• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I Have Been Stonewallwed By Cherie Lim

<TBODY>
[TD="class: msgF, align: right"]From:

<TBODY>

[TD="class: msgFname, width: 68%"] Roboxxxxx <NOBR></NOBR>
[/TD]
[TD="class: msgDate, width: 30%, align: right"]7:48 am
[/TD]

[TD="class: msgT, width: 1%, align: right"]To:
[/TD]
[TD="class: msgTname, width: 68%"] ALL <NOBR></NOBR>
[/TD]
[TD="class: msgNum, align: right"](1 of 9)
[/TD]

</TBODY>

[/TD]

[TD="class: msgleft, width: 1%"][/TD]
[TD="class: wintiny, align: right"] 68114.1
[/TD]

[TD="class: msgtxt"]

[/TD]

</TBODY>
Foreigner, Cherie Lim Ball wrote the following letter to TODAY preaching moral values to Singaporeans. (I actually don't disagree with her on that score, but that's besides the point.)

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC121012-0000037/Ethnic-labels-divide-us

Ethnic labels divide us

From Cherie Lim Ball
04:45 AM Oct 12, 2012

While Ms Amy Cheong's racially insensitive posts on Facebook are unacceptable, one wonders why there is so much stereotyping in Singapore in the first place.

We have become a more divisive society of late, with people being categorised by their race, residency status, type of Singaporean (local born or newly converted) and religion.

We cannot have a truly harmonious society if we continue to label people according to these identities.

In May, I wrote to Voices on the subject of National Service for permanent residents and subsequently received expletive-laden comments on social media about being a "Caucasian" who should "leave and go back to your home country". Another forum user described me as a "Caucasian PR", when my race and residency status have nothing to do with the subject.

I am now Singaporean, I am ethnically Chinese and this is now my home. I found it offensive that I was seen as a "lesser" resident when assumed to be a Caucasian, in spite of my commitment and contributions to this country.

There is a fine line between being too politically correct by banning questions about one's ethnic origin, as they do in other developed countries, and continuing to have "Race" as a standard question on application forms.

It may be important, for census purposes, to ask for one's race and religion in official government forms, especially in a highly multiracial country like ours, but we should stop using ethnicity or religion as a measure of one's worth, rights or place here.

<TBODY>
[TD="class: msgF, align: right"]From:

<TBODY>

[TD="class: msgFname, width: 68%"] Roboxxxxx <NOBR></NOBR>
[/TD]
[TD="class: msgDate, width: 30%, align: right"]7:48 am
[/TD]

[TD="class: msgT, width: 1%, align: right"]To:
[/TD]
[TD="class: msgTname, width: 68%"] ALL <NOBR></NOBR>
[/TD]
[TD="class: msgNum, align: right"](2 of 9)
[/TD]

</TBODY>

[/TD]

[TD="class: msgleft, width: 1%"][/TD]
[TD="class: wintiny, align: right"] 68114.2 in reply to 68114.1
[/TD]

[TD="class: msgtxt"][/TD]

</TBODY>
In the discussion ensuing this letter, I asked the writer Cherie Lim Ball who had joined in the discussion three questions:

1. Are you retaining the citizenship of your country of origin?

2. If the answer to the above is "yes", do your children have that citizenship as well since it is automatic for them?

I asked the above two because she was makiong many pios protestations that she is now a Singaporean. (Asking a foreigner to renounce any other citizenships they hol;d is outside Singapore's jurisdiction; It's a matter that is strictly between the individual and the government of the other country.) I also asked the next question:

3. Who did you vote for at GE2011? (This is to determine ifcritics in opposition cicles are right that the PAP only grants citizenship to those who will vote for them in light of their waning popularity.)

Almost 24 hours after I posted those questions, there is still no response from here; she is clearly in avoidance mode after being quite actively involved in the discussion.

What do you guys think? (Those who are not on my feed, too.)

Has Cherie Lim Ball planned her escape route well in advance? And while she is here, is she disadvantaging opposition-inclined Singaporeans by voting the PAP?

<Has Cherie Lim Ball planned her escape route well in advance? And while she is here, is she disadvantaging opposition-inclined Singaporeans by voting the PAP? >

If no reponse from Cherie Lim Ball,then she is,yes?

If Cheeby Lum-par replies to your questions, Ruler Loong will renounce his God King status and adopt Obama's annual 200k stipends. She probably write you off as a rabid anti-regime dissenter and may pass your email to the Infernal Security Dogs to score some points.

Foreigner, Cherie Lim Ball wrote the following letter to TODAY preaching moral values to Singaporeans. (I actually don't disagree with her on that score, but that's besides the point.)

me don't understand, if Cherie is the Christian name, dafug "Ball" is?

She claims she is ethnically chinese but says ppl call her ang moh. How is this possible? Does she look like a white person despite being chinese?

Most likely it's because of her name. How fucking stupid is this then. With a name like cherie lim ball since which chinese has the surname ball? Why not simply cherie lim or cherie ball and if your name is cherie ball of course ppl will assume you to be a caucasian. If a caucasian had the surname wong would ppl assume him to be chinese?

Let's see she wrote on the issue of national service for prs and got flamed for it and next she claims she has contributed to sg.

It would go to show that she disagreed on the issue of prs serving ns and mind you serving ns is a form of contribution to sg and rightfully got flamed for it. Serving ns is a contribution to sg on top of paying taxes which all citizens already do so in effect her contribtution to sg is minute and much lesser than a citizen's so she deserves to be flamed for it.

She claims she is ethnically chinese but says ppl call her ang moh. How is this possible? Does she look like a white person despite being chinese?

Most likely it's because of her name. How fucking stupid is this then. With a name like cherie lim ball since which chinese has the surname ball? Why not simply cherie lim or cherie ball and if your name is cherie ball of course ppl will assume you to be a caucasian. If a caucasian had the surname wong would ppl assume him to be chinese?

Let's see she wrote on the issue of national service for prs and got flamed for it and next she claims she has contributed to sg.

It would go to show that she disagreed on the issue of prs serving ns and mind you serving ns is a form of contribution to sg and rightfully got flamed for it. Serving ns is a contribution to sg on top of paying taxes which all citizens already do so in effect her contribtution to sg is minute and much lesser than a citizen's so she deserves to be flamed for it.

Agree with you. she can be a local with attached husband's surname, eg Lucy Tan-Smith, why would anyone assumed that she is foreigner at all? I have friends who married ang moh husbands and people do not necessarily think any lesser of her. I agree with Ange's comments below. what is Cherie whining about? During this sensitive times, it is wiser to STFU and and try to assimilate with the locals, if that is her real intention, instead of standing out.

Ange Teo : "And yet, we have people like you and a fair number of Expats -- coincidentally, mainly Caucasian -- whingeing and whining non-stop about the unfair deals you all get as Non-Singaporean citizens. Besides, you all just see it fit to write to the press and REMINDING us to be grateful of your contributions.

Just go learn a thing or two from those born-and-bred Singaporeans abroad. Okay?"

Believe she is ethnic Chinese from some Asian basket case. Married an Ang Mo want to act atas, gong gong dunno the rules must put hyphen between last names. SPG see her no up, government see her no up, think she some yaya Ang Mo with an Asian middle name. Now good lah, she buay tahan liao, go take pink IC, yaya papaya some more say she citizen now, contribute to the Singapore. Spend money, pay taxes is contribute to Singapore huh?

Singapore is not just the economy hor! KNS!

...... While Ms Amy Cheong's racially insensitive posts on Facebook are unacceptable, one wonders why there is so much stereotyping in Singapore in the first place.

We have become a more divisive society of late, with people being categorised by their race, residency status, type of Singaporean (local born or newly converted) and religion.....

Being a Chinese Malaysian, we know the basis of her deep-seated ethnic value regardless of the 1Malaysian slogan. They are acceptable for Malaysians to parody their own ethnic stereotyping. Enjoy the show :

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/nKcHEJJ9Uy0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

You can find more Malaysian entertainment at this website - not all are ethnically motivated though:
http://15malaysia.com/
They starred Malaysian politicians like PAS leader Nik Abdul Aziz, UMNO Youth Chief Khairy Jamaluddin, MCA Health Minister Dato’ Sri Liow Tiong Lai and PKR Tian Chua.

Indeed, with increased competition for mythical white whales in their never ending quest for social mobility, sinkie peasant girls experiencing slim pickings in the love market will now have to "settle" for lower caste male serfs. Meritocracy at its best!