• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How to repel mosquitos thru the natural way

Unrepented

Especially, for those with babies and children at home.:) For HDB dewellers, maybe can grow potted "Citronella" plants indoors on the shelf in each room.

I cushed some garlic and place in my room, see if it works.:confused:

Mosquito Plants - mosquitos hates

There are two types of plants that are called mosquito plants. One is a member of the geranium family that was genetically engineered to incorporate the properties of citronella. Citronella only grows in tropical places, but it is a well known repellant for mosquitoes. This plant was created to bring the repellant properties of citronella into a hardier plant. It will grow where any geranium will thrive. Many have questioned its usefulness as a mosquito repellant, but it is attractive enough to warrant planting for it’s ornamental value.

The other kind of mosquito plant is agastache cana. Its common names include Texas hummingbird mint, bubblegum mint, giant hyssop, or giant hummingbird mint. As you might guess, hummingbirds are quite attracted to it.

Natural Repellents

It's very easy to make your own natural mosquito repellent. These natural products will effectively repel mosquitoes, but they require more frequent reapplication (at least every 2 hours) and higher concentrations than DEET. Because of the differences between types of mosquitoes, products that contain multiple repellents tend to be more effective than those containing a single ingredient. As you can see, natural repellents tend to be volatile plant oils.

•Citronella Oil
•Lemon Eucalyptus Oil
•Cinnamon Oil
•Castor Oil
•Rosemary Oil
•Lemongrass Oil
•Cedar Oil
•Peppermint Oil
•Clove Oil
•Geranium Oil
•Possibly Oils from Verbena, Pennyroyal, Lavender, Pine, Cajeput, Basil, Thyme, Allspice, Soybean, and Garlic

Another plant-derived substance, pyrethrum, is an insecticide. Pyrethrum comes from the flowers of the daisy Chrysanthemum cinerariifolium.

Instructions

1 TAKE VITAMIN B1 - If you take a 100mg vitamin B1 everyday throughout the mosquito season, the mosquitos will not bite you. There is an undetectable scent that the B1 sends through your pores. The mosquitos do not like it and they will not bite you. Take vitamin B1 every day April through October.

2 GARLIC - You can take a garlic supplement, eat foods with garlic, eat garlic or crack it and rub it on your body. Garlic turns mosquitos away.

3 TEA TREE OIL - Mix one part water with two parts tea tree oil and put it in a spray bottle. Spray on all areas of skin that are exposed. For your face, spray it on your hand first and then apply it to your face.

4 PLANT MARIGOLDS - Plant a lot of marigolds around your yard. Mosquitos hate the smell of marigolds.

5 CITRONELLA - You can rub citronella oil on your body or burn citronella candles to keep mosquitos away.

Mosquito Attractants

Use this list of items and activities that attract mosquitoes as a list of things to avoid or that can be used as bait to lure mosquitoes away from you.

•Dark Clothing
Many mosquitoes use vision to locate hosts from a distance. Dark clothes and foliage are initial attractants.

•Carbon Dioxide
You give off more carbon dioxide when you are hot or have been exercising. A burning candle or other fire is another source of carbon dioxide.

•Lactic Acid
You release more lactic acid when you have been exercising or after eating certain foods (e.g., salty foods, high-potassium foods).

•Floral or Fruity Fragrances
In addition to perfumes, hair products, and scented sunscreens, watch for the subtle floral fragrance from fabric softeners and dryer sheets.

•Skin Temperature
The exact temperature depends on the type of mosquito. Many mosquitoes are attracted to the slightly cooler temperatures of the extremities.

•Moisture
Mosquitoes are attracted by perspiration because of the chemicals it contains and also because it increases the humidity around your body. Even small amounts of water (e.g., moist plants or m&d puddles) will draw mosquitoes. Standing water also allows mosquitoes to reproduce.

I burn citronella candles in my backyard during summer. But I don't know what keeps them mozzies away, smoke from citronella, bbq coals, or the marijuana guests toke.

Yeah go natural.. apparently those ultrasonic mosquito repellents are scams.

I always remember the SAF issued insect repellent in a green tube. Didn't work well against the commando trained jungle mosquitoes. Plus they burnt the skin!! :eek:

Though I used the utrasonic insect repellent only once decades ago, I think it does work. Once my buddy pointed it at a moth in the canteen, the fucker was flying and banging against a corner of the ceiling like crazy. But dont know if the ultrasonic wave is harmful to human or not :*:

We only apply the SAF insect repellent on the toggle ropes and strings tied to the trees when we sleep in the jungles. Unless we hate ourselve then we apply on our own skin:D

Yeah go natural.. apparently those ultrasonic mosquito repellents are scams.

I always remember the SAF issued insect repellent in a green tube. Didn't work well against the commando trained jungle mosquitoes. Plus they burnt the skin!! :eek:

Five minutes ago, I did an experiment. I smashed a garlic and put some sticky juice on my palm, then I wet my hands and rub on the exposed areas of my hands, legs and neck. Then I went to the backyard for a smoke, no mosquitos bite. Normally, I would kenna one or two bites. Therefore, I think it really works. Got to try out more to see if the same can be replicated.

Also, maybe start taking garlic and B1 supplement, for brain and avoid dengue. No mosquito bites mean no risk of dengue.:D

Unless we hate ourselve then we apply on our own skin:D

We didn't know as blur recruits :(

Also, maybe start taking garlic and B1 supplement, for brain and avoid dengue. No mosquito bites mean no risk of dengue.:D

The smell of garlic lingers with you for a while. As a smoker, you probably can't pick it up but believe me, outsiders can. In southern europe they make fun of the stinky italians because of this.

No mosquito bite = no friends too? Haha

Then I may consider taking B1 supplement only, because no smell when emitted from the pores of our skin.:)

We didn't know as blur recruits :(

The smell of garlic lingers with you for a while. As a smoker, you probably can't pick it up but believe me, outsiders can. In southern europe they make fun of the stinky italians because of this.

No mosquito bite = no friends too? Haha

Mossies can be attracted a mile away by the carbon dioxide one exhales. To repel or not to attract mossies the natural way, inhale but dont exhale.

I burn citronella candles in my backyard during summer. But I don't know what keeps them mozzies away, smoke from citronella, bbq coals, or the marijuana guests toke.

I burn citronella or lemon grass aroma therapy oil to warn off mosquito and the cops ( during my ganja session ) .

no need all this trouble to repel them. just sms to NEA @ 74688 with messaage "Mosquito - your location" and they will come and get rid of mosquito for you.

I burn citronella or lemon grass aroma therapy oil to warn off mosquito and the cops ( during my ganja session ) .

& I use insect ultrasonic repeller...

PestRepeller2.jpg

lianbeng anyhow hamtam, "just dun give them water lor. 10-cent coin size of water droplet is good enuf for them to breed baby mozzies.":D

The most natural way for me is to bring my girlfriend along, now my wife.

Her blood is sweeter, apparently. She got all the stung while not a bite on me.

Drink alcoholic beverages. The mosquitoes won't come near you.

For some reasons, think mosquitoes are not attracted to alcohol. Maybe it make the mosquito mabo.

Bingo! That's why drunk drivers are tested by breath to be suspect but must be tested by blood to be charged.

Another tip, another effective mosquito (or other inesect) repellant is smoking a ciggie.

Ciggie smoke need to be concentrated in the area with many people smoking lah.

But I put up this thread for forumers with babies and children to help avoid dengue also. Babies kenna mosquito bites cry and cry until whole house cannot sleep:o Baby also suffer but dont know how to say or scratch.:(

Bingo! That's why drunk drivers are tested by breath to be suspect but must be tested by blood to be charged.

Another tip, another effective mosquito (or other inesect) repellant is smoking a ciggie.