• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

how difficult or easy for a mid 40s with o level to get job in sg?

just asking nia, maybe away for some time liaoz. a little lost touch liaoz.

supposing, i come back sg, try to find job using traditional means, newspaper and job websites, without using connctions, can get a job with o level 5 credit? (btw, original o level certificate lost liaoz only have 1 a4 size copy)

What's your expectation?

Work experience?

Recent development?
hehehe. expectation is around 2k cos i am single without commitments.

experience, a little bit rojak, few years here, few years there. did sales, procurement, operations and also now on my own.

recent development is set up my own f&b.

You can earn up to 4k as a chef (In big establishments that make a 100k a month). But have to work more than 12 hours 6 days a week. Plus you bring your work home as in menu planning and costing.

supposing, i come back sg, try to find job using traditional means, newspaper and job websites, without using connctions, can get a job with o level 5 credit? (btw, original o level certificate lost liaoz only have 1 a4 size copy)

Can go to MOE and get a replacement at 10 bucks a cert. I think. But they will use a lousy type paper for the cert.

o levels beri easy....if you are not picky.

if you have 2 masters. there is no way you can find one..:D

Recently I mentioned my wifey worked at a banquet as a part timer. Yes you are right about having a masters degree and cant find a job because 2 goondoos working as waiters have masters degrees earning just 8 bucks an hour.

You can have as many degrees if you want or can but end of the day if you dont got common sense, then its useless.

ok guys, thanks for the replies. started this thread because want to find out how difficult or easy to find a new jobs for those in their 40s or 50s. saw the thread on the father losing job to an ft. quite kek sim lah. as for myself, if i in the girls father situation, i also donno what to do. :(

In Sinkieland you need to have powerful connections. If Ho Jinx likes you, you can be promoted to deputy managing director of Temasick within two years after joining the organization.

experience, a little bit rojak, few years here, few years there. did sales, procurement, operations and also now on my own.

At least your expectation is reasonable. $2k shouldn't be a problem. But I would advise you not to go into f & b.

The f & b industry now is total bullshit. You get cheap foreign trash undercutting you. If you are some restaurant manager, it can be very bad too. These days all the f & b play the courtesy and productivity game.

You can try being a hawker if the rental is reasonable. Don't go to food court. The model not feasible.

I would not pay Sinkie like you more than $1000 and that is including CPF.

Oh on second thoughts I would not hire Sinkie like you cos there are plenty of younger and cheaper ppl besides you!

ok guys, thanks for the replies. started this thread because want to find out how difficult or easy to find a new jobs for those in their 40s or 50s. saw the thread on the father losing job to an ft. quite kek sim lah. as for myself, if i in the girls father situation, i also donno what to do. :(

Seriously and tragically,very very bad situation for Singapore Citizens looking for jobs nowadays where Foreigners overwhelmingly flooded Sinkeeland.This adverse situation compounded and snowballed for the last 20 years ago and have destroyed many lives and careers of Singapore Citizens.Go to http://www.transitioning.org/

Pappies say there are jobs aplenty....choosy sinkies are the problem.

You got 7k cabbies, 3k dishwashers.

Pappies say there are jobs aplenty....choosy sinkies are the problem.

You got 7k cabbies, 3k dishwashers.

Beef noodles stall selling $1 million of noodles a year, chicken rice stall, selling per plate at $1.50, earns $6k in net profits every month ...that's what the PAP press tells us. Sinkapore is full of opportunities to make big bucks. Do you believe these PAP-press stories?

If you are expecting $2k to $3K a month and you can read and write English, Mandarin or spoken dialect 40 years (mature and self starter) you should not have a problem getting a job. Small businesses prefer a matured individual who is a Singaporean who can work with little supervision. What they fear is grads who will leave as soon something better comes on the horizon.

Go to this website http://www.e2i.com.sg , register, attend workshop and you be assisted. I am certain you will get a non-PME job. The most difficult part is filling up their registration form.

Think you shld stay with yr own F&B business. I see zhi char people making so much money. Even got some can collect GST biya. If you still want to be employed, being a chef shld fit your exoectations nicely. Maybe not big time restaurants, or 7 star hotels, but there shld be private associations and clubs who will need a good chef.

Can go to MOE and get a replacement at 10 bucks a cert. I think. But they will use a lousy type paper for the cert.

You are right about the paper, collected one for a young person some while back, who forgot to collect the original. The replacement is printed on A4 80gsm paper...very close to the toilet paper you use. Asked, what happened to original cert?? they destroyed them after a period of time.

Why on earth do you want to come back here?? All those I know who had migrated never want to come back here to work, maybe on assignment but not to work?? This place is only a paradise on earth for the ah neh, the pinoys....