The national flag no longer has a soul. It now a cheap piece of cloth available at $2.80 at ntuc.
as a kid, always pester parents to bring the old flag pole(complete with a red knob on top) out of storage and tie the pole, with the flag on it, to the highest beam near the roof. In those days, only ppl who stay on landed properties(kampong technically also landed properties) put up the flag wheras hdb dewellers dont. Now i really cannot care less. RC came to "inform" me it time to display the flag, i told them i only have a kiddy handheld size flag which i tie together with a WP flag. Then they offer me one, FOC but i rejected them because i dont like accepting gifts that i dont deserve and also i tell them since it dangerous for maid to clean window, then it the same as opening the window grill and put half my body out in the process to tie the cloth string to the hooks. Then they offer to do for me and i rejected again as i claim to have clean streak and cannot tahan "dirty people" in my flat as i will have to detox the whole flat. Not worth the effort to display a flag. i told them. in my heart, there a huge national flag, only need a "clean soothing breeze" to have it fluster proudly.
one of them look pissed while the other two aunties give blur looks while i closed my door. They will come again as my block face the road. All the corridor units have flags hang by the RC, only the corner units they have no access. 7 years liao and they still dont give up and from the look of it, many corner units owners also dont give a shit. hahahaha......