• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I just simply dont understand you guys

UseYourBrain

I simply cannot understand you guys. When Temasek failed in her venture, you seek redress by asking Ho Ching to take accountability. Now that she has resigned (whatever the reason is) yet that does not satisfy you. Now we have an Ang Mo onboard, a proven talented guy running BHP prior to this appointment, this again does not satisfy you, You want a Singaporean, If they choose a Singaporean Scholar, again you will criticize that this chap is not kopi tiam trained, not karaoke trained etc etc, If they choose an Indian guy, you call him names prata man bat man bla bla. If he is a Malay half of you will commit suicide or jump MR, saying he is going to make Singapore a terrorist state. Now the PAP want to please you and be neutral by appointing an Ang Mo knowing psychologically the bits and pieces of Colonial is great mentality are still seeping within your blood cells.

So what actually you want? Set you manifesto and agenda and work towards that goal. Want to give a try? Let see whether it works. Or else close this forum and join the Taxi driver at coffer shop.

eeoror88

The paramount problem is that Singaporeans tend to sit on the fence and Cry Father Cry Mother just about everything. Offering of solutions: O
:mad:

PAP_Die-hard_Fan

That is the fucking problem with you all motherfucking fucktards! You fucktards never get satisfied! Do also fucking complain, never do also fucking complain. What a bunch of fuckingfucktards!

I simply cannot understand you guys. When Temasek failed in her venture, you seek redress by asking Ho Ching to take accountability. Now that she has resigned (whatever the reason is) yet that does not satisfy you. Now we have an Ang Mo onboard, a proven talented guy running BHP prior to this appointment, this again does not satisfy you, You want a Singaporean, If they choose a Singaporean Scholar, again you will criticize that this chap is not kopi tiam trained, not karaoke trained etc etc, If they choose an Indian guy, you call him names prata man bat man bla bla. If he is a Malay half of you will commit suicide or jump MR, saying he is going to make Singapore a terrorist state. Now the PAP want to please you and be neutral by appointing an Ang Mo knowing psychologically the bits and pieces of Colonial is great mentality are still seeping within your blood cells.

So what actually you want? Set you manifesto and agenda and work towards that goal. Want to give a try? Let see whether it works. Or else close this forum and join the Taxi driver at coffer shop.

VIBGYOR

Bla Bla Bla, you sound like a real bitch!! :biggrin:

Satan

That CB Ang Moh looks like the monkey bush and anyone who looks like him might screw up big time. So you can expect more disaster and end of world news to come. :biggrin:

VIBGYOR

That CB Ang Moh looks like the monkey bush and anyone who looks like him might screw up big time. So you can expect more disaster and end of world news to come. :biggrin:

don't judge a book by its cover lah!

give him the benefit of the doubt lah, anyway the govt. can continue to squeeze the silent majority if he screws up.

what i am really more interested is, who recommended him? :biggrin:

Tiu-leh-see-fart

To: ALL (1 of 7)

Just read how the international media covers HC's resignation as compared to our State Media's positive spin to HC abandoning a sinking ship.

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/9668a008-f47f-11dd-8e76-0000779fd2ac.html

Ho leaves loss-laden Temasek behind her
By John Burton in Singapore and Sundeep Tucker in Hong Kong
Published: February 6 2009 19:21 | Last updated: February 6 2009 19:21

Economic downturns have marked the beginning and end of Ho Ching’s tenure as head of Temasek Holdings.

When Ms Ho took charge of the state investment company in 2002, it was reeling from the bursting of the global technology bubble at the beginning of the decade.

She now leaves a much larger group that is nursing heavy losses from investments in financial companies experienced during the latter part of her tenure.

Although Temasek officials said on Friday her departure had nothing to do with the group’s troubled investment record over the past year, her successor, Charles Goodyear, a former head of BHP Billiton, the Anglo-Australian miner, will have to act fast to readjust the group’s investment portfolio towards new growth sectors such as natural resources.

Ms Ho, wife of Singapore’s prime minister and a former executive at Singapore’s state defence engineering group, is credited with turning Temasek from a sleepy state holding company with mainly domestic assets, such as DBS Bank and Singapore Airlines, into an international powerhouse. She oversaw first a rapid expansion into other Asian markets, buying banks, telecoms groups and education and healthcare providers, in the belief that these industries would grow in value along with the rise of a burgeoning Asian _middle class.

But Temasek rose to great_er prominence with its purchase of big stakes in western financial groups, starting with Standard Chartered in 2006. Over the next two years, it invested $5.8bn in Merrill Lynch and $2bn in Barclays as the first tremors of the global financial crisis were being felt.

The investments left Temasek vulnerable to the sudden downturn in the global banking industry, with 40 per cent of its S$185bn ($124bn) portfolio being in financials at the end of March 2008, its last reported financial year.

“Anyone who knows anything about banking crises knows it is a mistake to invest in them too early,” said a Singapore-based economic consultant.

Temasek has defended its record. “We felt, along with other [sovereign wealth] funds, that we had to do something to help stabilise the global financial system,” said a senior Temasek official, referring to the Merrill investment. Temasek continues to put a brave face on the investments, saying they are for the long term. But these investments could be wiped out if Bank of America, which acquired Merrill, and Barclays are nationalised.

The group has also seen the value of its shares in other banks, including Bank of China and China Construction Bank, fall from highs, though chances are better for a recovery.

The financial investments have the potential to become a domestic headache for the government as they represent an erosion of Singapore’s closely guarded reserves, which amount to an estimated $300bn or more.

In addition, the Government of Singapore Investment Corp, a sister state fund, has invested in Citigroup and UBS, bringing the combined groups’ total in_vestment in western banks to $24bn since late 2007.

The appointment of Mr Goodyear, an American, is seen as part of an effort to distance Temasek from its Singapore roots with its top executive ranks now dominated by foreigners.

Mr Goodyear’s leadership could alter the _perception that the group has been serving _Singapore’s national interests, which has proved to be a problem with some of its investments, particularly those in Asia.

That should give Temasek a chance to take a fresh approach to its future investment strategy, with natural resources – which now constitute only 5 per cent of the group’s assets – being identified by its managers as a new area for growth.

Temasek-watchers also believe that last year’s recruitment of Marcus Wallenberg to the board was a statement that the fund was ready to make investments in industrial companies, which only account for 6 per cent of the portfolio.

Mr Wallenberg is a titan of the European corporate scene and a scion of the family that controls Sweden’s Investor, among the region’s most successful dynastic industrial holding companies.

The problem is the govt make this decision is not in the respond of singapore. They make this decision based on their own agenda and not the agenda of singaporeans.

IT means the govt make decision NOT in respect of Singaporeans so whatever decision he made, sinkies are not happy.

The sinkie govt still operate in this mode and if they keep on going like that, good luck to them.

Simple its a sovereign fund and therefore

1) Get a well qualified local to run it. The best qualified general to run the SAF is probably is an Israeli but we don't employ a foreigner just on merit. The appointed Singaporean can be advised by a pool of international experts at board and management level.

2) Get someone that has no conflict of interest. Ho Ching has multiple. Dhanabalan's wife is related to old man. Her husband is the PM.

3) Lack of transparency - improve this. Irony when a foreigner know about the accounts but not locals.

If you can't figure why there is so much unhappiness, its does show poor judgement.

kakowi

Irony when a foreigner know about the accounts but not locals.

My guess is that there will be some portions of Temasek which will be off-limits to him.

And that his portfolio will be very specific.

It is just inconceivable that the Singapore Government, with all their prudence (change of word - self regulation), will open up deep secrets to a foreigner who after his contract, will be in another country.

If my guess is correct, then there may be a shifting of certain sensitive portions of Temasek into GIC - the other Singapore's sovereign fund.

From wikipedia:

"The largest SWFs with assets over $100 billion are designated the Super Seven funds: Abu Dhabi Investment Authority (ADIA) ($875 billion); The Government Pension Fund of Norway ($350 billion); Government of Singapore Investment Corporation ($330 billion); Kuwait Investment Authority ($250 billion); China Investment Corporation ($200 billion); Singapore's Temasek Holdings ($159.2 billion); and the Stabilisation Fund of the Russian Federation ($158 billion)."

ahbengsong

Dear useyourbrain...

ho ching's resignation does not nullify her accountability for past losses... in the corporate world (which the pap so envy in salaries), CEOs are fired for even a single maor business mistake, not overall performance... and going by this, ho ching should be fired many years ago...

People must remember this and not let pap sweep it under the carpet...

Next... it is not just ho ching's replacement which is an angmo.. if you look at the top GLCs.. most are angmo.. nothing against them but the same thing happens.. medicore angmos are hired.. look no further than DBS, Chartered...

The bigger picture is a sad fact... the pap has lost its passion for the country.. and whoever it hires is in for the money.. and when the going gets tough, well.. the pragmatic get going (with fat pay and bonuses)... what type of employer get the same type of employee... get it ?

My slogan for pap singapore is "No pride, No dignity, No loyalty"... whoever is hired by the pap has the same mentality... add a dose of no accountability.. and you see the past results of angmos in pap GLCs...

The pap is destroying singapore... and getting more draconian to protect its own interests... in the end, sinkees suffer (and deserve it anyway)...

UseYourBrain

Summarizing all comments above, I can say that

1. No proper accountability have been meted out to Ho Ching
2. No Transparency (where citizen are kept in the dark yet foreigner are allowed to peep through the details)
3. The timing of investment is still suspicious where even a normal punters would have avoided buying during those time.

After reading all your comments I have something that cross my mind. The big Q now is WHO IS THIS CHIP GOODYEAR. A little googling and adding conspiracy theories in it, we are into a BIG GAME OF The Conspiracy Mess. Linking LKY to the Bohemian Club, the Good Year family line to the freemason and buying Freemason controlled banks and the wrong time give me a goose bump. Dont you guys seeing what I am seeing? Now I begin to think whether Ho CHing was only there to be puppeted by KLY and his Bigger Conspiracy move.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

These barbarians are never appreciative of anything and are never happy no matter what anyone does for them.

So much for losers.

tookara

lolz they want PAP efficiency without the harsh repression and with western democracy principles thrown in

Einfield

Nothing change, unlike the way you paint it.

Fist of all, the appointment is a mistake, it is not by merit, she is a engineer in DSO prior to the appointment, so only explanation is nepotism. This is mistake #1.

The timing of her departure is mistake #2, after so many years OJT and billions in the red, she should have some knowledge by now, but she choose to depart when shit hits the fan.

We are easily satisfied, all we ask for is transparency and accountability, is that too much to ask for.

So don't cloud the issue here.