• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Highly qualified risk manager who earns $11K replaced by FTrash

[h=2]Highly qualified risk manager who earns $11K replaced by FT[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
October 12th, 2012 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

What can Singaporeans do to save their jobs from foreign talents?

Since stepping off the Scoot plane three weeks ago, I have being frantically catching up with readers who have emailed me while I was still in Sydney visiting my family.

I must thanked them for waiting patiently as some of them have emailed me at least two months ago and wanted to speak with me about their jobless situation.

However, after meeting up with them, my heart sunk as the same old complaint cropped up frequently – our local executives are been replaced by foreigners at the work place.

I met up with John a few days ago – my second appointment with him after seeing him for the first time about four months ago in June.

John was a classic case of a highly educated local PMET who was caught out by the lax foreign talent policy here.

Earning close to $11,000 just five months ago, he came and saw me the second time at my office a few days ago and during this time he appeared desperate and frail.

He is married, have a young child and in his early forties. His boyish good looks could have charm a few girls’ hearts if he is still single.

It was fortunate that he managed to pay up his house mortgage several years ago and do not have to worry about having a roof over his family’s head when he is still jobless.

I was nevertheless aghast how four months of unemployment could do to the confidence and esteem of a highly educated PMET.

When I saw him for the first time four months ago at my office, he appeared calm and composed and we could even laughed and joked during the session.

He was just retrenched and armed with a severance package, he has some financial back-up as he went about to look for a job.

The second appointment was a disturbing and cold one – a chilling sign that unemployment has bit hard into the psyche of one of our brightest and fittest.

Educated in the best local university here and burnt through the meritocratic furnace of our system, John is now reduced to a mixed bag of uncertainty and disappointment – betrayed by the very ones who told us that they will take care of the people if we excel in our stringent educational system and be diligent in our work.

During the second session, we remained silent occasionally for a full twenty awkward seconds as I do not want to interrupt his train of thoughts as he tried to come to terms with his emotions.

I always find that our male jobless professionals are rather stoic in how they respond to their jobless circumstances compared to our women counterparts who tend to be a bit more emotional and fiery.

John was a risk manager for all of his career life so far – a skill he told me is still very niche and in high demand.

He is also the headhunter’s favourite darling as their high pay package means that the commission reward is also very lucrative.

Most risk managers are paid handsomely – between $8,000 to $10,000 on average less bonuses.

However, due to the lax foreign talent policy, many risk managers from the US and Australia have recently came over and John was squeezed out of the lucrative career.

Someone from the HQ in Japan came and replaced him five months ago and he left the Japanese bank with some severance package and a worried look.

Though he has gone for some interviews, he couldn’t land any offer yet as most of his interview competitors were from overseas – US, Australia and Europe.

As his interviewers are also foreigners, John felt that there may be some bias here.

I couldn’t speak as well as those foreigners and this probably is my biggest handicap during an interview,” John lamented to me in one of his rare show of displeasure at his jobless situation.

John is also one of the rare few PMETs whom I have met who only reproached himself for his unemployment situation and I have never hear him blame anyone for his plight – not even the easy-target government.

Mild-mannered and rather shy in his demeanor, John will definitely lose out to a more vocal foreigner from the US or Australia during a job interview – who are known to have the gift of the gab.

For us to compete in the global job market, Singaporeans must learn to speak better English and express themselves more at the work place.

Trained to be followers from young and patted on the head approvingly by both teachers and parents for not speaking out against authorities, Singaporeans tend to lose out a lot when it comes to verbal articulation.

I have spoken to many Aussies while staying in Sydney the past few years and found them to be fluent in their spoken language as it’s their native language.

Even the uneducated road sweeper spoke better English than me!

I told John maybe he can consider joining a Tostmaster programme as they teach people how to speak properly in front of an audience.

However, after meeting up with John and a few other professionals who were squeezed out of the global job market by foreign talents here, I must add that there is little protection from the system to ensure that the local professionals have a place in our own country.

It’s like you have a plot of land to till and for a long time you could grow potatoes and wheat without fear that you will go hungry – so long you work hard to till the land and fertilise the ground.

You realise later that your village chief decides to let in more people from other villages to share your plot of land and you could do little to protect yourself and family from being squeezed out of your own plot.

Now, you have less potatoes to harvest as the plot of land is being shared by many other strangers let in by the village chief and they all also have to eat.

You try to be kindhearted and let them have some space to grow their potatoes but soon you realise that the whole plot is being taken over by strangers leaving you hungry and angry.

The worse is you can’t do anything about the loss of land and potatoes as that means you are branded as unwelcoming and xenophobic by your village chief who have always asked you to love and accept them.

You begin to look at other villages to move to as you need to survive and take care of your own family members.

This is a simple analogy of what is happening to us at the work place now.

To make matters worse, just the other evening, I was told that a local employer whom I have some contact with, decided to hire a foreigner over one of my jobless referral – over cost matter.

Naturally, my local jobless client was devastated and inconsolable when I told her about the bad news.

Nevertheless, the crucial question remains: What can Singaporeans do to save their jobs from being snatched away by foreign talents?

Our Prime Minister has warned us that he will be gunning for a 6-million-population Singapore.

How many local Singaporeans will lose their jobs then in order to please our government’s wish?

You can’t let in 800,000 more foreigners without providing them with good jobs and housing facilities.

Moreover, is a 6-million-population the ultimate wish of our own citizens?

The next few years will be tough for Singaporeans as they have to stay on top to retain their jobs or else they will be replaced by 800,000 more foreigners flooding the tiny red dot looking for work.

Let’s hope that our government can come to their senses and stop the country from sinking into chaos and oblivion.
Gilbert Goh
* Gilbert Goh is the founder of transitioning.org. It is a non-profit society specially set up to cater to the emotional needs of the unemployed Singaporeans.

I am not concerned with those who earn so much, surely they are smart enough to sort things out

I am more concerned about those who make $1,100 not $11,000

If he can't find another job paying a similar sum, it's pretty obvious he wasn't worth that amount in the first place which was why he was replaced.

Market forces work like a charm when it comes to dealing with deadwood.

Welcome to the realities of Spore. Who did he vote for:confused:

As a "lesser mortals" he shouldn't be surprised. No one is safe from the axe unless they are an elite. That is the law of the Lee;)

There is no way a Singaporean can compete with a native English speaker in an interview conducted in English with all things equal unless the boss doing the interview is a Singaporean.

We all know how badly the language has deteriorated within the school system.

I have never seen a country that has opened its doors as wide as Singapore has. I have seen underqualified and underperfoming characters and they come from the UK, Australia, US and Europe. These guys go for the well paid jobs while the PRC and the Indians go in where the pay has already been undercut.

I once told this story about a recent review of an International Bank where the review by its own consultants found that Vice Presidents who were all angmos were doing the work that was meant for lower grades. They have since been retrenched and the work given to India. The consultants found this in Singapore only.

If he can't find another job paying a similar sum, it's pretty obvious he wasn't worth that amount in the first place which was why he was replaced.

Until the PAP is voted out or at least, reduced to a minority government, sinkees will always be at the losing end. The open door policy was established to make the PAP ministers richer; it is not to serve sinkees. Our ministers are not selfless as portrayed by the media, they are like politicians everywhere - self-serving and pretend to care for the country.

A global depression will drive the foreigners out.

Yet another stupid comment from you. Pray tell, exactly what market forces are at work here? Is this guy John able to go to Japan, and easily replace a Japanese risk manager's job by taking it over The answer is no. the japanese govt. will never freely issue work permits to foreigners to undercut the salaries of their citizens and take their jobs, especially when its held by a well paid japanese citizen. However, the PAP allows this, and a japanese citizen can freely come here and take a singaporean job. hence, there really is no market force at work because there is no reciprocity, its just a one way street in favour of the foreigners. Got it or not?

Not only that, Japan, Taiwan, Hong kong and alot of other cuntries have working holiday visa for places like OZ, Canana and NZ. Even mudland got agreement wt some of these cuntries. Peesai on the other hand dont want their lads to cabut and have a life traveling and making money outside peesai. Sinkees are meant to serve ns and earn low wages so pappies can be rich.

Everything is wrong with this picture. Our local grads find it so competitive to get into local university to get basic degrees and we have Hugh influx of FTs coming in with masters, Phds of dubious quality and they naturally outcompete our grads. Our HR managers are bias with locals over 40+ of age and they look down on locals without degrees. Worse still if you throw in the language bias. We are definitely getting beaten up in our country...no thanks to our gahment.

wow ...!!!!!

Well said.

Getting a good job is all about getting the right connections.U all can see many sons and daughters of ministers allotted to positions in Govt Ministries, Stat Boards,GLCs...etc They are born with golden spoons in the mouths.Death is the only equal leveller.

Equalisation ...

Not only that, Japan, Taiwan, Hong kong and alot of other cuntries have working holiday visa for places like OZ, Canana and NZ. Even mudland got agreement wt some of these cuntries. Peesai on the other hand dont want their lads to cabut and have a life traveling and making money outside peesai. Sinkees are meant to serve ns and earn low wages so pappies can be rich.

I think Gahmen here have a real fear of "mobility" with it's native population, i'm not just talking about a one way ticket, migration out of SG for good but "mobility" for it's citizens to come & go as they please, they don't want the population figures to drop below a certain number for security & for economic reasons, that's why they do not allow Dual Citizenship & insist on having NS & Reservists. The way the CPF is structured too means it's difficult for you to leave unless you do so very early on in your working or adult life. Once you start paying in & the more CPF you have, the harder it is for people to want to leave.

Yes, this is very true. Once peasants start to get attached to the CPF, very difficult to leave. NS/Reservist/CPF is designed to trap own peasants.

the only solution is to gather all the sinkies and march to the instana and parliament house to throw the mother fucking PM out of the office. That is the only way. waiting for election, you can just let your ass screw further and say goodbye to your rights and country.

Want your life back? Then go and protest. Stop behaving like a coward wimp.

Yet another stupid comment from you. Pray tell, exactly what market forces are at work here? Is this guy John able to go to Japan, and easily replace a Japanese risk manager's job by taking it over The answer is no.

If he's a talented risk manager, he can easily get a job in any Western Nation. They'll welcome him with open arms.

Another case of a high salaried pian jia that can't compete. I have met so many of such people.
Why can't he improve his English himself over the years? Useless neo bumi.

there are many ways to beat the system. just like any challenges and opportunities in life, chance favors the prepared mind. instead of complaining that it is unfair, do something productive and rewarding for yourself by gaming the system to your advantage and winning it. here are some ways:

a. maximize your learning and educational experience in sg while young. afterall, sg offers very good education in math, science and geography. master these subjects, and spend extra time with online reources in brushing up on languages, depending on your linguistic capabilities: english, mandarin, spanish, french, japanese, german, italian.
b. sg offers great connected broadband to your home. leverage it to expand your knowledge from multiple sources: wikipedia, resource blogs, expert sites, etc. there are tons of detailed and expert knowledge out there, and they are made available on the web. for example, you can learn everything about bidet plumbing or making a pipe bomb. don't just depend on learning from school, and stop surfing porn altogether. :D
c. understand the pitfalls, jeopardies, showstoppers, opportunities and loopholes of being born a sinkie. it's not your fault, but you can be better than your parents by doing research and planning your lifemap without waiting for instructions. observe and learn from others' mistakes.
d. draw a timeline in your mind. mark your milestones. highlight important deadlines. devise a plan. follow thru' your plan. be methodical, discipline, and sharp. if you don't have vision and forethinking, you might as well jump at the reservoir. :rolleyes:
e. as part of your plan, don't commit to follies and mistakes that the majority of sinkies have done. avoid potential pain points and traps that you allege the gov has set for you. instead of whining about it, take action timely. if you think ns is a trap you can't avoid, face it and finish it at the shortest possible time. if you think marriage is another trap, don't marry. if you think kids are a big booby trap, avoid having kids. if housing is a concern, don't commit to it. if cpf is holding you back, do exactly the opposite. take it out, which leads to...
f. plan to get out of your alleged shithole at an early age. do not depend on anyone to think for you.
g. select your target country. aim high. check your funding and capabilities.
h. if you're male and your family is not well off, study and work part time till ns. sg is one of the best countries for study and part time work for youths. better go into tech and science. avoid prolonging your life in sg if you have decided to emigrate after ns.
i. for f*ck sake, don't marry when you take that path. afterall, you're still young at 20 or 21. don't get touchy and become attached to a cheebye at that stage. it's so sissy and stupid of you.
j. save enough and aim for a vocational trade in oz, nz or canada if your funds are limited. otherwise, if you're thinking of the u.s., go for poly when you're not from a rich family. if you wish to work for a great tech firm in silicon valley, do poly, complete ns, do ee or cse in u.s., fast track to masters while working, get pr with msee or mcse. no immigration attorney will entertain you now if you don't have msee or mcse.
k. if you're female and family is wealthy, stay in sg. :p

only local companies think ang moh is best. In this case the employer Japan company has no hesitation to hire their own....over a local. I bet also the pay is higher too. if only local companies start taking care of own kind too