• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HUAT AH! Open Beers! Xmas is BANNED an iLLEgal

HongKanSeng

Arrest Sata Claus! He is terrorist!

Finally a UN Member instead of ISIS BAN XMAS! Nice!

http://news.asiaone.com/news/asia/bruneis-sultan-bans-christmas-hardline-shift

Brunei's sultan bans Christmas in hardline shift
AFP | Wednesday, Dec 23, 2015

Photo: Reuters

BRUNEI - Christmas is just around the corner, but there are no tinsel-laden trees or Santa hats in the oil-rich sultanate of Brunei, where celebrations have been banned under a shift towards hardline Islamic law.

The all-powerful Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah, one of the world's richest men, announced last year he would push ahead with the introduction of sharia law, eventually including tough penalties such as death by stoning or severed limbs.

Religious leaders in the oil-rich sultanate warned this month that a ban on Christmas would be strictly enforced, for fear that Muslims could be led astray.

"Using religious symbols like crosses, lighting candles, putting up Christmas trees, singing religious songs, sending Christmas greetings... are against Islamic faith," imams said in sermons published in the local press.

Punishment for violating the ban is a five-year jail sentence, and the government warned last year that Muslims would be committing an offence if they so much as wore "hats or clothes that resemble Santa Claus".

Although Christians are free to celebrate, they have been told not to do so "excessively and openly", in a directive that has had a chilling effect on the Southeast Asian nation, which sits on a corner of Borneo island.

Businesses have been warned to take decorations down and authorities have stepped up spot checks across the capital. Hotels popular among Western tourists that once boasted dazzling lights and giant Christmas trees are now barren of festive decor.

"This will be the saddest Christmas ever for me," a Malaysian expatriate resident told AFP, requesting not to be named for fear of reprisals from authorities.

"The best part of Christmas day is waking up and having that feeling that it is Christmas, but there's just none of that here and you just feel deprived."

"All this is just because of what the Sultan wants. In 2013, I saw many Muslims together with Christians having a good time at their house parties. Everything was normal and good," he said.

Most people are too scared to speak up about the ban, and while some privately gripe about the rule they know there is little to be done.

"I will be working on Christmas after church. We just have to cope," a Filipino waitress - one of Brunei's many guest workers - told AFP.

Some people dared to post pictures on social media depicting Christmas cheer using the hashtag #MyTreedom, part of a global campaign to highlight oppression against Christians.

At least one church in the capital sported decorations that were visible from the street, a rare glimpse of holiday cheer in the otherwise decoration-free city.

"The ban is ridiculous. It projects this image that Islam does not respect the rights of other religions to celebrate their faith," said a Muslim mother in the capital, also too scared to provide her name.

"Islam teaches us to respect one another and I believe it starts with respecting other religions even if what is being banned are ornamental displays."

Others were more tempered, and urged the prohibition to be respected.

"It is an Islamic country and so with respect to the law, churches need to keep decorations indoors," said a Christian Bruneian, unfazed by the strict rules.

"The meaning of Christmas for us isn't all about Christmas decorations."

However, the prohibition does not extend to the business interests of the sultan, whose estimated US$20 billion (S$28.1 billion) fortune includes the historic Beverly Hills Hotel - part of his Dorchester Collection with branches in London, Paris, Milan and Rome.

It is Christmas as usual this year in the upscale Le Richemond hotel in Geneva where guests are greeted by lavish displays in the hotel lobby, include bowls overflowing with pine branches, ornaments and candles aplenty.

The Le Meurice hotel in Paris advertises a Christmas eve seven-course gourmet menu for 650 euros - before drinks - while the Beverly Hills Hotel is decked out for the holidays too.

Before unveiling the hardline law, the sultan had warned of pernicious foreign influences such as the Internet and indicated he intended to place more emphasis on Islam in the conservative Muslim country.

Strict rules against homosexuality in the sharia law, punishable with death by stoning, sparked a backlash among A-listers including Jay Leno, Ellen DeGeneres and business tycoon Richard Branson, who called for the hotels to be boycotted.

The sultan is no stranger to controversy at home either - the monarchy was deeply embarrassed by a family feud with his brother Jefri Bolkiah over the latter's alleged embezzlement of US$15 billion during his tenure as finance minister in the 1990s.

Court battles and investigations revealed salacious details of Jefri's un-Islamic jetset lifestyle, including claims of a high-priced harem of foreign women and a luxury yacht he owned called "Tits".

Some say that Brunei is on a dangerous path towards religious intolerance in a state where only nine percent of 430,000 population are Christian.

"In a globalised world, many countries are trying to unite different people and different religions but it doesn't seem to be the case here," a Catholic foreign worker told AFP.

"What's happening here is that Christians are being alienated from the majority Muslim community."

Trillionaire Sultan joined ISIS.

Just remember Osama Bn Laden is Billionaire.

If I am not mistaken, Christmas is not a holiday in china nor is it a major celebration there.
And hari raya is not celebrated in the west. Nor is Chinese New Year.

If I am not mistaken, Christmas is not a holiday in china nor is it a major celebration there.

My bumi business contacts in mudland tell me that Malaysia, despite being Islamic, celebrates Christmas more widely than the Islamic festivals of Hari Raya. Lots of Muslim feelings are hurt when they see Buddhists, atheists, Hindus, etc join in the Christmas festivities while they all fcuk-care Islamic festivities. Showing so little respect for Islamic festivities in the Islamic lands contribute to Christmas being banned, in order to assuage hurt Muslim feelings.

santa2.jpg

Santa-Arrested-Video.jpg

151128B15_C897-0.jpg

Why doesn't your Islamic government close down Genting Highlands Resort for good? Making good money over the Christmas holidays, isn't it?

Donald Trump want to ban Allah, so the Ang Moh's own Allah also kenna banned!

48362300.cached.jpg

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2015/12/23/how-the-sultan-of-brunei-banned-christmas.html

How The Sultan Of Brunei Banned Christmas
NICO HINES12.23.152:00 PM ET
At least the Grinch had an excuse.
Dr. Seusss’s most hated character endured a miserable childhood that saw his love of Christmas cruelly snuffed out.
The sultan of Brunei suffered no such hardship.

The “Playboy Prince” grew up in unparalleled luxury in a gilded palace that looms over the tiny kingdom of Brunei on the northern shores of Borneo in Southeast Asia.
Behind the palace gates, his lavish and lascivious lifestyle—think harem of international models—stands in sharp contrast to the strict religious control he has imposed upon his people.
Last year, he announced that Sharia (Islamic law) would be introduced in Brunei—transforming the lives of his subjects who now face being publicly flogged or stoned to death for breaching the strict moral code.
Drew Angerer/Getty
In response to his state-sanctioned murderous homophobia, the celebrity world mobilized to boycott his Dorchester Collection group of hotels.
The latest crackdown is on people “openly” enjoying Christmas. The penalties for crimes such as wearing a Santa’s hat in public stretch to five years in prison.
Last year, the Sultan’s Religious Enforcement Division raided businesses and demanded that Christmas trees be destroyed and store clerks take off their Santa costumes.

This year, the kingdom’s imams are concentrating on Muslims who might join the end-of-year celebrations.
“Prophet Muhammad said, ‘Whoever imitates a people is one of them,’” they said, according to the Borneo Bulletin.
In other words, any Muslim who so much as jingles a bell automatically becomes a kafir, or “unbeliever.”

And if there’s one thing Sultan Hassanal Bolkiahhat understands, it’s the power of temptation—so he has also banned non-Muslims from celebrating in public.
Speaking during a sermon at Friday prayers, an imam explained that the ban included lighting candles, putting up Christmas trees, singing carols, putting up decorations or “creating sounds and doing anything that amounts to respecting their religion.”
“Some may think that it is a frivolous matter and should not be brought up as an issue. But as Muslims and as a Zikir Nation, we must keep it away as it could affect our Islamic faith,” he said.
GET THE DAILY BEAST IN YOUR INBOX

SUBSCRIBE
FOLLOW THE DAILY BEAST

The main thrust of the intervention appears to concern not just Christmas, but partying in the name of anything other than Allah.
“When celebrating such festivities, there certainly exists beliefs and practices that are against the teachings of Islam,” the imam explained. “Be careful not to follow such celebrations that are totally not related to Islam.”
What, like massive sex parties? The sultan and his brother Prince Jefri were described as “constant companions in hedonism” in a 2011 Vanity Fair profile.
They famously keep a harem of beautiful women from all over the world at their beck and call in their palaces, aboard their fleet of private jets, or invited inside what is thought to be the world’s most expensive collection of supercars.
Jefri, who is said to have blown billions on gifts and parties, once owned a 150-foot yacht called Tits.
Among his collection of unusual art was a set of—generously sculpted—statues showing Jefri and his fiancée in flagrante delicto.
These are the most powerful men in a country where the punishment for other people committing adultery is stoning to death; alcohol consumption is a flogging offence; and there’s capital punishment for rape and sodomy.
One member of the harem told The Daily Beast last year that the sultan was also prone to straying from his three wives.
“I am no expert in international human rights,” wrote Jillian Lauren. “My only qualification in commenting on this issue is that one drunken evening in the early ’90s, the sultan and I committed at least two of the aforementioned offenses as we looked down on the lights of Kuala Lumpur from a penthouse suite.”
“Theory states that Allah’s law is cruel and unfair,” said the sultan when he introduced Sharia. “But Allah himself has said that his law is indeed fair.”
The latest crackdown comes as Christmas-lovers all over the Middle East take to Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook to proclaim their freedom to erect Christmas trees in their homes against the wishes of hardline clerics.
Many of those featured on the My Treedom Facebook page come from Saudi Arabia, Iraq, and Syria where Christmas parties are wisely kept below the radar.
Lisa Daftari, who edits the Foreign Desk*website, has even had a submission from Brunei, where a secret party was held in a restaurant that boasted a wreath, a couple of Santa’s hats and magnificent, star-topped Christmas tree.

Why doesn't your Islamic government close down Genting Highlands Resort for good? Making good money over the Christmas holidays, isn't it?

business is neutral,we place profits and opportunity over everything including family,religion and health.

Do they know it’s Christmas? Brunei bans festive celebrations so Muslims won’t be led astray

PUBLISHED : Wednesday, 23 December, 2015, 5:08pm
UPDATED : Wednesday, 23 December, 2015, 5:08pm

Agence France-Presse in Bandar Seri Begawan

3fa8d422-a945-11e5-88e2-828a3e695a05_1280x720.jpg

Brunei's Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah is one of the world's wealthiest people who has presided over a shift to more conservative Islam and anti-sedition laws in recent years. Photo: Reuters

Christmas is just around the corner, but there are no tinsel-laden trees or Santa hats in the oil-rich sultanate of Brunei, where celebrations have been banned under a shift towards hardline Islamic law.

The all-powerful Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah, one of the world’s richest men, announced last year he would push ahead with the introduction of sharia law, eventually including tough penalties such as death by stoning or severed limbs.

Religious leaders in the oil-rich sultanate warned this month that a ban on Christmas would be strictly enforced, for fear that Muslims could be led astray.

“Using religious symbols like crosses, lighting candles, putting up Christmas trees, singing religious songs, sending Christmas greetings... are against Islamic faith,” imams said in sermons published in the local press.

77527364-a946-11e5-88e2-828a3e695a05_486x.jpg

This photo, posted to the Facebook group My Treedom, shows a couple in a restaurant in Brunei, where public celebrations of Christmas are banned. Photo: Facebook

Punishment for violating the ban is a five-year jail sentence, and the government warned last year that Muslims would be committing an offence if they so much as wore “hats or clothes that resemble Santa Claus”.

Although Christians are free to celebrate, they have been told not to do so “excessively and openly”, in a directive that has had a chilling effect on the Southeast Asian nation, which sits on a corner of Borneo island.

Businesses have been warned to take decorations down and authorities have stepped up spot checks across the capital. Hotels popular among Western tourists that once boasted dazzling lights and giant Christmas trees are now barren of festive decor.

“This will be the saddest Christmas ever for me,” a Malaysian expatriate resident said, requesting not to be named for fear of reprisals from authorities.

b9ef23c0-a946-11e5-88e2-828a3e695a05_486x.jpg

The sultanate of Brunei has introduced Islamic criminal law, the latest example of a deepening religious conservatism that has also taken root in parts of neighbouring Malaysia and Indonesia. Photo: Reuters

“The best part of Christmas day is waking up and having that feeling that it is Christmas, but there's just none of that here and you just feel deprived.

“All this is just because of what the Sultan wants. In 2013, I saw many Muslims together with Christians having a good time at their house parties. Everything was normal and good.”

Most people are too scared to speak up about the ban, and while some privately gripe about the rule they know there is little to be done.

“I will be working on Christmas after church. We just have to cope,” a Filipino waitress - one of Brunei’s many guest workers - said.

Some people dared to post pictures on social media depicting Christmas cheer using the hashtag #MyTreedom, part of a global campaign to highlight oppression against Christians.

At least one church in the capital sported decorations that were visible from the street, a rare glimpse of holiday cheer in the otherwise decoration-free city.

b290afc0-a943-11e5-88e2-828a3e695a05_486x.jpg

The Dorchester hotel in central London, which is owned by the Sultan of Brunei, is decked out with Christmas decorations, in contrast to Brunei where Christmas celebrations are banned. Photo: AFP

“The ban is ridiculous. It projects this image that Islam does not respect the rights of other religions to celebrate their faith,” said a Muslim mother in the capital, also too scared to provide her name.

“Islam teaches us to respect one another and I believe it starts with respecting other religions even if what is being banned are ornamental displays.”

Others were more tempered, and urged the prohibition to be respected.

“It is an Islamic country and so with respect to the law, churches need to keep decorations indoors,” said a Christian Bruneian, unfazed by the strict rules.

“The meaning of Christmas for us isn't all about Christmas decorations.”

However, the prohibition does not extend to the business interests of the sultan, whose estimated $20 billion fortune includes the historic Beverly Hills Hotel - part of his Dorchester Collection with branches in London, Paris, Milan and Rome.

It is Christmas as usual this year in the upscale Le Richemond hotel in Geneva where guests are greeted by lavish displays in the hotel lobby, include bowls overflowing with pine branches, ornaments and candles aplenty.

The Le Meurice hotel in Paris advertises a Christmas eve seven-course gourmet menu for 650 euros - before drinks - while the Beverly Hills Hotel is decked out for the holidays too.

Before unveiling the hardline law, the sultan had warned of pernicious foreign influences such as the Internet and indicated he intended to place more emphasis on Islam in the conservative Muslim country.

Strict rules against homosexuality in the sharia law, punishable with death by stoning, sparked a backlash among A-listers including Jay Leno, Ellen DeGeneres and business tycoon Richard Branson, who called for the hotels to be boycotted.

The sultan is no stranger to controversy at home either - the monarchy was deeply embarrassed by a family feud with his brother Jefri Bolkiah over the latter’s alleged embezzlement of $15 billion during his tenure as finance minister in the 1990s.

Court battles and investigations revealed salacious details of Jefri's un-Islamic jetset lifestyle, including claims of a high-priced harem of foreign women and a luxury yacht he owned called “Tits”.

Some say that Brunei is on a dangerous path towards religious intolerance in a state where only nine per cent of 430,000 population are Christian.

“In a globalised world, many countries are trying to unite different people and different religions but it doesn't seem to be the case here,” a Catholic foreign worker said.

“What's happening here is that Christians are being alienated from the majority Muslim community.”

Go Royal Brunei Police, in the next few days go RAID Churches and Ang Moh homes! Arrest thousands and fill up prison for the next five years.

The Brunei sultan is a hypocrite ...he has and continues to violate sharia laws freely and yet he wants his people to be subjected to it.

Only Sharia laws allow cruelty, like chop hand chop head. He can use this to fix his opponents.

Dun worry. Singapore, with most government pap ministers and their cronies being Xtians, will never ban Christmas. Maybe, in retaliation against Brunei, Singapore will delink the Sing Dollar from Brunei Dollar.

Any Muslim who can successfully implement Sharia is no hypocrite. He is a hero! Ask any Muslim!

My bumi business contacts in mudland tell me that Malaysia, despite being Islamic, celebrates Christmas more widely than the Islamic festivals of Hari Raya. Lots of Muslim feelings are hurt when they see Buddhists, atheists, Hindus, etc join in the Christmas festivities while they all fcuk-care Islamic festivities. Showing so little respect for Islamic festivities in the Islamic lands contribute to Christmas being banned, in order to assuage hurt Muslim feelings.

Islamic festivities are Satanic in nature! Islam is a crime syndicate based on war, extortion, forced conversions and subjugation. You dirty bastards are animals! Hey you fucking cheebye Muslim cunt. Why dont you use your Muslim name? You bastards are hypocrites and devil worshippers!

Come find out about your Son of Satan, Profit Muhammed.
http://www.thereligionofpeace.com/muhammad/myths-mu-home.htm

Any Muslim who can successfully implement Sharia is no hypocrite. He is a hero! Ask any Muslim!

Muslims are going to hell if it exists! No difference whether a Muslim is a hypocrite or not. When you celebrate death like Muslims do only hell is your destination. You fucking hypocrite slanderous Muslim bastard! Use your Muslims you cheebye babi!

Islamic festivities are Satanic in nature! Islam is a crime syndicate based on war, extortion, forced conversions and subjugation. You dirty bastards are animals! Hey you fucking cheebye Muslim cunt. Why dont you use your Muslim name? You bastards are hypocrites and devil worshippers!

Come find out about your Son of Satan, Profit Muhammed.
http://www.thereligionofpeace.com/muhammad/myths-mu-home.htm

I am not a Muslim. Good grief no. But I think there's a war coming, and I would just like to be on the winning side. Currently, I am their translator.