• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hyperinflation Sets In Peesai's Food Courts!

Posted on 02 Nov 2009
$3.80 for pathetic portion of hokkien mee

380_pathetic_portion_of_hokkien_mee-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Jason was upset after paying $3.80 for a pathetic portion of hokkien mee he got from a stall at Tiong Bahru Plaza foodcourt.

He says that he doesn't mind paying a little more, if the portion's proportionate to the amount paid.

Says this STOMPer:
"I order this plate of hokkien prawn noodle at Tiong Bahru Plaza Kopitiam foodcourt.

"It cost me $3.80, a price which I expected from a foodcourt.

"But once I got the prawn noodles, I realised the portion was small, only one prawn was given.

"I think this is the most pathetic portion that I have ever had.

"Sometimes I would rather the stall pay a little higher and give a proper portion.

"But of cause if it is too expensive, it is still our choice whether or not we want to eat it.

"I asked myself, what contributes to this? Building management charging higher rent? In return food court charging higher rent to the stall? And stall charge either higher or remain at a lower cost but pathetic portion of food? Who's to blame for this?"

Keywords: overpriced , small portion

Posted on 01 Nov 2009
I paid $7.90 for this drumstick and a few tiny potatoes

i_paid_790_for_this_drumstick_and_a_few_potatoes-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Angelia got a rude shock at Jurong Point's Old Town White Coffee outlet when her meal arrived, as she felt the portion was too small for the $7.90 she had paid.

She says:

"This is what we got for $7.90 at Jurong Point Old Town White Coffee outlet!

"It was really pathetic - only one drumstick and a few tiny pieces of potatoes!

"When the food arrived, even my son said, 'Looks like it isn't enough for even one person!'

"I decided to take a picture of it after taking a few mouthfuls of rice.

"I will never go back to this outlet! Wonder if it is the same in the other outlets?

"When asked about serving such a small portion, the waiter simply answered, 'it is like that!'

"Below is a picture of the curry chicken set with rice in the menu."

chi-data.jpg

Keywords: Jurong Point , overcharge

Watchman

That's cheap . Prices should go up to $5-$6 .

Crowded even you can buy you got no where to sit .

It's a food court. Food Courts are not known for decent food and decent prices. That is why I avoid them like plague.

Yes, agree. Never eat at foodcourts. The prices are exhorbitant and they're not real cooks who can cook palatably, they're real crooks. Some examples of foodcourt fares and prices.

Mee Rebus/Mee Siam : noodle quick boiled and topped with gravy, one hard boiled egg and a sprinkling of bean curd bits : S$3.50

Mee Goreng : noodle fried with one egg and a sprinkling of potato bits sided with 2 or 3 pieces of cucumber : S$4.00.

Nasi Lemak : coconut rice with a chicken wing, a fried egg, some sprinklings of peanuts and ikan bilis : S$4.50.

Nasi Campur/Padang: choosing a drumstick or a piece of rendang or can cost S$3.00 and a scoop of vege S$1.00, not counting the rice yet.

Nasi Briyani : yellow briyani rice with a piece of mutton or chicken : S$5.00.

Indian Rojak : fish cake or egg cake S$2.00 per piece, tahu or potato S$1.00 per piece, prawn cake or cuttlefish $3.00 per piece.

Roti Prata : S$1.00 per piece, minimum order 2 pieces.

The Malay/Indian halal foodstalls seem to be the biggest overchargers, but Chinese foodcourt foodstalls aren't faring any better.

Wanton Mee : noodle with 5 or 6 thinny weeny slices of charsiew : S$4.00

Lor Mee : noodle with braised gravy, half a hard-boiled egg, a few thinny weeny slices of fish cake and fatty meat cuts : S$4.00

Hay Mee : fried, dry or soup, usually comes with one or two schrimpy shrimps to pass of as prawns : S$4 - 5.00.

Laksa : noodle in curry with a few cockles (countable, usually 4 or 5) and a few slices of fishcake (also countable, usually also 4 or 5) : S$4.00

Bak Chor Mee : noodle with 2 or 3 fishballs, a sprinkling of cheap minced pork, a few slices of fishcake and a few shreds of mushroom : S$4.00

Yong Tau Foo : S$0.50 per piece, minimum order 7 pieces.

Economic Rice : not so economic when a serving of one meat and one vege can cost S$4.00.

The list goes on...

cooleo

Posted on 02 Nov 2009
$3.80 for pathetic portion of hokkien mee

380_pathetic_portion_of_hokkien_mee-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Jason was upset after paying $3.80 for a pathetic portion of hokkien mee he got from a stall at Tiong Bahru Plaza foodcourt.

He says that he doesn't mind paying a little more, if the portion's proportionate to the amount paid.

Says this STOMPer:
"I order this plate of hokkien prawn noodle at Tiong Bahru Plaza Kopitiam foodcourt.

"It cost me $3.80, a price which I expected from a foodcourt.

"But once I got the prawn noodles, I realised the portion was small, only one prawn was given.

"I think this is the most pathetic portion that I have ever had.

"Sometimes I would rather the stall pay a little higher and give a proper portion.

"But of cause if it is too expensive, it is still our choice whether or not we want to eat it.

"I asked myself, what contributes to this? Building management charging higher rent? In return food court charging higher rent to the stall? And stall charge either higher or remain at a lower cost but pathetic portion of food? Who's to blame for this?"

Keywords: overpriced , small portion

$3.80 only?! Jason, try visiting FOOD REPUBLIC. U will be 'pleasantly surprised' at the prices there!

you know how much is the rental at food republic,almost 10K and above if I remember correctly,someone told me that and the stall that's making good money is actually the drinks stall.

Lord Imperious

So where do you go for your meals?
Any food and cheap hawker centres to recommend?

Well there are always neighbourhood coffee shops and hawker centers.

Hmmmm I usually go to the one at Bedok Interchange, Marine Parade, old airport road and Kallang. They got variety and good taste.

Then there are small eateries such as Dongbei and Shanghairen zi jia along Katong Road. These guys are good and value for money. Not to mention a very good Prawn noodle shop near Kallang MRT. :biggrin:

Spoilt rotten by all the good stalls in the east which is why Food Courts just cannot make it in my books.

cooleo

Certain food court chains usually serve lousy food. Why? Cos the cooks are all working under a paid monthly wage. Cook delicious food only means more work, but same pay!

angie II

Hello.. at least half of what u pay goes to S-REITS hor. Blame the hawker & they will tai chi your blow to the property landlord. Try ordering yong tau fu with a few pieces = $6 at Anchorpoint. :eek:

Lee Hsien Tau

In Thailand, the price would be 35 THB.

Street hawker and food court (air-con) similar price, just found out.

Bros, here got real competition, not fake one.

Food court cannot charge more, or else no business.:biggrin:

you know how much is the rental at food republic,almost 10K and above if I remember correctly,someone told me that and the stall that's making good money is actually the drinks stall.

lucky plaza foodcourt 19k amonth ...no joke . i got friend who rent their stall .

the stupid stomper talk so much ..why not he order 2 plate if he think the amount is not enough ....cheapskate

singaporean always complain about things selling in hawkers and foodcourts expensive . why not eat at home instead ? or bring lunchbox to work ? i really wonder $10 very very important to you ? instead of complaining expensive why not think how to make more money ?

you are right ...some of the stalls even pay 20% of their total daily sales to foodcourt owner + $6000 rental ...guess you must be surprise now ..:wink:

Jabba

Nowadays u need at least $5 to have a meal and drink at coffeeshop...owner rent out entire coffeshop to landlord who sublets the stores to hawkers at cut throat prices...who in turn charges higher prices with reduced portion...if this goes on..it won't be long before food and drinks becomes a problem for many ppl...

1sickpuppy II

I know of this stall in Yishun that sells good tasting and large portions of prawn mee and hokkien mee for just 2.50 to 3.50:smile: Their lor mee is not bad too its along the row of shops where the Singapore post is.