• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

How do kopitiam and hawker centres wash their cutlery?

LexLuthor

With the renewed emphasis on hygiene, some diners at hawker centres are seen spraying alcohol on the table to kill viruses that may have been left by the previous diners.

One wonders if the dish washing protocols behind the kitchen adhere to the same high standard of hygiene. I have seen one Ah Pek washing chopsticks at the kopitiam. He dips a bunch of chopsticks into a big rectangular bucket of clear water, and stirs and stirs.

Is that enough to eradicate virus ? Or does the bucket of water contain a certain concentration of alcohol ?

If you're dining in at a hawker centre, you should probably disregard hygiene. As long as there is no food poisoning or 'special ingredients' added to your food then everything is cool. Don't sweat the small stuff. :cool:

Not onlee dining at a hawker centre KNN even taking public bud my uncle always leave special ingredients on the seats at the side :geek:

You can wear mask and keep to safe distancing with inspectors all around to check on you, but if the chopsticks or spoons that you put into your mouth has fragments of the virus, the entire campaign is going to be a waste of time.

NEA should start checking behind the stalls. They should at least use hot water to wash the cutlery.

I eat my outside meals in restaurants only. Sinkies who are concerned about hygiene and quality of food should do so too.

The “special ingredients” add to the flavour anyway!

that’s why i carry a portable dishwashing kit everytime i go to hawker centers. you can see me with a backpack equipped with a squirting tube, spray bottle, detergent, washcloth for drying dishes, brush and scrub.

FYI, some SAF cookhouses have a centralized hot water dishwashing area. Should be much cleaner and more hygienic.

Don't expect hawker centres to follow suit, they don't have access to the grossly bloated 'sacred cow' defence budget. :biggrin:

Fun fact: Coronaviruses cannot multiply in food – they need a live animal or human host to multiply and survive. :thumbsup:

FYI, some SAF cookhouses have a centralized hot water dishwashing area. Should be much cleaner and more hygienic.

Don't expect hawker centres to follow suit, they don't have access to the grossly bloated 'sacred cow' defence budget. :biggrin:
NS men are such pussies now. In my time, I saw cooks using cabbages for footballs, stirring in drink syrup with bare arms, etc. Never died from this.

Hygiene standards vary among hawker centres, food courts, restaurants. It doesn't mean hawker centres are the dirtiest. There have been many cases of diners down with food poisoning after eating at restaurants. And restaurants have been fined, ordered to clean up, or order to be closed for have dirty premises or food poisoning incidents.

Bhai,

How about the hawker who used the very same pair of gloves the whole day when he chops the chicken or whatever food?
:poop:
He removes it to collect money from you and put on the same pair of gloves again.
Recycle and recycle and recycle.......

Do you see the tiongs and vietcongs or the shitskins die en masse eating at roadsides? The more you protect the more vulnerable your immune system.

Don't expect any hygiene at coffee shops or hawker centres. Whatever they do is just going thru the motion. When they are cleaning tables, they are basically transferring the food stains from one table to the next. I've even seen cleaners using the same rag for both tables and seats on several occasions !
I make it a habit since CB started by cleaning the tables with soap solution on a kleenex, follow by a 2nd pass with wet kleenex and a 3rd pass with a dry one.

Do you see the tiongs and vietcongs or the shitskins die en masse eating at roadsides? The more you protect the more vulnerable your immune system.
Actually many people in the world do die from poor sanitation. Diseases like cholera and salmonella, dysentry

Many do die. It is just that in those countries it is so common it is not news worthy. They would be so thankful if they could have an increased level of sanitation.

This whole movement to talk about not being "too clean" to ensure a healthy immune system has been taken to the wrong extremes by ignorant lay people.

When we talk about allowing good bacteria to co exist with us and serve a symbiotic relationship it has to be a balance.

Instances where it is said it is bad include excessive use of antibacterial soaps and hand sanitizers do kill off too many good bacteria on skin and is associated with skin diseases eg eczema dry irritated skin.

Studies have shown that kids growing up in sterile environments tend to have a higher risk of developing allergies.

Kids that grow up with pets like dogs tend to be more resilent. The theory is having exposure to some of these good bacteria that do not cause harm.

It is different when you are referring to bacteria that are well known to cause harm. No amount of good will come out of that.

So it is folly to suggest that in food centres a substandard for cleanliness should be acceptable. It is taking the theories and applying it at the wrong extreme.

Hepatitis A. Salmonella Typhii. Cholera. Campylobacter. Norwalk virus. E.coli

Trust me you dont want any of those to make your immune system "less vulnerable" it is total rubbish to suggest that.

It is totally the case of people having grown up with good sanitation and never experienced the problems with poor sanitation that they take it for granted and even downplay what they have never experienced before.

Having said that we live in a day and age where everyone's opinion is correct and no one is wrong.

Hence all the above is just my opinion which I have formulated from knowledge i have gained in my training and work. And you have every right to disagree.

Cheers.

Don't expect any hygiene at coffee shops or hawker centres. Whatever they do is just going thru the motion. When they are cleaning tables, they are basically transferring the food stains from one table to the next. I've even seen cleaners using the same rag for both tables and seats on several occasions !
I make it a habit since CB started by cleaning the tables with soap solution on a kleenex, follow by a 2nd pass with wet kleenex and a 3rd pass with a dry one.
1 sheet of clorox wet wipe is enough to clean a table.
54E5A54C-2BA1-4C8C-B3A9-A1C49442429D.jpeg

It is totally the case of people having grown up with good sanitation and never experienced the problems with poor sanitation that they take it for granted and even downplay what they have never experienced before.

Having said that we live in a day and age where everyone's opinion is correct and no one is wrong.

Hence all the above is just my opinion which I have formulated from knowledge i have gained in my training and work. And you have every right to disagree.

Cheers.

Bhai,

Beautifully narrated with firm facts.:thumbsup: