• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB resident informs TC chairman that he will not pay increase in s&cc

Stompiss

http://therealsingapore.com/content/hdb-resident-informs-tc-chairman-he-will-not-pay-increase-scc

hdb-flats-531336_3.jpg

Dear MP Sapari

I refer to “Eight PAP town councils to raise service and conservancy charges from 1 April”. link

The reasons cited for the increase in S & CC are “rising cost in electricity, lift maintenance and other operations and maintenance”.

That costs have gone up is undeniable. What is strange is the town council has been running surpluses EVERY year and insists on maintaining surpluses which are eventually transferred to the sinking fund. The town council could only have achieved surpluses by:
1 Cutting back on projects.
2 Residents have been overpaying for years!

Mr Leong Sze Hian has highlighted the issue of surpluses being the norm every year for many town councils.

[TABLE="width: 735"]
<tbody>[TR]
[TD]Town Council[/TD]
[TD]Surplus for the year[/TD]
[TD]Accumulated surplus[/TD]
[TD]*Surplus transferred to sinking fund[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Jurong[/TD]
[TD]$598,503[/TD]
[TD]$2,404,235[/TD]
[TD]$4,930,421[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Ang Mo Kio[/TD]
[TD]$1,793,752[/TD]
[TD]$6,280,934[/TD]
[TD]$12,826,802[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Marine Parade[/TD]
[TD]$1,338,567[/TD]
[TD]$4,632,719[/TD]
[TD]$13,125,951[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Moulmein-Kallang[/TD]
[TD]$22,714[/TD]
[TD]$1,753,123[/TD]
[TD]cannot find[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Pasir-Ris Punggol[/TD]
[TD]$1,700,416[/TD]
[TD]$5,144,495[/TD]
[TD]$10,808,955[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Sembawang[/TD]
[TD]$3,236,000[/TD]
[TD]$11,436,000[/TD]
[TD]$20,383,000[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD]Total:[/TD]
[TD]$8,689,952[/TD]
[TD]$31,651,506[/TD]
[TD]$62,075,129[/TD]
[/TR]
</tbody>[/TABLE]
http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2014/03/increase-in-scc-charges-figures-dont-add-up/

Many residents do not understand why the surpluses have been transferred to the sinking fund. From my understanding, 35 per cent from my S & CC contribution has already been set aside in the sinking fund for major cyclical works. The surpluses are meant for more improvements or if they are not needed, returned to residents. It is not up to the town council to decide where our money goes.

Healthy surpluses EVERY year mean our town council has sufficient funds and therefore an increase is clearly not justified. The reason that “such surpluses have been in the decline over the years” is a lousy excuse and not acceptable.

Including the surpluses transferred to the sinking fund, the total surplus for our estate is already almost $18 million. Why does the town council insist on unnecessarily increasing the sinking fund perpetually?

Suggestion for cutting cost

In 2013, a contract was awarded to Theng Liang Lee Services Pte Ltd for an amount of $583,488 to supply 10 cleaners for 2years. link Including the 13th month AWS and CPF contributions, the total amount spent on a cleaner is $2,244 per month. I would like to know the actual amount earned by these 10 cleaners. The cleaners are not town council employees and are therefore easily exploited by their employer. Unless almost the total amount is paid to the cleaners, the cost of labour would appear to be excessive. This would also indicate a high commission paid to the middleman.

1 Couldn’t the town council save money for residents by cutting out the middleman?
2 Accepting only 2 tenders appears to have driven up cost. Perhaps there could have been some issue with the contents of the tender that prevented the participation of other parties.

etc.

I will look into other issues to provide more suggestions for cost cutting.

S & CC increase targets only larger estates?

The S & CC increase appears to be targeted at town councils with a higher number of residential units like Pasir Ris-Punggol which has about 92,000 link , Ang Mo Kio, etc.

Smaller estates under Holland Bukit Panjang TC has 39,893 residential units link and East Coast with 26538 (13,000 3 Rms and below) residential units link are spared.

Economy of scale?

The managing agent of our town council is EM Services which manages about half a million HDB residential units. link The fact that other (smaller) town councils have not raised their S & CC confirms there is no economy of scale.

Conclusion

It makes no sense to continue pumping more money into the sinking fund and repeatedly offer the reason of increasing costs to justify a raise in S & CC. The reduction in surplus is another equally lousy reason for a hike.

As a resident, I am totally disagreeable to my past S & CC being transferred into the sinking fund while forcing me to accept an increase in the S & CC. Do not ride roughshod over residents and remember that the town council works for us and not the other way around. I will continue paying only the existing S & CC amount.

Thank you.
Phillip Ang

Related:
Eight PAP town councils raising their S&C Charges
Towncouncils had ACCUMULATED surpluses of up to $62.1 million

Mr. Philip Ang , who did you fucking vote for ? :oIo:

Swee! Need more to come out. I say don't pay for the increment. Pay and pay, money all go where?

Accepting only 2 tenders = driving up cost? WP no need tender no one complain. Mr Ang should follow AHPETC and WP supporters' example

BTW just in case no one knows what the sinking fund is for

Sinking Fund is the fund set aside to meet Town Council expenses or liabilities in relation to cyclical maintenance works. Types of Sinking Fund expenditures include repainting and redecoration projects, electrical rewiring, reroofing, co-payment of Town Council Lift Upgrading Programme (up to 95% paid by the Town Council), replacement of water pipes, replacement of refuse handling equipment and replacement of water and booster pump sets. These are longer term works which are carried out at intervals ranging from 7 to 28 years.

There was the cas in Potong Pasir where there was not enough money for lift upgrade in their sinking funds

http://news.asiaone.com/print/News/Latest%2BNews/Singapore/Story/A1Story20120706-357650.html

In April, he had asked for an instalment plan spanning nine years to repay the $8.7 million that the town council owed to MND for the Lift Upgrading Programme (LUP) to be done in 48 blocks, instead of the 2014 deadline.

He needed the extension because the town council does not have enough in its residential sinking fund.

According to its annual report, as of March 31 last year, the Town Council had $4.4 million - not enough to cover the cost of the 48 blocks that have been identified for the LUP, which wouldamountto $8.7 million.

My god, Sembawang is so rich with more than 20 million in sinking funds, yet it is so ugly and mostly new developments without much amenities. Imagine how many MRT Stations in Sembawang GRC and none in Marine Parade? Yet Northpoint must be the smallest mall in Sembawang!:eek:

Accepting only 2 tenders = driving up cost? WP no need tender no one complain. Mr Ang should follow AHPETC and WP supporters' example

And maybe you should also follow the PAP and their supporters example? :rolleyes:

Oh I forgot, you're a closet PAP supporter pretending to be neutral on all political matters in S'pore....:D

How much should a healthy sinking fund be? There must be a cutoff to this contribution when we reach say $200,000 per block. Else no end to this money-sucking black hole.

What the fuck do you stinkies expect?

Smear of shit on sole of shoe LKY is within days or weeks from becoming a fucking rotting corpse.

The raping of stinkaporeans will come to an end
The fucking PAP doggies and their running dogs must hoot and hoot the money now as they cannot do that once LKY did and the fucking rotten PAP implode

YOU DO NOT WANT THEM CRYING ALL THE WAY TO THEIR FUCKING BANKS DO YOU?

Just wondering why he need to inform that he is not paying. Not pay just don't pay lor until when TC chase for dollar then inform ma, why need to inform in advance..weird action.

They are going to "seal" his house like those ancient chinese tv dramas.

It's time we tell them what we want to do and not what they want us to do. :oIo:

My god, Sembawang is so rich with more than 20 million in sinking funds, yet it is so ugly and mostly new developments without much amenities. Imagine how many MRT Stations in Sembawang GRC and none in Marine Parade? Yet Northpoint must be the smallest mall in Sembawang!:eek:

lianbeng replies: u know which MP in Sembawang GRC or not? Khaw Boon Wan leh! :D his territory leh!

oh man , is he gonna get sued?

sue sue sue and FOOking sue

break the man, destroy the man, destroy his reputation, destroy his life,

how dare he be different ???????

we will sue and destroy him because we are more powerful and we can.......

HUAT ah !!!!!!!

This is the way Singaporeans to be United to torture the PAP.. If not, sinkies will continue to get screwed. This is a good way to protest. Hit the PAP in their pockets.