• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How many of U marry using own $$

just do a simple dinner, just family members for dinner. Just 5 tables only. everything all in less than $5k, and that include the stupid photos she insist of having but now collecting dust in the storeroom.

royster79

just do a simple dinner, just family members for dinner. Just 5 tables only. everything all in less than $5k, and that include the stupid photos she insist of having but now collecting dust in the storeroom.

I think its always the men's wish to keep it simple.. But the tigress will definitely object and make a big fuss... :biggrin:

madmansg

I marry in batam only pay like $30.00 for hotel room. Dinner I share my maggee mee with new wife. for extra romance turn on the free porn channel on cable.

From what i see, most of my frenz marry/hold weddings using parent's money.. How abt urs??:cool:

I thought Singaporeans are rich? no? When they are in bangkok, their sinkie arrogance are so up to standard and just touch down from the plane, they are a millionaire.

kakowi

If you are asking because you want to know if you should use your own parents' money....then this is my opinion:

Save your parents the money. Unless they are businessmen, there is no need to spend good money on a lavish wedding (ie using your parents' money). A small intimate dinner party may make better sense.

Given the high rate of marriage failures, i feel that it makes more sense to save up the money and throw a lavish dinner, celebrating 25 years of marriage.

pia

Given the high rate of marriage failures, i feel that it makes more sense to save up the money and throw a lavish dinner, celebrating 25 years of marriage.

That's a very good advice. However, I would propose 2 celebrations (not necessary big dinners), one at 10 and then one at 25. The intermediate process of a married life is just as important.. you wife will feel she's still loved :biggrin:

porkchop75

We paid for everything using our own money. We married late, hence were both very financially stable, didn't have the usual chinese banquet & we made a "loss" so to speak but it was ok as it was how we wanted our wedding to be - no rushing around, no running to the door (what door?) to thank leaving guests - in fact, our guests rather stay on & chat, and we actually sat down to enjoy the food. I baked our wedding cake (fake cardboard cakes are so tacky!) & made all the party favours so that the wedding was more personal. Both hubby & I still look back to our wedding with fond memories.

We don't really celebrate our anniversary in a big way, sometimes we even forget as we're so busy. But it's ok. Usually, we do things we like; hubby will bring me to the plant nursery as I like plants or we go Kino / borders as we like books. Then a meal together. But no presents, we have each other and now kids & that's what matters most.

pia

We paid for everything using our own money. We married late, hence were both very financially stable, didn't have the usual chinese banquet & we made a "loss" so to speak but it was ok as it was how we wanted our wedding to be - no rushing around, no running to the door (what door?) to thank leaving guests - in fact, our guests rather stay on & chat, and we actually sat down to enjoy the food. I baked our wedding cake (fake cardboard cakes are so tacky!) & made all the party favours so that the wedding was more personal. Both hubby & I still look back to our wedding with fond memories.

We don't really celebrate our anniversary in a big way, sometimes we even forget as we're so busy. But it's ok. Usually, we do things we like; hubby will bring me to the plant nursery as I like plants or we go Kino / borders as we like books. Then a meal together. But no presents, we have each other and now kids & that's what matters most.

Your hubby is a lucky man.. wishing you eternal marital bliss :smile:

royster79

If you are asking because you want to know if you should use your own parents' money....then this is my opinion:

Save your parents the money. Unless they are businessmen, there is no need to spend good money on a lavish wedding (ie using your parents' money). A small intimate dinner party may make better sense.

I have no intention to use my parent's money.. In fact, i have already "prepared" my wedding expenses for future.. I would be glad if my parents stop asking me for more money:o ( Dad not working and mum earning peanuts )

Just that recently, many of my frens are getting married. From what i know, most of them dun fork out money for their weddings. They mostly take from parents. Of coz they do fork out a little. But the little is really little, like maybe 2-3k.. the rest all sponsored by parents.

Its not that they cannot afford, just becoz they wanted to save the money for their apartment, future bills etc.. IMO, its not morally correct.. Why should the parents sponsor the wedding when the couple can afford?? of coz if the parents is filthy rich, thats another story...

popdod

Not just parents money for wedding dinners...sometimes even for HDB downpayment..and even their house renovation.

Surprisingly, they are working.....sometimes dun understand these ppl.
Working no savings wan meh?
If earn less, then dun spend so much on renovation and wedding dinner lor.

But most chinese want face and pride....5 star wedding dinner + over budget renovation seems to look good on themselves.

Wondering without their parents sponsors...how they gonna cope with these debts.

:( :biggrin: :(

pia

Not just parents money for wedding dinners...sometimes even for HDB downpayment..and even their house renovation.

Surprisingly, they are working.....sometimes dun understand these ppl.
Working no savings wan meh?
If earn less, then dun spend so much on renovation and wedding dinner lor.

But most chinese want face and pride....5 star wedding dinner + over budget renovation seems to look good on themselves.

Wondering without their parents sponsors...how they gonna cope with these debts.

:( :biggrin: :(

Parents will be parents.. they volunteer to sponsor to precisely do that: get you to avoid being in debt.

One gracious way is to accept, but pay back in full, money and filial piety-wise. Above all, spend less money and spend prudently. :smile:

popdod

Parents will be parents.. they volunteer to sponsor to precisely do that: get you to avoid being in debt.
One gracious way is to accept, but pay back in full, money and filial piety-wise. Above all, spend less money and spend prudently. :smile:

I believe once you are graduated and start to work...you should be responsible for all your expenses.
The money should reserved for their retirement.

Young couples should spend within their limit and not overstretch their loans.
Without this kind of responsibility, they will run into debts sooner or later.
and
when time comes, they ask parents to bail them out.

:( :wink: :(