called "Everyone". (Seldom watch local channels)

Most laughable shit ever. $380 million for such a crap opening ceremony.

First up, the Chinese/Malay/Indian skit and dances are really saturated and stale, as Singaporeans, we probably have seen more than enough in all the NDPs of Chinese dances, Malay dances and Indian dances. But guess what, it is the still the same idea for YOG.

Second, the songs played were all foreign songs. No local songs at all. Either you have Black Eyed Peas - I Got This Feeling or the infamous Wonder Girls - Nobody. Singapore has successfully showed that Sinkie youths are foreign-worshippers, only listening to American or Korean songs. If I was in charge, I will have outsourced the creation of songs to local musicians instead of using foreign, since we showcasing Singapore.

Lastly, the organisation is bad, especially at the flag ceremony. The flag-bearers of some countries are at lost where to go and the Argentinian flag-bearer stood in the middle of the stage for some time, before realizing he is supposed to follow the placard holder. Some of the flag-bearers are equally clueless and went in the opposite direction. So much for first-class event, I feel like I am watching the rehearsal instead.

I knew it was time to turn off the TV.

Fuck you Vivian and Ser Luck for exploding our budget and yet produce a crap opening ceremony that is close to a rehearsal.
:oIo::oIo:

the Skinny MP look like ah neh police from bangalore...the person sleeping is the moustache ang moh behind lhl...he probably snored very loudly judging from how soundly asleep he seems to be..LHL looks bored and tired but probably not sleeping....

The moustachioed caucasian snored like a pig.

SRN stared in disbelieve.

LHL lowered his head in prayer.

HC waved white flag, surrendered.

The skinny MP just thinking, very hungry.

In a way it reflects our capabilities on the world stage. They often refer to Singapore as Singapore Inc - so this reflects our upper mgmt.

This is rubber meets the road time. SO we can see the calibre of upper mgmt. The restriction is not money it is how the money was used. And the end product.

Pretty sure we were much better than if Malaysia, Indonesia, brunei, Cambodia or Laos were to run the show. But no match for 1st world countries - not even the 3rd world Chinese who pulled of spectacular Olympics. I would not be surprised if the Thais could do a better job.

It reflects on the depth of the talent of mgmt. It is easy to pool the nation's savings and walk with a swagger on Wall street but countries are measured by the dynamism of its people which are a byproduct of mgmt's policies over the years.

Perhaps it is time to stop patting ourselves on each other's back and realised that we might not be that good after all.

If we take a look at the SAF - we may have the best weapons but in time of war will the upper mgmt lose that depth of thinking and strategy.

It appears that YOG has little depth of thinking. What was the theme and tone that singapore wants to project.

They just pull up last year's NDP (thinking it is so spectacular (it was spectacular to be honest - lots of patting of each other's back) and threw in more money for logos and PR.

While we are on topic of creativity - compare our movie industry. Just think of all the great HK movies over time vs our only local talent Jack neo. Many of the HK movies, even 20 to 30 years ago were great. And 20 years ago, HK pop was our size.

Wall street is great because of the dynamism, the amount of sheer talent, the $$$ created, products traded. Wall Street is not great because of the shiny new buildings (Dubai has even nicer buildings) or the the clean streets (at night it can be downright cruddy with homeless walking around). Even in the day there is often a stench of urine.

Somebody is sleeping.

2uekzlj.jpg

PM Lee is not sleeping, just couldn't bear to see anymore of such event which cost Singapore almost $400m! He looks more pissed than sleeping.

The Ang Mo at the back was the one sleeping... what do you expect? Bored thus went sleeping better...

Goh Meng Seng

If we take a look at the SAF - we may have the best weapons but in time of war will the upper mgmt lose that depth of thinking and strategy.

What nonsense!!!

We are no way close to any 1st world country when it comes to our arsenal. We buy our weapons and how can you expect to have the best by buying? No countries will sell the best stuff to you. Exception is US to Japan.

What I mean is, we can create modern local songs. ;)

I am sure Singapore does not lack musicians to compose a few and there is a significant amount of local bands here.

At least they have taste. They also agree with many that having local crap like Dick Lee, Kit Chan, JJ Lin and Stephanie Sun is a bad idea and would destroy their event's image.