• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How the Govt makes obscene profits from Worker Dorms

land cost at $100 PSF or $1000 PSF, its all decided by the government. anyone who gives BS about "do you want to pay more if we treat them better?" is just sucking dowager's dick.

as OP said quite correctly, the government cannot overly regulate if they have already squeezed so much for the operator upfront. if land costs are low, then they can regulate the hell out of the operators.

so we are here because the government decided to cede their regulatory role in order to add to their coffers so they can play more sim city.

but the land cost does make a difference in depreciation in accounting sense but whether the operators would pass such gains as less rent to the labourers or not is highly questionable

land cost at $100 PSF or $1000 PSF, its all decided by the government. anyone who gives BS about "do you want to pay more if we treat them better?" is just sucking dowager's dick.

as OP said quite correctly, the government cannot overly regulate if they have already squeezed so much for the operator upfront. if land costs are low, then they can regulate the hell out of the operators.

so we are here because the government decided to cede their regulatory role in order to add to their coffers so they can play more sim city.

Welcome to the one party ownself check ownself system.

I get the feeling that the SLA has been making a fortune with all the land sales since the day Loong had ascended the throne in 2004.

and what are you going to do about it ? All you can do is to make some remark here. Definitely sla has been making billions , you expect
sla to give some to u or sla will invite u to be a director ? Why not to go to speaker corner to protect , u too timid ?
You only have negative thing to say about others , everything is unsatisfactory to u.

ostensibly for the good of the country, but where has all the money gone? vanity projects? and who really pays for this? The end users - We the people. and a few assorted rich foreigners.

PAP and We the people no longer have the same interest.

Neo Tiam Boon (PBM) - Managing Director - Tiong Aik Construction Pte Ltd

Mr. Neo is also involved in giving public seminar and talks at the Business Families Institute @ Singapore Management University on managing family business. He is also an active grassroots leader, having served in various capacities for more than 25 years.

Sorry to correct you, but its not even land sales. SLA almost never sell land. They usually tender it up for lease.

By now, everyone knows about the FW dorm overcrowding and poor conditions that has led to the outbreak of almost 20,000 Covid cases. And everyone has blamed the employers, MOM, the dorm operators, etc. However, from what I understand, the root cause is non other then Govt greed.

The govt is the one that delegates parcel of land to be put out to tender for construction of these worker dormitories. Once the govt has identified and put the parcel out for bids, that’s when you have the problems. Do you know for example, the lease given by the govt is only 20 years for these dorms? That’s right, 20 years. That means whoever wins the bid has 20 years to recoup the land cost and construction costs for these dorms. That means that all these dorms are build with modular construction so that they can be dismantled in 20 years at the expiration of the lease and re-assembled for further use elsewhere. The underlying land under the dorms will then be re-sold for more permanent development.

A typical example is in 2014, Tiong Aik Construction Pte Ltd bid and beat out 8 other bidders for a piece of land in Tuas South Street to build a 9200 bed workers dorm. They paid $113.9 million for this privilege. Back in 2014, this was one of the largest dorms, but it’s a medium size dorm by today’s standards. This land was owned by stat board JTC. Imagine thy had to pay $113.9 million for the 20 year lease, and on top of that construct the building, put in all the services, etc. This could end up costing them close to $150 million. You must remember these dorm lands are not even located in prime locations. They are usually in remote areas like industrial estates.

They then have less then 20 years (lease of 20 years less construction time) to earn all their money back, and still make a profit. Is it any wonder that they are squeezing as many workers in there as possible? Is it any wonder that their cleaning and hygiene standard is not there because they have to squeeze every single penny out of the building? Is it any wonder that perhaps they shortcut their maintenance on these dorms to save money?

Now look at it from the PAP’s view point. You have just squeezed $113.9 million from a large company for a short 20 year lease. If you harass them and pressure them to maintain their dorm and to spend money on the facility, they will tell you that reduces their profits. Therefore, other future bids for dorm land will not fetch as high a price if the MOM’s inspectors do their jobs and impose profit reducing regulations. Coupled with the fact that many of these companies have links to the PAP at the grassroot level and you have a very incestuous relationship. Josephstink Teo is not going to kill the goose that lays the golden egg by reading the riot act to the dorm operators. Hence we are in the situation we are in today. This situation will continue in the future, as long as it is so lucrative to the govt.

Now where does all this money from land leases to dorm operators, plus billions $ worker levies go, well your guess is as good as mine. So much collected and the PAP still will not allow us to take $5000 of our own money out of CPF.
No. Being poor, now that is obscene! :cool:

The greatest atrocity is allowing crassroot and mps to serve both the people and their own business as well hence conflict of interest is inevitable. If you work as an employee you can serve as crassroot or mps not if u're running your own businesses.

Now many of the richest are mps and crassroots leader because most people will 'give face' hence almost nobody dares 'touch' them plus they have first hand information which is not fair to others if they're running a business is it not ?

How to vote for others if your livelihood, properties price and businesses is tightly knitted ?! Hence there's no 70% there's only these kpkb low iq 30% inevitably hence as mojito said above "Being poor is that obscene" is it not ?

If you live in a most peaceful and safetest bestest atas cuntry even COVID cannot do anything to us other than our selves-inflicted miseries of uncalled for lockdowns and have cheap labour what should you be doing ? Businesses and eat tunglok shark fin of course ! If u're still competing with cheap foreign workers at trash salary.... you're stewpig, you deserve it !

Even Machik do bizzness at home ya ? Huat Ah ~~ ! Ignorance is that greatest evil on earth... and ofc the bestest is Tantra ! lol

By now, everyone knows about the FW dorm overcrowding and poor conditions that has led to the outbreak of almost 20,000 Covid cases. And everyone has blamed the employers, MOM, the dorm operators, etc. However, from what I understand, the root cause is non other then Govt greed.

The govt is the one that delegates parcel of land to be put out to tender for construction of these worker dormitories. Once the govt has identified and put the parcel out for bids, that’s when you have the problems. Do you know for example, the lease given by the govt is only 20 years for these dorms? That’s right, 20 years. That means whoever wins the bid has 20 years to recoup the land cost and construction costs for these dorms. That means that all these dorms are build with modular construction so that they can be dismantled in 20 years at the expiration of the lease and re-assembled for further use elsewhere. The underlying land under the dorms will then be re-sold for more permanent development.

A typical example is in 2014, Tiong Aik Construction Pte Ltd bid and beat out 8 other bidders for a piece of land in Tuas South Street to build a 9200 bed workers dorm. They paid $113.9 million for this privilege. Back in 2014, this was one of the largest dorms, but it’s a medium size dorm by today’s standards. This land was owned by stat board JTC. Imagine thy had to pay $113.9 million for the 20 year lease, and on top of that construct the building, put in all the services, etc. This could end up costing them close to $150 million. You must remember these dorm lands are not even located in prime locations. They are usually in remote areas like industrial estates.

They then have less then 20 years (lease of 20 years less construction time) to earn all their money back, and still make a profit. Is it any wonder that they are squeezing as many workers in there as possible? Is it any wonder that their cleaning and hygiene standard is not there because they have to squeeze every single penny out of the building? Is it any wonder that perhaps they shortcut their maintenance on these dorms to save money?

Now look at it from the PAP’s view point. You have just squeezed $113.9 million from a large company for a short 20 year lease. If you harass them and pressure them to maintain their dorm and to spend money on the facility, they will tell you that reduces their profits. Therefore, other future bids for dorm land will not fetch as high a price if the MOM’s inspectors do their jobs and impose profit reducing regulations. Coupled with the fact that many of these companies have links to the PAP at the grassroot level and you have a very incestuous relationship. Josephstink Teo is not going to kill the goose that lays the golden egg by reading the riot act to the dorm operators. Hence we are in the situation we are in today. This situation will continue in the future, as long as it is so lucrative to the govt.

Now where does all this money from land leases to dorm operators, plus billions $ worker levies go, well your guess is as good as mine. So much collected and the PAP still will not allow us to take $5000 of our own money out of CPF.
That $113.9 million was through a bid and it's an open bidding system. It's not a fee imposed by the government. The fault should be on the owners/company operating those dormitories, regardless of whether they are ex-PAP members or not. The government must come down hard on them for any breach pertaining to the density and hygiene of their occupants. No concessions must be allowed.

Please read my first post again. Owner operators and PAP are all in cahoots together. THat is why they never come down hard on and in fact rarely come down on any breaches at all.