• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Holiday Scenery and Experiences! Come share!

49 degrees Celsius! I have been to Lytton back in good old pre-Covid days. Didn't want to see the same scenery again, so after Whistler, instead of returning to Vancover via Squamish, I went via Pemberton-Lillooet-Lytton-Harrison Hot Springs-Vancouver. All in one day of "leisurely" driving. After Harrison Hot Springs the scenery turns uninteresting, but from Pemberton to Lytton is nice mountain scenery. Even refueled at a gas station in Lillooet and was surprised to find that the cashier was an Asian (Chinese or Korean). Arrived in Richmond after 9pm!

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/bc-wildfires-lytton-july-1-2021-1.6087311

British Columbia

'Most homes' in Lytton, B.C., destroyed by catastrophic fire, minister says​

More than 1,000 people fled village and surrounding area; RCMP working to find those unaccounted for​

Rhianna Schmunk · CBC News · Posted: Jul 01, 2021 8:30 AM PT | Last Updated: 33 minutes ago

lytton-fire.jpg

A building in Lytton, B.C., is engulfed in flames on Wednesday. (2 Rivers Remix Society)
comments
Dozens of families forced to flee their homes as a catastrophic fire devastated a small village in B.C.'s Fraser Canyon are now working to find loved ones scattered in the evacuations, while emergency officials urgently try to account for everybody in the community.
More than 1,000 people living in and around Lytton, B.C., northeast of Vancouver, were forced to leave with little notice Wednesday. They raced out of town as smoke and flames virtually decimated the entire community in one of the most destructive fire emergencies in recent memory.
The province said Thursday the loss includes "most homes" and structures in the village, as well as the local ambulance station and RCMP detachment. The local member of parliament said 90 per cent of the village is gone.

Online community groups were filled with posts from people desperate for information about family, friends and pets left behind. The challenge will be trying to confirm where residents went and connect them with their families, officials said.
"We are receiving calls from people looking for family and loved ones as well, and it's really hard because of power outages and cellphone towers being down, but we're working on that," Scott Hildebrand, chief administrative officer with the Thompson-Nicola Regional District, told CBC News early Thursday.
"One of our challenges right now is that we had people leave in all different directions."
B.C. Public Safety Minister Mike Farnworth said the RCMP is investigating the location of any residents who are unaccounted for, but could not provide an exact number.

lytton-fire.jpg

Structures destroyed by fire in the heart of Lytton, B.C., are seen from a helicopter on Thursday. (Darryl Dyck/The Canadian Press)

'The town burnt down'​

Lytton Mayor Jan Polderman signed the official evacuation order at 6 p.m. PT on Wednesday. He said the village was overcome by flames before officials had the chance to co-ordinate a place for people to go, so many just started driving.
"The town burnt down," Polderman said, his voice hoarse as he spoke from a family member's home in Maple Ridge, B.C.
Debt Forgive
Thousands Signing Up For Debt Forgiveness In Alberta - Do You Qualify?

See More
DEBT FORGIVE
OBA_TRANS.png

"I noticed some white smoke at the south end of town and within 15 to 20 minutes, the whole town was engulfed in flame."
Video captured by residents rushing out of town showed numerous buildings on fire. Charred rubble was all that remained of the town's main street.
WATCH | Officials trying to track down evacuees:

fires_2.jpg

Officials try to confirm whereabouts of all Lytton, B.C., evacuees​

6 hours ago
2:31
Residents of Lytton, B.C., left town so fast Wednesday to escape a wildfire that there is uncertainty about where everyone went, said Jackie Tegart, the MLA for Fraser-Nicola, the riding that includes Lytton. (2 Rivers Remix Society/Vimeo) 2:31
The community of Lillooet, north of Lytton, took in dozens of evacuees through the evening. A district representative said Thursday they had an official count of 188 people, but the number was likely higher as many evacuees had not formally registered.
Other evacuees sought refuge in the nearby community of Boston Bar. At least 52 people went to the reception centre in Merritt to the east.
MP Brad Vis, who represents Mission—Matsqui—Fraser Canyon, said in a Facebook post that 90 per cent of the village was lost. He said he heard from constituents Wednesday who lost their homes and couldn't get a hold of family.

I noticed some white smoke at the south end of town and within 15 to 20 minutes, the whole town was engulfed in flame.- Jan Polderman, mayor of Lytton, B.C.
"What I've been told is that the situation is dire and the authorities are trying to account for everyone," Vis told the CBC late Wednesday.
Vis and Polderman urged evacuees to register with an evacuation centre to help authorities with their count.
"So we can look for the people, if there are any people, that didn't make it out alive," Polderman said.
The Lytton First Nation is also still trying to account for all of its members. The province said evacuees should register online at the Evacuee Registration & Assistance site.
Those looking for loved ones should call the police nearest to them for guidance, Farnworth said.

'Everybody in Lytton has lost everything'​

Finding accommodation for evacuees has also proven difficult. The fire broke out on the eve of the first major long weekend of the summer, with British Columbians travelling again under loosened pandemic restrictions already having booked many rooms in town.

"We are struggling with capacity," said Hildebrand.
Bonnie Nixon lives in the Gladwin trailer park a few kilometres north of Lytton. She grabbed some clothes and her medication before jumping into a neighbour's car to "get the hell out of there."

bonnie-nixon.jpg

Bonnie Nixon is pictured in Merritt, B.C., on July 1, 2021. Nixon was born in Lytton and has lived there for the past eight years. She was forced to evacuate her home on June 30 due to the fire that destroyed the town. (Maggie MacPherson/CBC)
"[I was] crying, crying, crying. Fell asleep crying. Then you wake up this morning and here we are," said Nixon, sitting outside an evacuation centre in Merritt, where she can stay for at least seven days.
"Everybody in Lytton has lost everything, my sister included. She had a house down there. Gone."
Conditions in Lytton were dangerously hot, dry and windy on Wednesday. The area endured the highest temperature ever seen in Canada on three consecutive days during an extreme heat wave last week, topping out at 49.6 C on Tuesday.
"The conditions have been unprecedented in terms of dryness and heat," said Erika Berg, a fire information officer with the B.C. Wildfire Service.

She said ground and air crews had responded to the fire throughout the night and would continue their work on Thursday.
WATCH | Smoke and flames engulf town of Lytton, B.C.:

2021-0630-5707_7000kbps_1280x720_1916475459877.jpg

Fast-moving fire tears through village of Lytton, B.C.​

19 hours ago
2:33
A sudden, rapidly spreading fire in Lytton on B.C.'s Fraser River forced hundreds of people from their homes with little to no notice on June 30, 2021. (Supplied by Gary Abbott) 2:33

Officials suspect train caused fire​

Hildebrand said officials have a suspicion as to how the fire started. "It's still not confirmed, but it appears a train may have sparked the blaze," he told CBC News.
B.C. Premier John Horgan said Thursday he'd heard the train theory "anecdotally" but cautioned the investigation is ongoing.
CN Rail did not report any issues to the Transportation Safety Board (TSB) related to a train incident in Lytton, the agency said Thursday.
"The TSB has not received any reports that the fires in Lytton, B.C. were started by a train," said spokesperson Chris Krepski.

Later Wednesday night, residents of another 87 properties to the north of Lytton were ordered to leave home as well.

lytton-fire.jpeg

The fire is seen burning in the Lytton, B.C., area on Wednesday. Conditions in the area were dangerously dry and windy after the record-breaking heatwave. (Facebook/Edith Loring Kuhanga)
Winds of up to 71 kilometres an hour pushed the fire north into the community as of 7 p.m. PT on Wednesday, according to CBC meteorologist Johanna Wagstaffe.
On Thursday, Farnworth said the fire was still burning "aggressively" and had grown to 90 square kilometres in size.
Another spokesperson for the regional district said hundreds of people in First Nations communities may have also been ordered to evacuate, but it was hard to get in contact with their local governments.
Firefighters were already dealing with at least two other wildfires in the area when the latest fire tore through Lytton.
The George Road wildfire, burning south of the village, was last estimated to be 350 hectares at 7:59 p.m. PT Wednesday, and the nearby Conte Creek fire was estimated at 1.5 hectares.
With files from Yvette Brend, Georgie Smyth and The Canadian Press

Greta Thunberg is correct. We need to stop using all fossil fuels immediately. The situation is dire.

It is like most colonised countries...if left to the natives, would Canada, Australia, NZ & SG be what they are today ?
World is a peaceful place in native era time until evil BE destroy it until now still bad...

You need a SUV to be able to live their lifestyle.

SUV? Many Canadians own several vehicles. A sedan for city use during summer. Small SUV for winter driving general use.
Truck 4x4 for towing 5th wheeler or trailer RV.
Richer people will buy a large SUV instead of truck especially if they need the 7 or 8 seater functionality.
But cars much cheaper here. 5 times cheaper

The blood of murdered native origins is wailing loud to want their land back.

Evil BE go fuck back to England...

https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/calg...t-naturalist-beach-weaselhead-flats-1.6074418

Calgary has 2 nude beaches — here's who is using them and why | CBC News Loaded

Calgary·Photos

Calgary has 2 nude beaches — here's who is using them and why

Warning: This photo essay includes images of nudity that may not be suitable for some viewers

christina-ryan.jpeg

Christina Ryan · CBC News · Posted: Jul 03, 2021 5:00 AM MT | Last Updated: July 3

calgary-nude-beach-fish-creek-0c5a5526.jpg

Naturists cool off in the water at one of Calgary's two nude beaches, Hidden Beach in Fish Creek Provincial Park, on June 13. (Christina Ryan/CBC)
Many people think of Europe when they hear the words "nude beach" — but as the Calgary Nude Recreation group points out, a number of North American cities also have accepted spots for clothing-optional recreation.
They range from the most popular, Haulover Beach in Miami, which sees as many as 500,000 nudist visitors a year, to well-known sites in Canada such as Hanlan's Point in Toronto or Wreck Beach in Vancouver. (The latter sees up to 14,000 visitors on busy summer days, according to the Wreck Beach Preservation Society.)
But many Calgarians are unaware that nude beaches also exist in the city — at least two, according to Calgary Nude Recreation.

Freelance photojournalist Christina Ryan recently trekked out to the two beaches to find out more about who is using them and why, taking all of the images in this photo essay.

calgary-nude-beach-0c5a3896.jpg

Here, Greg Million, who is new to the scene, starts the hike to Calgary Nude Beach with Calgary Nude Recreation member Kristen McMullen as temperatures soar to 28 C on June 3.
Calgary Nude Beach is well off the beaten path in a far western edge of Weaselhead Flats and has existed for more than two decades.

calgary-weaselhead-nude-beach-hike-0c5a3948.jpg

Million and McMullen step carefully down a slope.
The path to the nude beach in the Weaselhead can be tricky to navigate.

calgary-nude-beach-weaselhead-greg-million-1u1a4010.jpg

Here, Million brushes off his pants after sliding down a steep portion of the trail.

YS Digital Marketer Full Stack Freelancer

[COLOR=var(--color-caption, #111)]YS solutions's SEO services offer a comprehensive approach to increasing your website rankings by optimizing on-page performance and developing an SEO-friendly content strategy that speaks to your ideal audience. For a quick contact: - Visit: www.youssefsouali.com - Email:...

The other nude beach in Calgary is a more recent clothing-optional recreation area in Fish Creek Provincial Park called Hidden Beach.

calgary-nude-beach-weaselhead-0c5a4070.jpg

Are the beaches legal? According to the Calgary Nude Recreation group, the simple answer is: yes and no.
Section 174 of the Criminal Code of Canada states: "Everyone who, without lawful excuse, (a) is nude in a public place, or (b) is nude and exposed to public view while on private property, whether or not the property is his own, is guilty of an offence punishable on summary conviction."

calgary-nude-beach-weaselhead-river-crossing-0c5a4183.jpg

Million and McMullen cross a channel of the Elbow River to join others at Calgary Nude Beach.
The law states charges over nudity can be pursued only in absence of a "lawful excuse" and with the permission of the Attorney General.
Calgary Nude Recreation argues that case law from B.C. has established the right to rent city facilities for private nude events, also noting that the actions of local government authorities to allow clothing-optional recreation (at Wreck Beach or Hanlan's Point, for example) appear to be accepted lawful excuses as people aren't being charged.
Nudity without a sexual component cannot be immoral or indecent behaviour, the group argues.

calgary-nude-beach-weaselhead-0c5a4222.jpg

McMullen and Greg Million locate a prime spot to set up on the sand.
Calgary Nude Recreation says it's had an understanding with law enforcement for years with no problems.

calgary-nude-beach-fish-creek-wading-0c5a5499.jpg

Here, naturists enjoy the the cool water at Hidden Beach in Fish Creek Provincial Park in Calgary on June 13.
Calgary Nude Recreation says on its website that the group was established "in the belief that contextually-appropriate social nudity can be a powerful tool for individuals to gain confidence, free themselves from body shame, and allow a new connection with the self and others. We strive to create spaces where nudity is normalized, empowering, and beneficial to the community."

calgary-nude-beach-fish-creek-0c5a5303.jpg

Not everyone involved with Calgary Nude Recreation may identify as a nudist or naturist, the group says.
They might just enjoy the odd skinny dip or naked day at the beach.

calgary-nude-beach-1u1a5504.jpg

The group hosts clothing-optional wave pool swims, hikes and beach days along the river.
For many participants, naturism is both a philosophy and a practice. They enjoy being in a nude state at home, outdoors and at sanctioned indoor events.

calgary-nude-beach-hidden-beach-fish-creek-1u1a5359.jpg

Here, Melissa Lynne (who asked that her surname not be used for fear of job repercussions) dips her son Cohen Sharlow's toes in the water as partner John Sharlow looks on while relaxing at Hidden Beach on June 13.
"Society quietly imposes a level of body-shame from an early age," Calgary Nude Recreation writes. "Being seen or being caught naked is one of the biggest embarrassments people can have. Movies and entertainment media promote unrealistic and often sexual expectations of nudity.
"People learn to better accept their and others' bodies when they see normal nudity more often."

calgary-nude-beach-fish-creek-1u1a5321.jpg

Sunscreen is a must.

calgary-nude-beach-weaselhead-kristen-mcmullen-0c5a4701.jpg

McMullen holds a photography flash umbrella for Million at the nude beach in the Weaselhead.
McMullen, who has been a member of the group for more than two years, says she loves to help people love themselves just as they are.

calgary-nude-beach-weaselhead-get-nude-sign-0c5a4555.jpg

Calgary Nude Recreation member Dustin Port stands with McMullen and Million as they bask in the fading sun.

calgary-nude-beach-weaselhead-0c5a4774.jpg

The sun sets as McMullen and Million cross the river to head home.[/COLOR]

ABOUT THE AUTHOR​

christina-ryan.jpeg

Christina Ryan
Photojournalist
Christina Ryan is an award-winning photojournalist based in Calgary with more than 15 years of experience. Ryan currently freelances to newspapers, magazines and the CBC as well as teaching in the photography program at SAIT, where she's inspired by watching people learn to master their cameras and chase the light.
CBC's Journalistic Standards and Practices|About CBC News

Report Typo or Error

READ IN THE APP

Open[/COLOR]

Isn't that heaven?

Actually I prefer to just buy 2nd hand.

I paid $24k and $26k for our 2016 and 2017 RAV4s respectively. Both had about 15k km mileage. Just pay cash. No loan. No interest. The price of the cars has actually gone up. Cos i checked and if i were to sell them i get back my money 5 and 4 years later at 50 to 60k km.

Yeah certainly much cheaper to own cars here.

Cost of gasoline (sg call it petrol) is also cheaper than sg. Car insurance is very expensive for new drivers. Eg my son aged 16 his insurance is 5k a year. Relative to price of car i think thats almost insane. Daugher cheaper slightly 3500 to 4k.

Different lifestyle. Car is pretty important to use to get around here.

My family of 4 drivers - wife daughter son and myself share 3 vehicles. Actually brother and sister usually drive the RAV4s. Wife and I share the Ford Expedition Platinum Max. I dont drive much cos currently work from home.

I used to have a corolla.

But someone hit and run killed it. Car was under my son. I paid only third party liability so did not cover hit and run. Darn! Imagine corolla 2011 cost about $8-$10k insurance comprehensive for son is $5k a year. Third party $2500. But police laugh at me say i stupid so is my fault. Police damn lazy dont bother to find culprit one.

Actually I prefer to just buy 2nd hand.

I paid $24k and $26k for our 2016 and 2017 RAV4s respectively. Both had about 15k km mileage. Just pay cash. No loan. No interest. The price of the cars has actually gone up. Cos i checked and if i were to sell them i get back my money 5 and 4 years later at 50 to 60k km.

Yeah certainly much cheaper to own cars here.

Cost of gasoline (sg call it petrol) is also cheaper than sg. Car insurance is very expensive for new drivers. Eg my son aged 16 his insurance is 5k a year. Relative to price of car i think thats almost insane. Daugher cheaper slightly 3500 to 4k.

Different lifestyle. Car is pretty important to use to get around here.

My family of 4 drivers - wife daughter son and myself share 3 vehicles. Actually brother and sister usually drive the RAV4s. Wife and I share the Ford Expedition Platinum Max. I dont drive much cos currently work from home.

I used to have a corolla.

But someone hit and run killed it. Car was under my son. I paid only third party liability so did not cover hit and run. Darn! Imagine corolla 2011 cost about $8-$10k insurance comprehensive for son is $5k a year. Third party $2500. But police laugh at me say i stupid so is my fault. Police damn lazy dont bother to find culprit one.

Ang mo Police work smart. They close the case and end the report.
You pais premium, insurance cover for it.

Ang mo Police work smart. They close the case and end the report.
You pais premium, insurance cover for it.
Yeah lor they just say nobody was hurt.

I went around asking neighbors for CCTV footage and solved the case. Culprit was a guy short rental a room down the street. But he got rid of the Grand Dodge Caravan. Neighbor said he noticed this punk doing drifts in neighborhood. Also had another neighbor say saw them come out of the house go to back alley looking at ghe car which was leaking fluid.

Policr said no licence plate. No car found. Too bad wont go talk to the guy.

I also unlucky lah the case officer is a bitch. More interested in modeling. I also found out that the police work 4 days on 3 days off. So you can email the evidence footage to officer say monday but she is off Tuesday wed thursday. Then on again friday. But she will say oh i go back work my case load pile up yours not priority. Damn rubbish lah.

I dont trust the police here. More likely to shoot me dead than bad guys. Ang moh police love go shoot and kill peaceful easy targets and leave the dangerous ones alone.

Personally i have never looked at SUV price in SG cos i knew I could never afford it.

How much is it exactly?
I have no idea. Never ever wanted to own a car in SG. When I started work was when they started to play games with CPF rules. So my aim was always to get out of that shithole ASAP.

Thanks to excellent stewardship by the PAP, no fires have burnt down entire towns in sunny equatorial Singapore. You folks are really missing out on the good life here. :cool:

Day Trip to Emerald Lake

https://www.field.ca/yohonationalpark/emeraldlake/

Went to Emerald Lake on 3 July 2021. Got there about 850am. So there was still lots of parking. Nice and quiet in the morning. Water still.

em1.jpg

em3.jpg

em4.jpg

Em5.png

Em6.jpg

$75 per canoe for 1 hour.

Em7.jpg

Free to use binocular viewers

Em8.jpg

When you get to the parking lot there is a bridge to the left (seen in picture above). Leads to the hotel. And from where I took the previous shots. We started on the walk around the lake.

Em9.png

Em10.jpg

Em11.jpg

The beginning of the lake. There are several small waterfalls that drain into this basin and feed water into the lake.
We did the hike to Emerald Basin from here.